Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

We would be in an awkard position if he get pick 2 in that ashcroft is going to brisbane.

If we could trade down to get trainor first and then use the rest of the picks to get needs based players.

I've had a look at the speculative draft rank, apart from smilie, i don't rate the next 3 smalls as they are all very short and injury prone.

Smilie is mine fav but if we don't get pick 1, ashcroft off to brisbane, finn and smith are both small sized mid (i.e. 180 cm). I dont' rate the smalls. Trainor suddenly looks really good and from a commitment pov, he is a hardcore north supporter which will mean a lot in the longrun.
I’m with ya Smillie then Trainor

Bo Allan flying up draft boards with this effort today.
Haven't watched the replay just caught some shorts but the more l see of Allan, the more in my mind he should in the mix for our big bodied mid...hard at it, great break away speed, can play defensively, great vision, loves the give and go and excellent on the run left footer...still have a query on his right side.
Smillie did have a good game but Allan just seems to have a better workrate at this level.
Kako has to be a lock, great workrate.
Trainor looks ready made and could be the KPP we're in need of...kids plays both ends.
Jagga...whoever drafts him as a slightly built but what a machine of a midfielder...always at the right spot and that's something you can't train or teach.
Need to watch the full game but a lot of talent and WA have a really good crop..Gavin Urquhart(;)) is shaping to be a top 10'er.

Neither.

If you are looking for a younger player, different body type, but Sam Flanders.
Sam has a pretty interesting Kamikaze style, going in and giving it a crack. I see why a lot were keen on him. But we’ve got George now. So maybe we keep going with better ball users and high iq types? We’re seeing it pay off with Powell, Phillips, Sheezel, Wardlaw, McKercher and soon Duursma

Does Jagga play more like McKercher or Sanders? Or neither?
Neither really...he reminds me of Tom Mitchell in that he is always around the ball, finds and uses his hands well but he snakes through the contest with more silk than a Butters, bit like N.Daicos in his running style and give and go....i've got a player in my head that he reminds me of but just can't pin it yet.
If we didn't pick McKercher last year, he'd be high on my pick this year.

Take him 100%

He compliments what we currently have more than any other side in the bottom 8 imo.

He’s also the best fit for our list of the entire top 6-7, outside of Trainor. You could argue Smillie, but he just doesn’t have the contested or defensive numbers at the moment.

We already have the pieces in place we’d be able to deploy him in a highly damaging role long term.

Richmond will stick him in the center square from day 1.

Can confirm from a local source in Finns hometown (Koroit) that they hope we bypass him so the tigers can grab him…

But unless he can be an Akermanis type, 180 cm mids are not exactly the norm for a top end talent...
He's listed at 182cm, his cousin Sam Walsh is 184cm. He'd likely have a cm or 2 of growth left.

Sydney -

Chad Warner: 185
Isaac Heeney: 185
Errol Gulden: 175
Taylor Adams: 181
James Rowbottom: 186
Luke Parker: 183
Braeden Campbell: 181

But we have a plethora of his type, i.e. smallish mids, phillips mcckercher
Actually we don't. What Finn brings to the table is one word, that word is class!
I like Josh as a prospect but this size thing is a fallacy, eg: Josh, a big mid, our team needs a big mid!
Finn, yeah he's okay a small mid, we have enough of those, who's next? Forget size for a minute and focus on the lads ability, what he can do for our team, fact: we don't have that much class as to wipe the board with a player because he's 182cm and not 192cm!

I guarantee you by draft time Will's whiteboard will reflect the best prospects in order and not size related. We aren't the only club that does this, most club supporters from all the clubs will go on about size in relation who to pick if its a close contest. Most people have their favourites at draft time, nothing wrong with that, but something that I've noticed is that sometimes when peoples favourite player isn't called out by us they don't wish the lad bad luck but some people think that the club should have taken their player and when drafted in the first couple of years will point out negative things on the player we did draft as token proof that we made the wrong pick and that they were right!

I like a few players in this years draft but you know what, whoever we bring in I'LL BE BEHIND 100% and won't be saying things I've heard so many times like, "well I hope the club got it right and that I'M PROVEN WRONG and he turns out okay"!
Really? These guys are professionals and know what they are doing, they do it for a living!

We would be in an awkard position if he get pick 2 in that ashcroft is going to brisbane.

If we could trade down to get trainor first and then use the rest of the picks to get needs based players.
Maybe, maybe not. Pick 2 is never a bad pick, we will have options, and as for pick 2, there are quite a few teams that would walk over broken glass to get that pick {if we indeed have that pick} so I guess its a wait and see.

Actually we don't. What Finn brings to the table is one word, that word is class!
I like Josh as a prospect but this size thing is a fallacy, eg: Josh, a big mid, our team needs a big mid!
Finn, yeah he's okay a small mid, we have enough of those, who's next? Forget size for a minute and focus on the lads ability, what he can do for our team, fact: we don't have that much class as to wipe the board with a player because he's 182cm and not 192cm!

I guarantee you by draft time Will's whiteboard will reflect the best prospects in order and not size related. We aren't the only club that does this, most club supporters from all the clubs will go on about size in relation who to pick if its a close contest. Most people have their favourites at draft time, nothing wrong with that, but something that I've noticed is that sometimes when peoples favourite player isn't called out by us they don't wish the lad bad luck but some people think that the club should have taken their player and when drafted in the first couple of years will point out negative things on the player we did draft as token proof that we made the wrong pick and that they were right!

I like a few players in this years draft but you know what, whoever we bring in I'LL BE BEHIND 100% and won't be saying things I've heard so many times like, "well I hope the club got it right and that I'M PROVEN WRONG and he turns out okay"!
Really? These guys are professionals and know what they are doing, they do it for a living!

Agree 👏🍺

Sam has a pretty interesting Kamikaze style, going in and giving it a crack. I see why a lot were keen on him. But we’ve got George now. So maybe we keep going with better ball users and high iq types? We’re seeing it pay off with Powell, Phillips, Sheezel, Wardlaw, McKercher and soon Duursma
If we pick a mid with our first pick, we need to get someone who can run all day and run both ways.

Based on the reports on here, that would be (?):

1. O’Sullivan
2. Draper
3. Smith

Long way to go before draft night…. 😉
Smillie better get moving if he wants pick one….not dominating with that huge frame.
Will be interesting to see what unfolds.
Smillie has had dominant games this year already

Finn has done nothing largely due to injury

It’s no contest atm

now all this might be moot as we may not even end up with pick 1 so will just get whoever tigers don’t choose

I’m with ya Smillie then Trainor
I Dont Believe You Will Ferrell GIF

Long way to go before draft night…. 😉
Smillie better get moving if he wants pick one….not dominating with that huge frame.
Will be interesting to see what unfolds.

Couldn’t be less relevant

Wardlaw would have hoped north didn’t take him and he got through to *

Sheez the same with the hawks

Both seem fine now

Couldn’t be less relevant

Wardlaw would have hoped north didn’t take him and he got through to *

Sheez the same with the hawks

Both seem fine now

Agreed, hate this attitude but it's usually a non-factor - and it should be. You go where you're drafted. The bonds they form with their teammates in their first few years is much more important, and I trust our group so far to convince young guns that they're welcome and a part of this.

I can think of one particularly scandalous instance where this didn't work out... but we have Harry and George now to put in the work so it's all water under the bridge.

Can confirm from a local source in Finns hometown (Koroit) that they hope we bypass him so the tigers can grab him…
Optimistic of them to think we won't overtake them given the last few weeks...

Not sure we need a big mid as much as many on here think. We are decent in clearances and will get better - and X and George are both very physical players. Where we struggle most is in transition. Colby will help heaps when he moves into the midfield, but I would prefer another skilled gut runner to help him rather than a big mid.

Smillie doesn’t have the disposal for a number 1 pick imo.

Jagga Smith finds the footy but his damage factor is nil. Kicking isn’t that penetrating and his handballs don’t release his teammates. Not sure he has the frame that will allow him to be a centre square midfielder at the top level either.
Smith seems to go by hand rather than foot a lot more too. I’m starting to think Trainir is an obvious choice for us regardless of where we finish on the ladder. Where do you reckon Sims, Champion, and Kako sit in the draft order?