Walsh
Harry
Charlie
Doc
Weits

Then for the last 4 years we have had

Cerra
Saad

In that time to not be able to add a decent 2nd key defender and at least 2 quality small forwards is a big thumbs down to our two list bosses.

Seriously what a joke, we should have drafted nothing but small forwards and key backs 5 years running.

We don't have any. I've said that for years lmao.

My point is very simple. Would our list have any issues with delivery inside 50 or moving the ball from the backline if we had the Hawks flankers from last night? Our midfields line up extremely similarly.

Meek, Newcombe, Day, Worpel, Nash.
TDK, Cripps, Walsh, Cerra, Hewett.

There's barely a difference between those line ups regarding spread, kicking skill and defensive ability. Our group is considerably better at winning clearance and contested ball though.

The biggest difference is what they've surrounded those big bodies with on the flanks. We have dump kick merchants who lack any sort of run. They have precision surgeons who run 15km every game and link up all over the ground.
You’ve got to concede our outside mids aren’t quick enough or skilled kicks or have enough footy iq to help transition tge ball effectively thru the centre or from a stoppage.

Also tge incessant long bombing mentally absolutely destroys us

You’ve got to concede our outside mids aren’t quick enough or skilled kicks or have enough footy iq to help transition tge ball effectively thru the centre or from a stoppage.

Also tge incessant long bombing mentally absolutely destroys us
I've never disagreed with that. But it's robbing Peter to pay Paul. You keep the inside mids who are brilliant at winning the ball and stack quality flankers around them who can get involved as they dish it out. At the moment our inside mids have to win the ball, win it back in transition and kick it inside 50 as well because we don't have quality rebound off half back to open up the ground and no half forwards capable of getting involved to deliver the ball inside 50. Acres does his job as a defensive winger but also butchers the ball a fair bit.

Either way, there's simply no way to find a top shelf inside outside mid with what we've got going into this off season unless you have a plan to find the next Chris Judd with pick 40 odd.

We don't have any. I've said that for years lmao.

Right. And this is a big issue with our ability to spread, hit targets etc.

My point is very simple. Would our list have any issues with delivery inside 50 or moving the ball from the backline if we had the Hawks flankers from last night? Our midfields line up extremely similarly.

Meek, Newcombe, Day, Worpel, Nash.
TDK, Cripps, Walsh, Cerra, Hewett.

There's barely a difference between those line ups regarding spread, kicking skill and defensive ability. Our group is considerably better at winning clearance and contested ball though.

The biggest difference is what they've surrounded those big bodies with on the flanks. We have dump kick merchants who lack any sort of run. They have precision surgeons who run 15km every game and link up all over the ground.

You must be watching a different game... last night the Hawks mids were running in packs, spreading and hitting targets. True, they were supported by their flankers. Our mids looked like they were indecisive, get the ball on the boot and send it forward contest after contest...

Look at disposal efficiency...

Walsh, Acres and TDK all at 50% or less...
Cerra - 60.7%
Hewett - 67.9%
Cripps - 72.4%

Day & Nash - 61.5% and 62.5% respectively
Worpel didn't play.
Mackenzie - 84.2%
Meek 76.9%
Newcombe - 75%

Similar my arse...

I've never disagreed with that. But it's robbing Peter to pay Paul. You keep the inside mids who are brilliant at winning the ball and stack quality flankers around them who can get involved as they dish it out. At the moment our inside mids have to win the ball, win it back in transition and kick it inside 50 as well because we don't have quality rebound off half back to open up the ground and no half forwards capable of getting involved to deliver the ball inside 50. Acres does his job as a defensive winger but also butchers the ball a fair bit.

Either way, there's simply no way to find a top shelf inside outside mid with what we've got going into this off season unless you have a plan to find the next Chris Judd with pick 40 odd.

Yeah and we'll magically get these quality flankers with pick 40 odd won't we...

The Hawks were very astute with how they've built their list.

Clarko chased after Impey who was originally drafted with pick 21.
Weddle pick 18
Amon earnt port a 2nd rounder compo
D'Ambrosio was a bargain

We have Boyd, Wilson, Carroll, Charleson are we writing these guys off already?

Meanwhile... no real young pacey outside mids with good kicking skills apart from Smith.

This is why I pose the question... perhaps we should have drafted Tom Gross ahead on Ben Camporeale... chances are we still end up draft the Campo bros anyway.

Right. And this is a big issue with our ability to spread, hit targets etc.

You must be watching a different game... last night the Hawks mids were running in packs, spreading and hitting targets. True, they were supported by their flankers. Our mids looked like they were indecisive, get the ball on the boot and send it forward contest after contest...

Look at disposal efficiency...

Walsh, Acres and TDK all at 50% or less...
Cerra - 60.7%
Hewett - 67.9%
Cripps - 72.4%

Day & Nash - 61.5% and 62.5% respectively
Worpel didn't play.
Mackenzie - 84.2%
Meek 76.9%
Newcombe - 75%

Similar my arse...
I'm just flat out never going to agree with you so we may as well move on BF. I felt our mids controlled that game for the vast majority of the night.

For the past 7 years we have had these players on the list

TDK
Cripps
Walsh
Harry
Charlie
Doc
Weits

Then for the last 4 years we have had

Cerra
Saad

In that time to not be able to add a decent 2nd key defender and at least 2 quality small forwards is a big thumbs down to our two list bosses.

Seriously what a joke, we should have drafted nothing but small forwards and key backs 5 years running.
You never need anything until you do. Neglect is a consequence of not exploiting a draft's strengths and of a lack of foresight. You can't solve neglect with further neglect.

Issue for Moir is being sub going to help him build his tank?

If we are to play him, then play him. Be aware he’s going to blow up and manage him through bench and build him up

IMO if the coaches believe he is to play then I reckon this is the only way. A quarter a week won’t help him

Play him until he's cooked then bench him.

It's an issue, but it's not the issue. Agree on the Hawks outside players. Just leagues above ours in class.
If we can free up $$$ there’s free agents that are there and as what happens every year there’s cheap pick ups in areas of need.

These players all went cheap

Ginnivan
Bedford
D”Ambrosio
Hill
Owies
Treloar

It all starts with the midfield group. Run and carry is our biggest issue. We get the ball and kick it because we have no run.
We need Cerra, Walsh, Acres, Cripps, Hewett, Campo, Doc, Williams, Hollands boys, etc. to run and handball as a unit. Open the game up!!! Opposition players can't roll back if players are running in as a unit towards them........
Can you pass that onto them, the coaches, anyone?

C4[2]Yo`DooR idk what you actually do at Port. But please for me, next time you see Dylan Williams tell him to request a trade to Carlton. If Farrell wants to come too I'd be thankful for that too. I can't watch this backline launch it into the stratosphere every time someone gets the ball any longer.
Yeah but Williams is a fwd, totally played out of position as a defender.
Or do you have a cunning plan?

Yeah but Williams is a fwd, totally played out of position as a defender.
Or do you have a cunning plan?
He's an elite kick of the footy no matter where he's playing. Absolute laser of a left peg.

Tank isn't great so they played him more as a back pocket, similar to us with Boyd. Would be happy with both of them in charge of kickouts down back for us.

Theres not much in the form of speedy free agents for 2025. Farrell probably the best kick out of the lot.
We have a few areas of need and limited resources to get them, with no idea what might be available I’m only looking at free agents and ooc players.

Farrel addressed foot skills and attacking intent off the half back line.

Starcevic would be similar

Aleer is ooc and struggling to get games

That would address two areas of need, I’m sure there might be other names on the list, they don’t have to be superstars.

It’s been mentioned a lot but look at what the Hawks paid for Ginnivan, Impey, Amon, Chol, Scrimshaw, D”Ambrosio, just targeted players with qualities they needed.

Do we? Not sure that's true. Walsh was a rounded pick, not X-Factor. If we wanted X-Factor we'd have picked Rozee or Rankine. Jagga wasn't an X-Factor pick, Draper just after was more that. Kemp & Moir weren't x-factor picks but attempted value selections on guys who slid from the top 10, trading back and then taking them as perspective value picks. Moir perhaps does have some but he's not getting a look. Hollands certainly wasn't an x-factor pick, he's a bit of a dour, structural defensive winger with limited offensive output.

If anything, you could argue we've gone too safe with picks and haven't looked at guys with more x-factor. We definitely haven't picked elite skilled players, but we've also gone for the safer options as opposed to aggressive and/or expansive types.
How many of them were good to elite disposal? Who in our team can take a great over head mark? Has a penetrative kick? Has a high footy IQ?

We have recruited via the wrong matrix, the matrix of anti success for too long and the shame is the people in charge cannot see it

We have a few areas of need and limited resources to get them, with no idea what might be available I’m only looking at free agents and ooc players.

Farrel addressed foot skills and attacking intent off the half back line.

Starcevic would be similar

Aleer is ooc and struggling to get games

That would address two areas of need, I’m sure there might be other names on the list, they don’t have to be superstars.

It’s been mentioned a lot but look at what the Hawks paid for Ginnivan, Impey, Amon, Chol, Scrimshaw, D”Ambrosio, just targeted players with qualities they needed.
Are we smart enough to see this though?

Everyone is saying we need a couple of players with élite foot skills…..I would say we need at least 23 🤔

I hope we do grab all these players with elite foot skills…. and when we have the same coaches and gameplay, those players with elite foot skills will be wasted on this club.

I know I'm going to get smashed for this, but part of me thinks that we will improve as a midfield/team when Cripps retires.
I have been saying this for years and always downvoted into oblivion.

Unfortunately, Cripps plays in a way that looks good for him but not necessarily best for the team.
Been saying this for years also. Love him to bits, but he's a shocking transition runner.

Look at how Newcombe ran off him on Thursday or last night how both Richards and Libba spread from the contest. Both provide a hell of a lot more than just inside clearance work.

To be specific I said we could never win a premiership with Cripps. Sadly that looks true.

“Walsh, Acres and TDK all at 50% or less...
Cerra - 60.7%”. (vs the Hawks midfield who were much higher %)

… I’d be looking for a way to get Butters over when Ken’s leaving

I was actually talking about this with a mate last night! That team would dominate today!

Murphy, Gibbs, walker, Judd, 3 amigos, Jarrad Waite full forward simmo… would absolutely dominate.

It’s like the footy gods just don’t want it to work for us!
Not sure it was the footy gods that sacked Ratten & dismantled that team

Cripps isn't the problem... not even close.

The support act is the problem...

Crippa has no one to work with, he wins a contested ball, who's there for support?

"I'll just dump it on my boot" Walsh and Doc?
Hewett I consider a smart player, but he struggles to execute under pressure as well.
Cerra is a decent user by foot but the coach wants to move him to hb during games...
Acres can't kick
Lucas is still green
Motlop is soft
Williams hasn't got a tank.. or ticker
Lord still green and not a good kick
Ben, green and not a good kick

It's been like this for too long now. Cripps has been carrying a mountain on his shoulders and at 30 years of age that is not sustainable for anyone.

And now we're calling him a problem... wow...

This is why I pose the question... perhaps we should have drafted Tom Gross ahead on Ben Camporeale... chances are we still end up draft the Campo bros anyway.

I think you must be confused about how the draft works, because this doesn’t make sense?
We matched Geelong’s bid for Ben at #43 using later picks (what were #63 and #68 before the draft).

For us to draft Gross would have meant passing on O’Farrell.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

Write your reply...