Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who should Carlton take at Pick 3 if available?

I think we should spend more time on dreaming about who we select with pick 38, when Campo does not get bid on.
Yup agree, very salient point you make. Got the fingers crossed that Austin can have the use of this pick 38, and that it’s not swallowed up in snaring the Camporeale boys.
We desperately need a KPD with some potential, the bigger boys not more time too.

Interviewing Draper shouldn't be a surprise. He's clearly in the discussion for pick 3, and it would be negligent of us not to interview him, even if he isn't currently in our top 3. You'd think we will have done a serious amount of work on at least 5-6 players.
An earlier article said we're possibly looking at Charlie West, and our recruiters are heading over to SA to have a chat with him. No doubt they would have popped in to visit Draper for a cuppa while they were there - so there's a chance the HUN article today may have blown things out of proportion a wee tad.

Our recruiters would have interviewed all the potential players around pick 3 on a number of occasions. Even last year, they headed down to the Mornington Peninsula to interview Billy on more than one occasion.

Interviewing Draper shouldn't be a surprise. He's clearly in the discussion for pick 3, and it would be negligent of us not to interview him, even if he isn't currently in our top 3. You'd think we will have done a serious amount of work on at least 5-6 players.

A few layers to it, I reckon.

1) He's our genuine preferred option, we're doing our final due diligence and intend to call his name on Draft Night.
2) He's our second choice, behind either FOS or Smith, and we believe there's a genuine chance our preferred player goes at Pick 1 or 2.
3) We believe our preferred player is likely to go at Pick 2 and we're hoping to spook Adelaide into trading up from 2 to 4 to secure their local lad, resulting in our preferred player sliding to 3 (and NM landing a more comfortable Tauru pick at 4).

I think we should spend more time on dreaming about who we select with pick 38, when Campo does not get bid on.

Dreaming, SOS will bid you can bet your house on it…if his anger at us doesn’t convince you then the Pres’s words at the bnf should

Won’t matter, we’ll find someone to trade with and then trade back in a few spots later.

Yep. Pick 3 I am not concerned about all. I want another good young player before picking Ben
Luckily there's a fair few decent key defensive prospects around the mark, even if a bid does come for Ben and we have to slide down. I wonder if we are interviewing West for 38 or a later pick in the event we need to trade 38 out (due to Ben bid)?

Depends how bad North want Tauru. If they don’t choose him at 2, very very likely to not get him at all.
Yep, if they want him - then they take him.
It’s not an over reach if you believe in the decision process & he’s who u have identified.
Just need the balls to pull the trigger - a well run club takes the player they want- not what the media says they should

Dreaming, SOS will bid you can bet your house on it…if his anger at us doesn’t convince you then the Pres’s words at the bnf should

Won’t matter, we’ll find someone to trade with and then trade back in a few spots later.

Link to what was said?

I’m all for the Sid Draper train!! When there was talk of us trading up for pick 3, Draper was one of the main reasons why I wanted us to do it!

Love his explosiveness and he’s definitely a POD!! Is his back injury a concern tho?

We met with a number of SA prospects last Friday, as per the Charlie West connection article. It would make sense that we met with Draper. Even if O’Sullivan is our preferred, there is no guarantee how the first two picks pan out. I still maintain that back issues aside, Draper is my preferred player at the top end of the draft. Remains in the poll for me. My experience with a Pars Defect has me cautious, but if due diligence is done and it does not meet the connotations of “chronic” as thrown out by SA media, I would back his selection.

Suggest there would be at least half a dozen players we would touch bases with on that Friday. There are many combination possibilities from our second pick on, depending on the bid for Ben Campo and indeed when and if there is a bid for Lucas. We either pick at ~38 for our likely young KPD or we trade it out for a future pick and match Ben with our late pick options before trading back in to the draft for a KPD option. There are half a dozen apparently decent prospects from around pick 38, to the end of the draft, so we are likely to have scouted seriously, O’Farrell, Dennis, Mraz, West(SA), Nicholls (SA) and possibly a couple more. Other SA boys may interest us for the rookie draft, there are three small/medium forwards who could fall mid draft to rookie range for example.

Austin and company are all over this draft and will have many player options sorted, as well as having pre arranged deals to fail safe the chance of attaining our required players.

Not enjoying some of the subjective debate over our first pick, but I am very confident whoever we pick will be an integral part of our success in years to come. I am equally concerned that we get a quality KPD prospect from the draft. Complementary and next generation key defender is the absolute biggest hole on our list and Austin has repeatedly stated the desire to draft that player.
Note the word met "again"....

The supremely talented Sam Lalor appears to be firming as the favourite to be taken at pick 1 in next weeks National Draft. Unfortunately, calling these FULL season highlights is rather wishful thinking on my part as Lalor suffered through a series of injuries in 2024 which severely limited the amount of footy he was able to play.

This one's a bit different

I shouldn't but I still look at having 12 & 14 and we could easily have had names like Travaglia & Lindsay who could be as good as most

We will get a gun at 3 but we could have had two that could have really helped us

The supremely talented Sam Lalor appears to be firming as the favourite to be taken at pick 1 in next weeks National Draft. Unfortunately, calling these FULL season highlights is rather wishful thinking on my part as Lalor suffered through a series of injuries in 2024 which severely limited the amount of footy he was able to play.

he's very dustyesque!

I shouldn't but I still look at having 12 & 14 and we could easily have had names like Travaglia & Lindsay who could be as good as most

We will get a gun at 3 but we could have had two that could have really helped us
why i'd be sniffing around for a split....no harm seeing what you can shake loose!!

This one's a bit different

Have to be happy with this

Pick 38. (Carlton) – Noah Mraz
Dandenong Stingrays/Vic Country –DEF, 198cm
The key defender was limited by injury earlier in the year, but showed promising signs with his aerial intercepting ability off half back and is able to read the play well and use his frame to push up the ground and go deeper down back.

As would I

10 days away. I can't see us taking anyone other than Lalor, Finn or Draper now.

Personally i'd be rapt with any of them. They all perfectly fit the stated, and obvious, needs of Carlton. Pace, explosive Mid/Forward. Bravo young Curly. What an inspired trade period he had. A slight crack appeared in the seas, and he spied it, and parted the seas to land a prime pick where we cannot lose on draft night.

We even have Jagga up our sleeve if one of the above get hit by a proverbial bus.

And acquiring Pick 38 for the disgruntled Kennedy is perfect for us as well. There is a plethora of athletic and highly promising KPD prospects around that mark, and bid or no bid, we will be able to manouver our way into one of our preferred ones.

Pick 3: We get exactly what we want and need.

Pick 38. Looking likely we get a pick here and get a choice of a few KPD prospects ie Dennis, Mraz, Nicholls, West etc. Maybe even M.Whitlock or Barrat. Slight chance of Campo bid should still allow us the chance of manouvering back in for one of the KPD's.

2 Campo's for very little cost.

Have enjoyed all the debate. Looking forward to the next 10 days of general draft info/debate.

You know the rules mate - once you have booked your flight, never look at ticket prices again - u do your head in every time, when u go back “just to have a look” 😂

Analysis 2024 National Draft