List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

So was that line elite prior to Ross or because of Ross?

Because I believe it’s the latter not the former - so we should have some faith he can create that with whatever it looks like in 2025 - if they do go down the path of moving Howard on.

Howard, Wilkie and Battle were all good and probably our best line under Ratts again. Sincs already playing back at a very high standard and Nas developing. I would say we have a similar problem with poor midfield depth and once we got found out slipping the ball out the back to Butler or scoring issues were the same as they are now.

It's like the same issues keep coming through and not being addressed. Lyon has definitely tightened up a bit of team defence but not in a massive way IMO.

Dylan didn’t want to come to us in his prime when we wanted him so he can go and get ****ed.

Lucky we didn't. He's played three matches and two have been the last 2 weeks. The other he broke down after two touches. He would have been an expensive bust.

It’s been reported Oliver’s contract for the next 6 years is $10m plus pro-rata growth in the salary cap.

That’s an average of over $1.6m per year plus indexation of the salary cap. There is no way any club will take over that contract, especially with Oliver’s erratic behaviour and loss of form, unless there were massive draft pick inducements.

Melbourne will have to offer a 1st RDP for any club to take over that contract. Maybe even two first rounders with a second coming back. Oliver is worth nothing to Melbourne in terms of draft capital.

Kane Cornes said that Oliver’s contract has to be the worst ever offered by a club. Totally irresponsible. It could cripple a club’s salary cap. And on this occasion I have to agree with him Cornes. It’s a shocker.

It's honestly insane for a guy who was an absolute mess off field and now he's a liability on field.

If we took over his contract we might as well see if we can locate to Darwin. It would be one of the great self inflicted wounds. The small chance that he comes back and plays some good footy and sorts out all his issues isn't worth the huge contract risk. You don't want guys like him around your youth either. Culturally he's a disaster.

you might have to
I guess it depends what the rest of the cap is looking like and whether they feel they’d rather have the good pick.
Would love to know what they are thinking.

I’ve come around to the thinking of getting two - hopefully very good young kids (there’s the risk) as my preference. But then I would really not like them to let Howard go. I know he’s unpopular on here with a few, but I think he’s really important and Wilkie plays better when he’s on the team.

Would really not like to lose 2 pretty important cogs in the backline together. One at a time is replaceable imo.

After watching highlights and profiles of this years top 10 along with Twomeys episode this week I’m elevating the desk thinking about potentially having 2 picks in the top 5-6…. I love Josh as a player but this is a huge opportunity to inject some elite talent into our midfield. Any two of Murphy, Lalor, Jagga, Langford would be phenomenal….

Jagga and lalor would be the dream

It's honestly insane for a guy who was an absolute mess off field and now he's a liability on field.

If we took over his contract we might as well see if we can locate to Darwin. It would be one of the great self inflicted wounds. The small chance that he comes back and plays some good footy and sorts out all his issues isn't worth the huge contract risk. You don't want guys like him around your youth either. Culturally he's a disaster.

It would be a massive risk. And Melbourne would need to pay at least a first round pick and a percentage of his salary, or a first round pick and additional picks (in net terms) for paying a lesser proportion of his contract.

Could be a disaster or could be the trade of the century. If Oliver goes to a new club and becomes the player he was then it is a tempting deal. How likely is that though?

Risk vs Reward. IMO the risk is far too great. And Melbourne will need to cough up plenty in terms of trade currency if Oliver doesn’t renegotiate his existing deal. And why would he do that?

I can’t see it happening.

Jesus, reading this is depressing.
We may as well hang a sign out the front of RSEA park:
"Give us your sick and downtrodden, give us your old broken down flog players. St.Kilda welcomes the bygone, one upon a time, big names that add next to nothing in present real time to a club desperate and confused. Take advantage of the illogical love of the club by supporters that by rights should have given up decades ago, and ride them like over burdened flagellated donkeys to a sunset that promises no relief for them, but will yield a nice retirement package for you."

They’d have to pay at least half of his contract. Maybe even give us a third rounder to be fair.
We take all the risk.

Lucky we didn't. He's played three matches and two have been the last 2 weeks. The other he broke down after two touches. He would have been an expensive bust.
yeah massive hanners vibes
too much risk injury wise
understand why, age demographic to plug the hole and help the youth along a bit, but thats a big fat noooo

It’s interesting that the discussion around the period when we brought in Brad Hill and co has received such a negative focus.
I think Uncle Bradley is one of our most significant cultural entities along with his brilliant running game.
He is loved by his team mates and the most disappointing part of going last Saturday was not seeing him play.

yeah massive hanners vibes
too much risk injury wise
understand why, age demographic to plug the hole and help the youth along a bit, but thats a big fat noooo
I think it was gringo that said we should do a Collingwood and look for low profile high output players. The league as well as state leagues are full of them...we seem to insist on faded and jaded high profile players that can play a bit but are a year off from the knacker yard, or blatantly well past their use by date, or mentally and physically shot.
We need to find another way.
Lobb the TikTok prancer, "Where's my f"cking coke" diva Shiel and Clayton the ICE queen.
Seriously!?

It’s been reported Oliver’s contract for the next 6 years is $10m plus pro-rata growth in the salary cap.

That’s an average of over $1.6m per year plus indexation of the salary cap. There is no way any club will take over that contract, especially with Oliver’s erratic behaviour and loss of form, unless there were massive draft pick inducements.

Melbourne will have to offer a 1st RDP for any club to take over that contract. Maybe even two first rounders with a second coming back. Oliver is worth nothing to Melbourne in terms of draft capital.

Kane Cornes said that Oliver’s contract has to be the worst ever offered by a club. Totally irresponsible. It could cripple a club’s salary cap. And on this occasion I have to agree with him Cornes. It’s a shocker.
For that kind of irresponsible deal they should just have to live with it.
I seriously hope we are not even giving it a minute’s thought.

Sorry, where are you getting 2 extra first round picks?
Ours, potentially Battle compo and ???
To reiterate. If we lose Battle we will get pick 5.

We also have to pay someone else Battles wage we no longer are paying, we also have a war chest....to spend but cannot use free agency without burning Battle comp.

Under football socialism we have to pay the salary cap. We can pay our existing underperforming players over the odds like we did with Billings Bruce and co and stay where we are the last 6 years, in a nowhere eddy current and reward GOFs for underachievement or we cam go fuc$ it let's break the cycle.

Oliver we take his salary and Melbs frdp and most likley their frdp next year as well....Oliver may get back to his best or could be a GOF. He walks into our best 22. We get a hit at another elite kid when Oliver's contract runs out.

Same with Lobb we take him if we get a draft pick we can use...maybe Bullies frdp and we give them back our second. Burn the salary it's the AFLs money anyway.

Shiel same deal, he plays in our team for 1 possibly 2 years especially if Crouch is gone...and he comes with a pick, Bombers rise up the ladder will see them potentially squeezed maybe they deal who knows...but Shiel is not the need it's the pick we get in exchange for his salary

In no scenario do we use any of our valuable draft picks for these players without getting something better as well.

We need to get picks in RFN before Tassie comes into play...time to act bold now before we need to rebuild as Tassie builds.

This draft bats deep let's get 5 picks in the top 30. Oliver Lobb and Shiel replace a cooked Crouch Ross Membrey whilst giving the new draftees time to develop.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Oliver way too risky.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

On the way for bingo for me.

Lovett was the hard R woman basher.
People lament not getting the addict Cousins.
People ruminated getting the soft r Thomas.
We previously had the soft addict in Snake as there was that video of snorting pre trade.
There was also previous rumination about soft tissue Bennell, but that's also a double up of the soft addict.
Oliver would be a bit like Paddy, although he only has ADHD he takes meds for, but then he's also the soft addict and also a different sort of nuisance in being the vandalism of the group.

All we need is the ex-con, a white collar type and since I CBF progressing, just pick enough undesirables to make 25 and you have bingo of poor trade decisions.

I think it was gringo that said we should do a Collingwood and look for low profile high output players. The league as well as state leagues are full of them...we seem to insist on faded and jaded high profile players that can play a bit but are a year off from the knacker yard, or blatantly well past their use by date, or mentally and physically shot.
Lobb the TikTok prancer, "Where's my f"cking coke" diva Shiel and Clayton the ICE queen.
Seriously!?
Gold Coast, Sydney and Giants are the ones we could find some gems; Budarick, Peatling, Angwin, Derksen, McAndrew

It’s interesting that the discussion around the period when we brought in Brad Hill and co has received such a negative focus.
I think Uncle Bradley is one of our most significant cultural entities along with his brilliant running game.
He is loved by his team mates and the most disappointing part of going last Saturday was not seeing him play.

Nothing against Brad as a person. He’s a really great person to have at the club. The issue is with the timing of chasing cherries when we hadn’t made the cake. We are probably closer to a challenge with a more balanced list if we’d taken our natural down time and spent a few years accumulating high draft picks.

We either thought we had a flag list minus a few gap fillers or we tried to cover our arses after stuffing up two consecutive rebuilds. Either way Gags, Trout, Libba and Lethlean rightly got moved on after that.

Seriously!?
For sure. Geelong fans are jizzing themselves over Mannaugh at the moment. I haven’t seen them play recently but he must be doing well. The guys that dominate state leagues generally seem to walk into AFL quite easily. Wilkie and Hayes were both guns in the SANFL. Bailey Frisch the VFL. Liam Ryan and Kelly the WAFL.

Seriously!?
It was me who said that rather than draft untried 18 year olds like Clavarino take the exposed form of McLean at Sandy against men and pick him, like we did with Camaniti.

There are plenty of footballers out there we just need to be bold.

Regarding Oliver all I ask is that Saints hierarchy do the homework and make a value call on Oliver's contract, if we want another frdp then that's a viable option, if Dee's say no then fine....we are not here to fix your problems unless there is a win win outcome for both clubs.

Same with Lobb and Shiel we will not win a flag with them but we could with the picks they come with as compensation for picking up other clubs' contract fu#k ups.

We will never attract A grade talent DeGoey showed that however we can get the Crouchs as no one wanted the risk that is smart business...see value where others do not....we need to do more of it to be competitive.

Gold Coast, Sydney and Giants are the ones we could find some gems; Budarick, Peatling, Angwin, Derksen, McAndrew

Gold Coast are the obvious one and Brisbane to some extent. GC are going to have to make room for all of their academy kids. Brisbane have Ashcroft and 2 academy kids to come. Surely that pushes the fringe players out. Brisbane VFL looked really good when they played Sandy. They have plenty of quality depth. Shadeau Brain looked quite good even.

Also, the introduction of Hill showed how crap we were as a team because we were incapable of using a player with outside run

To reiterate. If we lose Battle we will get pick 5.

We also have to pay someone else Battles wage we no longer are paying, we also have a war chest....to spend but cannot use free agency without burning Battle comp.

Under football socialism we have to pay the salary cap. We can pay our existing underperforming players over the odds like we did with Billings Bruce and co and stay where we are the last 6 years, in a nowhere eddy current and reward GOFs for underachievement or we cam go fuc$ it let's break the cycle.

Oliver we take his salary and Melbs frdp and most likley their frdp next year as well....Oliver may get back to his best or could be a GOF. He walks into our best 22. We get a hit at another elite kid when Oliver's contract runs out.

Same with Lobb we take him if we get a draft pick we can use...maybe Bullies frdp and we give them back our second. Burn the salary it's the AFLs money anyway.

Shiel same deal, he plays in our team for 1 possibly 2 years especially if Crouch is gone...and he comes with a pick, Bombers rise up the ladder will see them potentially squeezed maybe they deal who knows...but Shiel is not the need it's the pick we get in exchange for his salary

In no scenario do we use any of our valuable draft picks for these players without getting something better as well.

We need to get picks in RFN before Tassie comes into play...time to act bold now before we need to rebuild as Tassie builds.

This draft bats deep let's get 5 picks in the top 30. Oliver Lobb and Shiel replace a cooked Crouch Ross Membrey whilst giving the new draftees time to develop.

Firstly there’s no way Demons are giving up a FDP this year and another one next year with Tassie coming in soon.

There’s also no way Bulldogs are giving away their 1 round DP for us to take on Lobb.

Shiel only has one year left on his contract so it’s not as it we’re going to get a great pick for taking that on and they’d probably want something back.

I believe that you no longer have to pay out your full salary cap in one year any longer, although I may be wrong. Looks like we’ll be putting a big deal in front of King, so even if we did have the available cap, I’m not spending megabucks on Oliver, Shiel and Lobb that would cripple us in the future.

I’ll take my chances with pick 5 and hopefully 6 thanks. And whatever else the team can conjure up.

It was me who said that rather than draft untried 18 year olds like Clavarino take the exposed form of McLean at Sandy against men and pick him, like we did with Camaniti.

There are plenty of footballers out there we just need to be bold.

Regarding Oliver all I ask is that Saints hierarchy do the homework and make a value call on Oliver's contract, if we want another frdp then that's a viable option, if Dee's say no then fine....we are not here to fix your problems unless there is a win win outcome for both clubs.

Same with Lobb and Shiel we will not win a flag with them but we could with the picks they come with as compensation for picking up other clubs' contract fu#k ups.

We will never attract A grade talent DeGoey showed that however we can get the Crouchs as no one wanted the risk that is smart business...see value where others do not....we need to do more of it to be competitive.

Lobb isn’t coming with a pick. I think most clubs would only hand over freebies if you eat their contract up. They aren’t giving up a high pick and pay their wages. There has to be something that they can justify to their members. Imagine if we gave Max King to Gold Coast and paid half his wage and gave up our first round pick for it. People would burn down RSEA park. Even for us that would be diabolical.