- Oct 9, 2003
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Eagles (NFL), Suns (NBA)
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
We need to show improvement next year with FAs to come to us first.We also have the issue with Tassie coming in and taking all the draft picks.The balancing act is that we can’t just wait, we have to use the next year to put ourselves into a a better spot to attract and trade for players we want.
Gold Coast, GWS, Freo, Brisbane, Dogs, West Coast to a lesser degree Carlton.Pleases tell me who hasn't?
Or two. We've got enormous growth on our list and its about time we start finding out what many of them bring to the table.IMO we should wait another year and then trade for players.
As in done deal or well-done?Faff man says Darling done
Not bothered in the slightest if that were to happen. Id hope we're a lot more competitive, but another year and our young group is so close to blossoming its not funny. In 26 we'll be knocking on the door of the finals if not breaking it down.Yes and no. First and foremost we need to use everything at our disposal to climb the ladder. Not only are we losing young kids as supporters every single year while we are down the bottom, no in-demand player will agree to come to us while we are rooted in the bottom 4 with 3 wins.
If we wait another year and win under 5 games again, we will be in exactly the same position, struggling to attract anyone with a pulse.
But next year Darling wont be getting games at WC just like Taberner at Freo this year. One costs 1.2m over 2 year min the other a couple of scratchy tickets.At least Darling has been successful and is still getting games. Unlike Taberner.
We were a much better side 2003-2005 but pulled the trigger too quickly then trading out picks for experience and had to regroup in 2006.IMO we should wait another year and then trade for players.
Done dealAs in done deal or well-done?
CharredAs in done deal or well-done?
We have been trying, but not much has happened so we've been building the list we've got. As per my post above after this draft we should have so many option is almost every position with enormous growth expected. To my mind at least, we're at the point no fringe players will make any difference to what we have. We gell this group and push them hard over the next 2 years. Then we'll know what we do and dont have.Yeah hawks waited until they were down the bottom for a couple of years before trading didn't they... what about bris
You don't choose to wait... you maybe forced to wait as players may not come but you have to at least try not just sit back and not bother with an attitude of no-one will come so I'll wait
99% would be dictated by the players on our list already.Purely a hypothetical.
How would we fare in 2025 if we added a (fit) Taberner, Haynes and Parker?
Track record of Faff to get things right especially this time of year... JHF to announce his contract extension at the Syd ring any bells?Faff man says Darling done
BTW, i not against getting Parker for a 3rd or 4th rounder. We just dont need experience as bad as people are making out imo. We'll be a much better team over the next 2 years i have no doubt.
He's surprisingly been on the money about quite a few non north info this yearTrack record of Faff to get things right especially this time of year... JHF to announce his contract extension at the Syd ring any bells?
Yes he is pretty bad. Can't seem to jump and drops a lot of marks. He's been playing decoy the last few years. Runs to the right places to open up space for the other kpfs they have.Is Darling that bad now?
I used to rate him really highly but haven't watched him enough in recent times to comment.
His tackle numbers look ok but are generally in and around congestion. He gets torched on the rebound and thats why they're not going to play him. Thats an area thats already a problem for us. While Chom is defiantly in the tall timber category but he has serious wheels, can overhead mark, get up the ground and is a 5x better option. If Chom gets going he'd be a very tough matchup. Go too small and we play him deep, go big and he works up the ground.Yes he is pretty bad. Can't seem to jump and drops a lot of marks. He's been playing decoy the last few years. Runs to the right places to open up space for the other kpfs they have.
We do need a bit of that. His pressure is pretty good for a tall. We need that also.
He's not a great on field option but I reckon has heaps he can teach our kpfs. Even larkey could learn from him he has bad habits it's best our new kpfs don't learn.
In short He's a better role model than we currently have. Similar to Parker in the mids but less impact in game I'd suspect.
His tackle numbers look ok but are generally in and around congestion. He gets torched on the rebound and thats why they're not going to play him. Thats an area thats already a problem for us. While Chom is defiantly in the tall timber category but he has serious wheels, can overhead mark, get up the ground and is a 5x better option. If Chom gets going he'd be a very tough matchup. Go too small and we play him deep, go big and he works up the ground.
Yep chom offers heaps more. The coaches seem to think if Darling teaches our kpfs a few tricks he improves them all. I can see the logic and for a 2 year contract the risk isn't a large one.His tackle numbers look ok but are generally in and around congestion. He gets torched on the rebound and thats why they're not going to play him. Thats an area thats already a problem for us. While Chom is defiantly in the tall timber category but he has serious wheels, can overhead mark, get up the ground and is a 5x better option. If Chom gets going he'd be a very tough matchup. Go too small and we play him deep, go big and he works up the ground.