Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who will be our first selection on night 2 of the Draft?

FOS!
Balance
Quick
Agile
Good mark overhead
Skilful
Finishes his work

Couldn't ask for a better young prospect to develop and exactly what our midfield could use more of. Imagine him and E.Hollands teaming up 🤤

Cripps
Walsh
Cez
Hewett
Doch
E.Hollo
FOS 🤞
Lord
Cameos (Cinx, O.Hollo, Fog, B.Campo)

Midfield will have a good mix of different players
It's been mentioned previously, but it's a really valid point - don't judge a player in isolation, but what he adds to a collective into the future. We can't forget that our draftees are still in the infancy of their AFL careers.

It's still very early days, but on face value we lucked out on Cooper Lord. Looks like a hard working inside/outside mid that would compliment a potential star player like O'Sullivan in the midfield. Then combine the running power of Walsh, the class of Cez, the X-factor of Elijah, and the untapped potential of the Campo's. Maybe even throw in Billy the Kid for that additional speed on the outside.

Add a Cody Walker in a few years time who looks an exceptional talent - and there you have a pretty complete midfield to take us forward when our aging warriors like Crippa and George and Doc slowly disappear into the sunset like the final scene of a spaghetti western.

I gots to like what Austin is dishing out :thumbsu:

FOS!
Balance
Quick
Agile
Good mark overhead
Skilful
Finishes his work

Couldn't ask for a better young prospect to develop and exactly what our midfield could use more of. Imagine him and E.Hollands teaming up 🤤

Cripps
Walsh
Cez
Hewett
Doch
E.Hollo
FOS 🤞
Lord
Cameos (Cinx, O.Hollo, Fog, B.Campo)

Midfield will have a good mix of different players
the threat fos has over the players above besides e.hollo is a threat in the air and vertical leap

He hasn’t played an AFL game yet.
Give him at least 50 before we cast these aspersions.
People canning him before he puts a jersey on.
Not canning him at all. Acknowledge FOS is Balanced, Quick, Agile, a Good mark overhead and Skilful.

But as pointed out by others, I also acknowledge he hasn’t averaged a lot of possessions. Will he improve after 50 AFL games who tf knows.

Nothing wrong with pointing out an area that may need improving and not just highlighting strengths. I mean that’s pretty much whats filled 218 pages of this thread, people’s opinions on the strengths and weaknesses of the players who we might select - Drapers poor kicking, Langford’s lack of pace, Smith’s lack of strength, FOS’s low possessions.

Funny thing about FOS. This failure to accumulate seems to be a recent trend.

When he won the under 16 medal he averaged 27.3 touches across 5 games. More then Jagga, Smillie, Lombard, Ashcroft.

Last year he only had <20 touches in 1 talent league game and went 24+ in 5 out of 8 matches. Averaged 23.3 as a bottom age player.

Gives me more confidence this year was a blip due to injury.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ll be happy with who ever we choose as people that are paid serious money as a profession have chosen them.
I’ve been impressed as a layman can be with there previous descions.Im confident we will get a GREAT player considering the options.Maybe not the best of the draft there will probably be players chosen later that rank higher in the future.But at pick three we will get some great entertainment and contribution to the team barring major injury issues.
I liked Rozee over Walsh and to be fair I’d still swap but that’s due to injury now.
That’s similar to how I see Smith and FOS. I see a natural ease in smith but if we get a more athletic clinician like FOS I’ll still be rapt even more so because that’s our team chose.
I’m not as sold On the speed of Draper plays a bit like Ben with the handball and clean hands.Where as Langford again has that natural ease. As you’ve noted I’ve made up a new football term😄.What I mean is there not rushed the play slows a bit for them.These type of players these players a generally reliable week in week out

Pick 3 is great but it has taken a bit to get over not having picks 12 and 14. A period of mourning was required.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
I'd be disappointed if we traded 12 and 14 and Langford is still available.

I’ve just got an uneasy feeling we’re going to get the Luke Ball selection out of this crop. Good but others picked after are much better. And to me that’s FOS. He feels to me like a skinny HBF to be honest. He’s only slight and doesn’t have big hurt factor. He can deliver well but it’s not penetrating. He doesn’t jump off the page to me. And with Pick 3, I want him to impact, jump off the page. I don’t want a skinny small kid, we got that in Ollie and it’s not enough in todays game.

Jagga seems to have a ton of time, elite ball getter, but again no significant hurt factor. Chip and charge, chip and charge. Goes all day. Got Naicos vibes definitely, but Naicos has better penetration and power.
Lalor would be ideal, but won’t get past 1.
Draper has some hurt factor and pace but I think he’ll fall to Crows. That injury is significant.

Langford has it all IMO. Size, pace and marking. Then there’s Smillie. That’s the beast we’re going to regret not taking. He and Langford make the ground look smaller and they hurt you by foot. Penetrating disposal to inside 50. They both take the game on through their physicality and running power and deliver very well. The others chip and charge. I want the power, just like our two superstar captains had. They both had presence and so do Harvey and Josh. The others just don’t enthuse me. Langford or Smillie for mine. Swaying to Langford ever so slightly. Be very very happy with either.

I’ve just got an uneasy feeling we’re going to get the Luke Ball selection out of this crop. Good but others picked after are much better. And to me that’s FOS. He feels to me like a skinny HBF to be honest. He’s only slight and doesn’t have big hurt factor. He can deliver well but it’s not penetrating. He doesn’t jump off the page to me. And with Pick 3, I want him to impact, jump off the page. I don’t want a skinny small kid, we got that in Ollie and it’s not enough in todays game.

Jagga seems to have a ton of time, elite ball getter, but again no significant hurt factor. Chip and charge, chip and charge. Goes all day. Got Naicos vibes definitely, but Naicos has better penetration and power.
Lalor would be ideal, but won’t get past 1.
Draper has some hurt factor and pace but I think he’ll fall to Crows. That injury is significant.

Langford has it all IMO. Size, pace and marking. Then there’s Smillie. That’s the beast we’re going to regret not taking. He and Langford make the ground look smaller and they hurt you by foot. Penetrating disposal to inside 50. They both take the game on through their physicality and running power and deliver very well. The others chip and charge. I want the power, just like our two superstar captains had. They both had presence and so do Harvey and Josh. The others just don’t enthuse me. Langford or Smillie for mine. Swaying to Langford ever so slightly. Be very very happy with either.
Have to agree on your analysis here, Finn's form was not great in 24, so his selection would be based on prior year performance.

Definitely would have Smith/Draper and Langford ahead of Fos, Hope Austin gets this one right.

When he won the under 16 medal he averaged 27.3 touches across 5 games. More then Jagga, Smillie, Lombard, Ashcroft.

Last year he only had <20 touches in 1 talent league game and went 24+ in 5 out of 8 matches. Averaged 23.3 as a bottom age player.

It feels like its fate in a funny sought of way. Tigers would take FOS at 1 otherwise. That slight doubt means FOS is likely to slip to our pick! Despite the year, most recruiters still have this guy top 3 for good reasons.

Having lived through the Dow decision, I get the nerves. The safer choices right now for some are Draper and Jagga. At least Jagga and Draper might get it 30 times at AFL level... we can use that to justify how good the selection was. But do we need another guy who can find the pill 30 times a game? These guys are everywhere. I think Austin is all chips in on a guy who can weaponise our midfield. Modest possessions, high impact!

I was off the FOS train until I spoke to a draftee from this years crop in the sauna.

He told me that FOS is an absolute beast and his 23 form was better than most 23 draftees and would’ve gone top 5 last year easily. He knows him well and said he is the ultimate professional and was extremely disappointed with his injuries. He was with a mate who is 21 and has played against the likes of Ashcroft, sheezel and daicos and said he is more naturally gifted then all of them and tried to tag him in 23 and just couldn’t.

He is the complete package.

The draftee compared him to a mixture of Walsh in his work rate, balance of inside outside and also Dunkley in that he is tough as nails, can run two ways and also Leap and play taller then he is. He is the complete package.

With lord coming on we can take the ‘punt’ of the upside of FOS which based off what I hear his training regime to be he will turnout elite (most ultimate professional in the draft crop by a mile).

We will be taking FOS if his there at 3 and boy do we have a player 💪

Adam Treloar was an All Aus and his main attribute is pace. Draper also is a great pressure mid.

Think one thing worse than our kicking inside 50 is pressure on ball, he fixes that a lot.

Joking aside I think one of FOS Jagga Draper is a win for the club. Expect them to all play 250+ and be top 6-7 players at whatever club they are at, possibly even top 3 for them all too
just don't see it with FOS, reckon he's the biggest risk of being a 'fail'.... imo.

I was off the FOS train until I spoke to a draftee from this years crop in the sauna. He told me that FOS is an absolute beast and his 23 form was better than most 23 draftees and would’ve gone top 5 last year easily. He knows him well and said he is the ultimate professional and was extremely disappointed with his injuries. He was with a mate who is 21 and has played against the likes of Ashcroft, sheezel and daicos and said he is more naturally gifted then all of them and tried to tag him in 23 and just couldn’t. He is the complete package. The draftee compared him to a mixture of Walsh in his work rate, balance of inside outside and also Dunkley in that he is tough as nails, can run two ways and also Leap and play taller then he is. He is the complete package. With lord coming on we can take the ‘punt’ of the upside of FOS which based off what I hear his training regime to be he will turnout elite (most ultimate professional in the draft crop by a mile). We will be taking FOS if his there at 3 and boy do we have a player 💪
Infrared?

I was never too hot on Clark. Courageous but not enough elite attributes for mine.

I was more going down the angle of how does a player become universally rated and then struggle not only at AFL but VFL, I’m then going back and seeing in relation to Clark that he was never a big ball winner, so what made people think a mid who didn’t find much footy would transition to an inside mid at a higher level?

I was referencing this in relation to how i feel about FOS.

I was off the FOS train until I spoke to a draftee from this years crop in the sauna. He told me that FOS is an absolute beast and his 23 form was better than most 23 draftees and would’ve gone top 5 last year easily. He knows him well and said he is the ultimate professional and was extremely disappointed with his injuries. He was with a mate who is 21 and has played against the likes of Ashcroft, sheezel and daicos and said he is more naturally gifted then all of them and tried to tag him in 23 and just couldn’t. He is the complete package. The draftee compared him to a mixture of Walsh in his work rate, balance of inside outside and also Dunkley in that he is tough as nails, can run two ways and also Leap and play taller then he is. He is the complete package. With lord coming on we can take the ‘punt’ of the upside of FOS which based off what I hear his training regime to be he will turnout elite (most ultimate professional in the draft crop by a mile). We will be taking FOS if his there at 3 and boy do we have a player 💪
l believe it is a bit of a stretch comparing/more naturally gifted compared to Daicos who Is already top 5 in the comp and Sheezel, both were always going to be elite players.

A threat in the air at 182cm...

Against guys who are smarter (more experienced), bigger and taller?

Forgive me for laughing....
Is Charlie Cameron a marking threat?

Bobby Hill?

A good leap and timing go a long way

On Pixel 7a using BigFooty.com mobile app

When he stepped up against tougher opposition during the under 18's.

16.7 in 2023
11.5 in 2024

When he stepped up against tougher opposition during the under 18's.

16.7 in 2023
11.5 in 2024
I appreciate some people dont think FOS will be quite as good as Isaac Heeney but it took him 8 years to become a permanent midfielder. l would be happy if he becomes a great forward with stints in the midfield for his first 4 or 5 years. I think that would be enough to get us over the line in the next few years.

Absolutely! When we were flying in the second half of 2023 it was because guys like Martin and Fogarty were able to play half forward and then slot for rotations into the midfield. That half forward flank area is a key issue for us. I think FOS’ marking stands out in his footage. He looks like he could play that role.

Analysis 2024 National Draft