Player Watch #21: Callum Coleman-Jones - out for season after suffering Achilles rupture vs CFC on GoodFriday - go well CCJ

I think our drafting has been good not really addressing a key issue down back but our trading has been pathetic Rawlings should be stood down from all negotiations as it is a skill.

I’m still annoyed about trading our 2nd rounder I was bowled down about being to outraged at the time which admittedly I did get very angry about it.

Let’s hope we continue to draft well.

You need to have a look at the interview CCJ gave when he came across - he made it clear he wasn't moving if Richmond weren't compensated, which is a relatively common thing, especially when someone like CCJ has had a disciplinary incident. People stressing about the sky falling in over the 2022 draft/trade period and we're not even there yet

Like I qualified my comments are at present but normally there would be traits apparent that you could point to that one could say, “yeah I see it” but he just seems cumbersome not particularly strong in the air, ok in the ruck not worth the confidence of a five yr deal.

But, sure he has time to show different
His first game of AFL he took 4 contested grabs and kicked 4 goals. That's more goals than X did in 8 games resting forward. He is a giant, looks to be much thicker than X, he will take some time but he can take a grab, rucks pretty well. But he is still looking like a baby giraffe, not sure he knows how to handle his big frame yet. And yes, he does have time. Oodles of it.

He was playing with premiership winning players, no wonder he looked good with a system that won them the premiership.

We have 0 system and it does no favours for him. When we start getting the wheels rolling he will come good for us.

But it’s weird how Nobes values versatility and we didn’t go hammer and tong for chol who can play fwd, Ruck and back.

bro, just add the points up and stop obsessing about picks; and as for next year's "hand", let's see what happens - King Arthur didn't only have a problem with a sword, he didn't have a crystal ball
It’s all about the picks and our “hand” in the next draft looks Putrid because of the CCJ Trade. Bottom Line. You can endeavour to justify the trade 10 ways to the next Easter Sunday but a shit trade is a shit trade. You do not want to acknowledge that we could’ve walked CCJ through to the preseason draft. You do not want to acknowledge that we paid overs for him. All you want to do is wank on about points. Like it justifies Rawling’s actions. :stern look

But it’s weird how Nobes values versatility and we didn’t go hammer and tong for chol who can play fwd, Ruck and back.
Maybe they ticked the wrong box on the richmond list. Chol would have been one line above Coleman-Jones. Is Brady ****-eyed?

He was playing with premiership winning players, no wonder he looked good with a system that won them the premiership.

We have 0 system and it does no favours for him. When we start getting the wheels rolling he will come good for us.

Agreed. More versatile. More athletic. Would've cost us nothing but $ I think?

It’s all about the picks and our “hand” in the next draft looks Putrid because of the CCJ Trade. Bottom Line. You can endeavour to justify the trade 10 ways to the next Easter Sunday but a shit trade is a shit trade. You do not want to acknowledge that we could’ve walked CCJ through to the preseason draft. You do not want to acknowledge that we paid overs for him. All you want to do is wank on about points. Like it justifies Rawling’s actions. :stern look
Actually, no we couldn't, because CCJ made it clear he wouldn't go that route, and don't take my word for it, watch the interview he gave when he first came across. Whether we should have walked away is another question, but the PSD was never an option

And just for the record, I don't masturbate about BF - there's plenty on here who specialise in that pastime

Agreed. More versatile. More athletic. Would've cost us nothing but $ I think?
Fair argument you both make, but Chol wanted to go home to family in Qld

Because that will be the 1st and only time we will work with Richmond?

It's a small industry and most try and work amicably. Most people realise this, including both clubs.
They’ll probably use our second rounder to bid on cooper.
We always play be these so called rules - while other clubs bend us over.
Our club has lost their balls and now some of our fans have followed suit.

You need to have a look at the interview CCJ gave when he came across - he made it clear he wasn't moving if Richmond weren't compensated, which is a relatively common thing, especially when someone like CCJ has had a disciplinary incident. People stressing about the sky falling in over the 2022 draft/trade period and we're not even there yet

Made it clear you say? That’s not quite right. He admits at around 5:30 into this video that he was happy we didn’t have to use the preseason draft. Not I wouldn’t have come if I wasn’t traded. This narrative perpetuated by the apologists for Rawling is sickening. :stern look

ffs zondor, do you really think he's going to say the words: "I told my manager I wasn't going unless Richmond FD received the equivalent of 738 draft points, and otherwise I will take the contract Richmond offer me, just so BF posters don't have to read between the lines?" He makes it pretty clear everybody had to be happy, and he's not the first player to say a trade deal had to be agreeable to all parties

Beep, Beep, Beep! Is that a back pedal? Watch the video he says. Oh no don’t actually believe what he actually says in the video he now says. Your wizardry doesn’t work on me Merlins. :stern look

They’ll probably use our second rounder to bid on cooper.
We always play be these so called rules - while other clubs bend us over.
Our club has lost their balls and now some of our fans have followed suit.
Mate you are having a sook over a trade deal 4 weeks into said deal. Let's revisit this in a year or twos time when we might be able to deal in facts instead of opinion and hypotheses.

Ok shut this joint down for two years if we can’t have an opinion till then

No mate go for your life, I personally reckon 4 weeks into a trade is a tad premature to write it off and suggest the club has no idea/balls etc. I hope he justifies his price tag, and with nearly 4 years to run on this deal he does have time. Evidently not with half a dozen big footy supporters but c'est la vie

I think you can question the trade immediately if you don’t think it was the right move. Hey even if CCJ becomes a serviceable Footballer for us I will maintain we paid overs for him. Considering our draft hand. That’s my take. It’s OK to have a different take. That’s BigFooty. I still think that my take is the right take. And Nonna Francesca agrees with me. :stern look

The take away from that being your take differs to my correct take

No mate go for your life, I personally reckon 4 weeks into a trade is a tad premature to write it off and suggest the club has no idea/balls etc. I hope he justifies his price tag, and with nearly 4 years to run on this deal he does have time. Evidently not with half a dozen big footy supporters but c'est la vie
Don’t expect him to be braining them at afl level but should be having more impact and looking likely at vfl level.

LOL. You’re conveniently ignoring the fact that we also had to cough up our future 3rd to make the above happen. :stern look

That's true.

Those talking about '1 pick in the top 50' need to acknowledge that (very simplified) our future 3rd got us one of Curtis/Bergman.

But yeah the future 2nd.. :sick:

Player Watch #21: Callum Coleman-Jones - out for season after suffering Achilles rupture vs CFC on GoodFriday - go well CCJ