Rumour 2024 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 25, last 28th August)

Will we land a big fish?

• Yes

Votes: 36 17.8%
  • No

Votes: 166 82.2%

The flog rucci adamant crows won't make the call to Balmey

On SM-S928B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Its Happening Ron Paul GIF

This guy thought Nicks had contacted Montgomery again recently about coming here as an assistant, which is false. He would not have any contacts at the Crows these days, he was cast out years ago.
I think Rucci is often just putting fragments of stories together to create a narrative nowadays.

Knows Montgomery's wife and kids are still in SA, wants to move back, Crows looking for help, Nicks and Montgomery know each other, put the pieces together and you have some semblance of a logical story, whether it's true or not .

With that being said, normally I would be suspicious on a story about the Crows wanting to bring such a strong person into the club, because traditionally those in power get their noses out of joint about anyone disagreeing with them. The fact they chased Balme twice before though would make me believe it has some validity to it though

1970crow I see Walker has his cronies out spruiking a move

Again

Classic Adelaide player contract negotiations

Like clockwork. A few weeks ago I saw tex in an interview say he had to weigh a lot of stuff up before deciding if he wants to go around again. Body was one of the factors mentioned, so it’s odd that as it’s gotten worse, he’s now applying the screws.

Like clockwork. A few weeks ago I saw tex in an interview say he hadn to weigh a lot of stuff up before deciding if he wants to go around again. Body was one of the factors mentioned, so it’s odd that as it’s gotten worse, he’s now applying the screws.
Tex is still playing good enough footy to go another year, I reckon. You wouldn't expect him to play every game, but if we got 15 games out of him it wouldn't be a bad result.

Imagine if we gave Smith another year and got rid of Tex.

Animated GIF

Tex is still playing good enough footy to go another year, I reckon. You wouldn't expect him to play every game, but if we got 15 games out of him it wouldn't be a bad result.

Animated GIF

Tex needs to prove his body is up to it over the remaining rounds. It’s a decision for the end of the year. Who knows with Smith, we’re stupid enough to offer him another year.

Animated GIF
The problem is we can go in with this "we can rest him" type plans, but then the "we pick the best team to win each week" stuff kicks in and suddenly resting Tex may get put off longer than it should.

I would be devastated to see Tex leave but we're not winning any premierships anytime soon. So would you rather Tex play 15 games next year or get 15 games into Welsh?

The problem is we can go in with this "we can rest him" type plans, but then the "we pick the best team to win each week" stuff kicks in and suddenly resting Tex may get put off longer than it should.
I'm not thinking of explicitly resting him as such (although I probably wouldn't take him on the longer trips to Perth / Brisbane / Darwin etc). But more you can't reasonably expect him to be fit for the full 23 weeks at his age. He'll get niggles like this back issue etc, so that'll be when he gets a rest anyway.

But as it stands this year, we're a better team with him in it. Assuming we have Thilthorpe and Fog, I'd prefer Tex as the other tall ahead of Burgess or Gollant. It's well and good to say we'll have Welsh there or whatever, but it remains to be seen how good he is, and if he's ready for AFL right away or needs time. And then there's no certainty that all of them will be fit and in form at the same time anyway.

He's still the best kick on our list, and if Thilthorpe goes up a level like we're hoping he's ready to, he'll likely start attracting the best defender each week which will make life a little easier for Tex.

I'm surprised people talk so confidently about who is and isn't a good assistant coach. Other than 2nd hand anecdotal 'evidence', feel those opinions are very circumstantial. However, hard evidence based on continually and consistently repeated happenings - if you bring people into your club who have won AFL premierships, as players, coaches, administrators, people who have seen what works, have first hand knowledge of systems that bring success - premierships generally follow.

In almost 30 years of AFL life as a player and assistant coach, I don't think Burns have ever been involved with a premiership winning team. That's enough for me to say, thanks but this relationship has run it's course.
30 years of AFL life for six finals appearances.

I would be devastated to see Tex leave but we're not winning any premierships anytime soon. So would you rather Tex play 15 games next year or get 15 games into Welsh?
Would Welsh be ready to play 15 games in his first year? We don't want to rush him too early if he is not ready for it. If Tex is there and can play 15 games then it lets us ease Welsh into it with 5-10 games in his first year.

But Welsh will be in the SANFL, so it's no problem?

Would Welsh be ready to play 15 games in his first year? We don't want to rush him too early if he is not ready for it. If Tex is there and can play 15 games then it lets us ease Welsh into it with 5-10 games in his first year.
Welsh IMO would be the type to get 2 to 3 games into Cadman style.

Really do t care if you believe or not but it came from a source extremely close to blame who would absolutely know
Unfortunately there's been enough rumours of Roo not liking and preventing hiring anyone who he knows may challenge his opinion on football matters for it to be believable.

I was a fan of Burns for a long time feeling he should have been a head coach somewhere

Leading Collingwood is no small feat and one I thought was a good grounding for a future coaching role just like Tony Shaw , Nathan Buckley etc

But I guess his Norwood got in the way

That is a lousy strike rate & worrying trend.
Can't really be blamed for his lack of finals during the playing days and unlike many players was in a Grand Final in 2002 that they lost narrowly. He was actually one of my favourite players to watch in the 2000s outside of the Crows, could roost them from outside 50!

I'm the same, you can manage players like Geelong do when you are in the premiership hunt but when you are trying to build a team and set up a structure for the long term you can't have a key forward rotating in and out.

I think it's irrelevant how well he will play next year.

Tex and his management will deny it again but there is a clear patten that they think public pressure will help him get another contract.

Again you can do it at Geelong but I think our club needs everyone to do a full pre season and be available for every game.

I'm the same, you can manage players like Geelong do when you are in the premiership hunt but when you are trying to build a team and set up a structure for the long term you can't have a key forward rotating in and out.

I think it's irrelevant how well he will play next year.

Tex and his management will deny it again but there is a clear patten that they think public pressure will help him get another contract.

Again you can do it at Geelong but I think our club needs everyone to do a full pre season and be available for every game.
I'd rather have 10 games from Tex than 23 from Burgess.

surely that is the whole point of having him with us this year.