Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who should Carlton take at Pick 3 if available?

I'm still surprised Lombard isn't being spoken about with that top group (Ashcroft, Lalor, FOS, Jagga, Draper). Every bit as good in my view. I would personally take him ahead of them if available. He's faster, probably has the best skills, finds heaps of the ball, hard at it. Doesn't have an obvious weakness. Am I missing something?
Lombard's ranking in the open market would be different than where he is being ranked due to him being an academy player. I have him 5th in my current ranking and he would be so great for Carlton, pure explosive player that is a point of difference. We have

Read Sam Walsh's draft profile and it reads pretty much the same as Jagga's

While it would be good to have 2 of them my gut feel is Draper is a better fit

Not arguing with Draper as a better fit, but Walsh is at least the type of player it doesn't hurt doubling up on.

Having two elite rucks is a waste. Two Patty Cripps? The 2nd one would be less effective than working solo.

But Walshes? Can always have two inside/outside guys, who run all day, link up, get to the right spots, make good decisions etc.

Interesting to point out that on the Footy and Friends podcast with Dyl Buckley and Brett Deledio, Toby Travaglia said he thinks Draper will go to Carlton with pick 3. Don’t know whether that’s based on intel or just a hunch from him. Interesting nonetheless. Also believes Harvey Langford is the best player in this draft

the plot thickens...

Not arguing with Draper as a better fit, but Walsh is at least the type of player it doesn't hurt doubling up on.

Having two elite rucks is a waste. Two Patty Cripps? The 2nd one would be less effective than working solo.

But Walshes? Can always have two inside/outside guys, who run all day, link up, get to the right spots, make good decisions etc.
100%

Seen Smith compared to Butters many times.

I see Walsh 2.0.

Discuss...
Butters trait: at center bounces he uses zip to get into holes then uses it again to attack the ball at perfect speed for the situation.
Daicos trait: looks faster than everyone from start to finish, hard to touch weaving through traffic.
Imo with his unique skillset he plays like Jagga Smith, with his vision he could easily play 300+ games.

So for such an even top seven, apparently you cannot fit a feather between anyone of them. It is now set in stone, we get

Jagga, Cows get their local lad. Tigs get the new Dusty and FOS to the Roos.

Maybe, or are their going to be some surprises in store. Anything could still happen I reckon.

Been keen on FOS, but Jagga is the safest bet. Will play round one and will win the Rising Star imo.

Usually those episodes are recorded weeks in advance

Lance Whitnall is presenting our jumper

Carlton Fc Celebration GIF by Carlton Football Club

Could be quite the sight….Jaggas not big framed in any way so could be made to look like a real jockey next to Lance from the well fed paddock

Lance Whitnall is presenting our jumper

Carlton Fc Celebration GIF by Carlton Football Club

50 seconds til the next pick. Lance is looking for his options. He might have no choice.

It starts right with Lalor, swings left to FOS. Smith... WHAT A PICK! You'd want to be on the Blues now!!!

Richmond pick Lalor can be pretty much locked away.

North pick FOS, Carlton picks Smith (maybe Draper)

North pick Tauru, Carlton picks FOS

North swap with Adelaide (unlikely), Adelaide pick Draper (maybe Smith) Carlton picks FOS?

So likelihood is Smith > Draper > FOS > Other?

Is North shifting towards FOS a real thing? Or just something to spook Carlton/Adelaide?

I'm currently watching big H doing some training by himself down at St Kilda end of Albert Park footy ovals.

The summer Sheezel got drafted, I saw him running laps on his own at my local park.

AFL clubs were on break and it was 35 degrees that day, but there he was getting miles into his legs.

I knew he was uber talented, but was really impressed at the mentality of doing something that I am pretty sure he didn't have to.

Richmond pick Lalor can be pretty much locked away.

North pick FOS, Carlton picks Smith (maybe Draper)

North pick Tauru, Carlton picks FOS

North swap with Adelaide (unlikely), Adelaide pick Draper (maybe Smith) Carlton picks FOS?

So likelihood is Smith > Draper > FOS > Other?

Is North shifting towards FOS a real thing? Or just something to spook Carlton/Adelaide?
No guarantee we take FOS over Jagga. 43 intimated Jagga higher on our list.

As for Norf, I reckon their strategy might be:

Pick 2 - take best available (FOS?)
x=3
Repeat:
Pick x - offer F1 to <holder of pick x>
if accepted, pick Tauru.
if rejected, x=x+1
Until <Tauru not available>

My concern is if you have 2 similar player and getting beaten it reduces your ability to change things up.

That said I think Smith will most likely be the best player in the draft.

Analysis 2024 National Draft