Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who should Carlton take at Pick 3 if available?

I was more going down the angle of how does a player become universally rated and then struggle not only at AFL but VFL, I’m then going back and seeing in relation to Clark that he was never a big ball winner, so what made people think a mid who didn’t find much footy would transition to an inside mid at a higher level?

I was referencing this in relation to how i feel about FOS.
Clark actually averaged 25+ in the talent league so while not a pig could find the ball. I think the biggest issue for Clark is body size. He was very much a crash and bash style onballer but is 181cm and slight so not sure that is going to fly at afl level. He'll put on some weight but it hasn't worked so far. Not like a Jagga who is also small but relies more on smarts and agility. On top of that he has no 2nd position to play in the meantime.

Funnily enough he was seen as the high floor low ceiling prospect of his draft. Further evidence that term is overused. I've personally been surprised he hasn't been more dominant at least at vfl level. Sometimes you are just unlucky but if I had to point a finger at something it'd be body size for his playing style thats hurting him.

I think the FOS situation is quite different.

Think Fos finding the footy next season won’t be a problem if he gets in the right position when number 9 gets it
Yep imagine a situation next season where FOS comes into a midfield where he isn’t the no.1 or no.2 or even no.3 guy and he can focus on his strengths that can be really damaging and have a real impact in the midfield as well as up forward

Funny thing about FOS. This failure to accumulate seems to be a recent trend.

When he won the under 16 medal he averaged 27.3 touches across 5 games. More then Jagga, Smillie, Lombard, Ashcroft.

Last year he only had <20 touches in 1 talent league game and went 24+ in 5 out of 8 matches. Averaged 23.3 as a bottom age player.

Gives me more confidence this year was a blip due to injury.
Not to mention that he played forward a lot and the averages included a number of injury-affected games.

Clark actually averaged 25+ in the talent league so while not a pig could find the ball. I think the biggest issue for Clark is body size. He was very much a crash and bash style onballer but is 181cm and slight so not sure that is going to fly at afl level. He'll put on some weight but it hasn't worked so far. Not like a Jagga who is also small but relies more on smarts and agility. On top of that he has no 2nd position to play in the meantime.

Funnily enough he was seen as the high floor low ceiling prospect of his draft. Further evidence that term is overused. I've personally been surprised he hasn't been more dominant at least at vfl level. Sometimes you are just unlucky but if I had to point a finger at something it'd be body size for his playing style thats hurting him.

I think the FOS situation is quite different.
Yeh I don’t think you can have a low floor if you can only play midfield

I was off the FOS train until I spoke to a draftee from this years crop in the sauna. He told me that FOS is an absolute beast and his 23 form was better than most 23 draftees and would’ve gone top 5 last year easily. He knows him well and said he is the ultimate professional and was extremely disappointed with his injuries. He was with a mate who is 21 and has played against the likes of Ashcroft, sheezel and daicos and said he is more naturally gifted then all of them and tried to tag him in 23 and just couldn’t. He is the complete package. The draftee compared him to a mixture of Walsh in his work rate, balance of inside outside and also Dunkley in that he is tough as nails, can run two ways and also Leap and play taller then he is. He is the complete package. With lord coming on we can take the ‘punt’ of the upside of FOS which based off what I hear his training regime to be he will turnout elite (most ultimate professional in the draft crop by a mile). We will be taking FOS if his there at 3 and boy do we have a player 💪
Well. This is good enough for me.

When he stepped up against tougher opposition during the under 18's.

16.7 in 2023
11.5 in 2024
Are you saying the tougher opposition was in 2024?

That doesn’t make sense, the tougher opposition would have been in 2023 when he was playing against players one year older than him.

Injury interrupted, playing different position might be reasons for lower output in 2024. Also worth noting he was playing with some pretty good players in 2023 like Harley Reid and Zane Duursma which may have helped.

Still a growing lad, have heard that he looks 184 or 5 now. Should make 186 or 7, that is a nice size.
Plus, even though he's skinny he looks like he as the frame to put on some muscle. Already looks a lot stronger then last year. Very different frame to a Jagga for example.

you're now comparing him with two of the best small forwards in the competition....

Has he even played as a small forward?
No, I am making a point about two of the smallest players in the comp being aerial threats.

It was vogue about a decade ago that sub-180 players couldn't play at the AFL level for the same sort of reasons you seem to think a 182cm player can't be a marking threat.

Size is a component of athleticism but not an absolute deal breaker

On Pixel 7a using BigFooty.com mobile app

FOS sounds similar to Jack Martin in many ways. Agile, highly skilled player, low possession high impact player who is a good mark.

Same sauna :think:

Spoke to a draftee that I Bumped into at the sauna today. Told me Jagga been told his going pick 1. He reckons FOS is easily the best in the draft even better than Ashcroft. His highlights don’t do him justice and is an ultimate professional. Had an injury cruelled year but wil” be elite. I told him that I don’t rate him and he said I don’t blame you based off the vision out there but he was easily the hardest player to tag and dominated weekly. The other guy was a bit older (22) told me he is better then what daicos, Ashcroft etc were in there U17 year. I’m all aboard the FOS 🚂 now.

I was off the FOS train until I spoke to a draftee from this years crop in the sauna.
He told me that FOS is an absolute beast and his 23 form was better than most 23 draftees and would’ve gone top 5 last year easily. He knows him well and said he is the ultimate professional and was extremely disappointed with his injuries. He was with a mate who is 21 and has played against the likes of Ashcroft, sheezel and daicos and said he is more naturally gifted then all of them and tried to tag him in 23 and just couldn’t.

He is the complete package.

The draftee compared him to a mixture of Walsh in his work rate, balance of inside outside and also Dunkley in that he is tough as nails, can run two ways and also Leap and play taller then he is. He is the complete package.

With lord coming on we can take the ‘punt’ of the upside of FOS which based off what I hear his training regime to be he will turnout elite (most ultimate professional in the draft crop by a mile).

We will be taking FOS if his there at 3 and boy do we have a player 💪

Absolutely! When we were flying in the second half of 2023 it was because guys like Martin and Fogarty were able to play half forward and then slot for rotations into the midfield. That half forward flank area is a key issue for us. I think FOS’ marking stands out in his footage. He looks like he could play that role.

FOS - half forward and pinch hit in middle (early in AFL career) as an alternative to Martin or Fogarty - if a Top 3 draft pick in a super draft ain’t taking a mid spot and just resting forward I’m disappointed

But would Smith be better at that role? Fogarty and Martin when on where getting at the fall of the ball, applying defensive pressure and then playing a few mins thru middle (early in AFL career) - I like the sound of Smith doing that - reckon he looks more suited - he looks the like that would find the ball in the forward line (anywhere)

FOS looks like a third tall forward (gait, mannerisms) but then he’s only 182cm - I look at him and think 3rd tall - but maybe not big enough - and thus we may hang our hat on Moir or Kemp for 3rd tall

The Martin or Fogarty role requires manic pressure forward of the ball
Smith or Draper might be suited when not playing mid - maybe - but don’t see that for a FOS, Lalor or Langford

I like all the opinions on Pick 3. Says to me regardless we will get a very good player

I’ll just sit back and let it happen. Whether it’s Smith Langford FOS Draper or whoever, I’m onboard

I’m hoping somehow we get another pick or are able to use 38 for another young player before taking Ben Campo.

Austin, over to you 👍

Yep imagine a situation next season where FOS comes into a midfield where he isn’t the no.1 or no.2 or even no.3 guy and he can focus on his strengths that can be really damaging and have a real impact in the midfield as well as up forward

Does that mean FOS strengths are I50 disposal, my observations are that he seems to find himself connecting to forwards and hitting up guys who are free

He seems to have a good leg on him and he moves well

Anyone able to comment on whether he is evasive and does he do the hard running (defensive work or two way running)?

He seems like he has time but is he creating that or is that just cause it’s Coates U18 games

I like the sound of what he could be, quick midfielder who can play half forward but will he be an elite mid at AFL level?

My Preferences for Pick 3 - pleased we traded up to 3 - we need an elite player to add to our list:

Lalor
- 9/10 - impact player we don’t have - rare
Issue - consistency?
Elite - marking forward, goals and contested mid

Smith - 9/10 - speed & football IQ and rotating forward would be impactful
Issue - size, perhaps meters gained
Elite - ball gathering

Langford - 8.5/10 - elite kicking, football IQ, evasive, moves the ball on quickly and 191cm he can go forward and take a mark - issue is he deemed slower and too like Cripps/Hewitt
Issue - acceleration/pace
Elite - disposal to advantage

FOS - 8.5/10 - speed, disposal I50, seems to have space for disposal and
Issue - consistency, low possessions, what is he elite at?

Draper
- 8.5/10 - quality player, speed, injury concerns, disposal minor issues
Issue - back?, disposal at pace
Elite - ball gathering

Going to pick 3 and having our Recruiters have access to 1 of these 5 is worth the shot. Now they earn their stripes - the player must help our midfield compete in finals now and for the next ten years - No Pressure!

Analysis 2024 National Draft