- #4,082
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
They are pointing out (sooking) that the system isn’t fair. When last year the worst side in West Coast drafted at 30 instead of 19 for their second rounder and this year the best side will get arguably the best kid then I struggle to see how they are wrong.Well yes the Academies are stupid but hey, the AFL does a lot of stupid things.
I have no time for anyone who criticises Father Son. If a non-football fan doesn't understand that, they don't understand the magic of football and its their loss.
It is interesting to see if clubs have an off the record view of allowing players that are not ranked in the top 30 to slide?I think some people are confusing us not wanting Ben bid on before 38 with Ben not being worth pick 38.
Ben is an absolute bargain at pick 38 and a significantly better prospect then we would get using that pick. We will have a plan to trade out 38 so it's not used but hypothetically if it's one or the other Ben is worth it every day of the week.
If SOS bids at 32, he isn't being ridiculous (obviously isn't going to win him fans on this board). That's a very reasonable pick to place a bid.
Sure, criticise the academies all you want and criticise free agency giving out picks for nothing, but they complained about Father Sons too, which is stupid from a club that's been around for 100+ years and show their complaint is just pure selfishness.They are pointing out (sooking) that the system isn’t fair. When last year the worst side in West Coast drafted at 30 instead of 19 for their second rounder and this year the best side will get arguably the best kid then I struggle to see how they are wrong.
Just because there is luck involved doesn’t make it anymore fair.
They are pointing out (sooking) that the system isn’t fair. When last year the worst side in West Coast drafted at 30 instead of 19 for their second rounder and this year the best side will get arguably the best kid then I struggle to see how they are wrong.
if the system was fair your club would've folded due to bankruptcy and being so ****ing shit. Careful how much complaining you support considering the outlandish constant handouts for a club as old as st Kilda.Let me add to that
"My message was less about the AFL and [more] 90 per cent for us to be as good as we can be as a football club and win despite the inequality. That's the bit that everyone ignored and went straight to the 10 per cent," he said.
"The 10 per cent is that the system is not fair, and I have a voice so I'll fight to make that fairer, but the 90 per cent is for us to win anyway.
"For us to recognise that because it's hard, anything less than our best gives us no chance. Our best gives us a chance and I genuinely believe that.
"That was my key message, not the fact that the system is broken."
Mosquito I think got bid on a few years back.It is interesting to see if clubs have an off the record view of allowing players that are not ranked in the top 30 to slide?
I'm trying to remember how many players are bid on after pick 30? or are they often allowed to just be selected by their preferred club.
Diesel had one too.
who would have thought.Sure, but there's only so much you're going to want to trust a 17yo when it comes to getting the inside word on his mate that you're considering drafting to the same club...
Dare I say it, you'd put more value on negative feedback than positive. Being alerted to red flags would be more helpful than "Oh yeah, he's an awesome bloke, works really hard etc. etc."
In terms of credibility of insight:
Scouts > his Coaches > the kid himself > his teammates > his teammates who know they're coming to Carlton > everyone on BF
some clubs don’t have father sons yet so tbh I don’t think there is any point addressing any of FS, academies or Compo individually. They should all be addressed at once.Sure, criticise the academies all you want and criticise free agency giving out picks for nothing, but they complained about Father Sons too, which is stupid from a club that's been around for 100+ years and show their complaint is just pure selfishness.
They are pointing out (sooking) that the system isn’t fair. When last year the worst side in West Coast drafted at 30 instead of 19 for their second rounder and this year the best side will get arguably the best kid then I struggle to see how they are wrong.
The only clubs that don't have FS access at this stage is GC and GWS and they get plenty of AFL assistance as it is.some clubs don’t have father sons yet so tbh I don’t think there is any point addressing any of FS, academies or Compo individually. They should all be addressed at once.
When you have a system that we’ve got currently I can also not understand why people worry about priority picks being given.
Is this the draft thread??
I couldn't care less about ST Kilda.
Let's talk about the draft in this thread and players we are targeting.
Have heard differently..Just passing on some info.
Carlton wants FOS, next in line is Draper.
Sorry if people don’t like this….
Have heard differently..
Have been told it's Jagga..
Source: Jagga
No current season stats available
Have heard differently..
Have been told it's Jagga..
Source: Jagga
Geez I hope Twomey is on the money with #3 - Only issue with langford is he's "A Richmond Fan"Cal Twomey's Phantom Form Guide: Top draft prospects' November ranking
AFL.com.au's draft guru Cal Twomey delivers his fifth and final Phantom Form Guide ahead of the 2024 Telstra AFL Draftwww.afl.com.au
"Remember, this is a ranking and not a mock draft. It does not take into account where the players will be drafted or where bids on father-son or Academy players will fall. That will come next week."
WB and GWS don’t lose anything but I’m not sure they really gain a lot either by bidding.In fairness, WB and GWS don't lose anything by bidding, and picks 35 and 37 are absolutely in the range. Port have 36 as well as 29.
I reckon that's 6 clubs with 7 picks between them that might bid on Ben before 38.
As in academies? which you implied should be scrutinised.The only clubs that don't have FS access at this stage is GC and GWS and they get plenty of AFL assistance as it is.
Yes, but they're clearly not going to. But also, initial draft concessions, extra list spots and cash, marquee player allowances, they have other support beyond father son and academies.As in academies? which you implied should be scrutinised.
WB and GWS don’t lose anything but I’m not sure they really gain a lot either by bidding.
If GWS use #37 to bid on Ben, we would trade #38 for a F2 then use later picks (63, 68, 69) to match GWS bid less the 20% discount for f/s. After we take Ben, GWS would then use #37 - what has GWS actually gained? A shuffling down of picks after we use 63, 68, 69, so GWS last pick #73 becomes #70. If WB bid with #35 their #83 would come back to #80. Not much gain at this end of the draft range.
The issue for us is trading back into the draft with the F2 and where would we end up. Assuming it’s around the #40’s, I don’t see any benefit to GWS and WB who’s next picks are #56 and #48. They could bid but I don’t see a lot if any real benefit to them.
Intial draft concessions? That’s almost 15 years ago for GC. Do GWS have extra list spots?Yes, but they're clearly not going to. But also, initial draft concessions, extra list spots and cash, marquee player allowances, they have other support beyond father son and academies.
This is the problem, the entire system is a joke.Because 17 other clubs are also negatively impacted by Brisbane getting Ashcroft?
They seem to think that they're the sole victim in all of this - everyone else gets a leg up and St Kilda has to wallow in the muck for eternity.
Immediately following "we need to take ownership" with "but...the system is rigged" perpetuates the shitty mindset that will keep them in the muck.
St Kilda landed a top 10 pick for Josh ****ing Battle - every other club with a pick between 8 and the second rounder they should have got has been negatively impacted. Lucky St Kilda, eh...should really make the most of that AFL handout.
They could say the same of us.They’re a football club that has been poorly run for a long time, coping with failure is a badge of honour for them