5th Ashes Test England v Australia July 27-31 1930hrs @ The Oval

Who will win?

The English cheated with that ball, end of story. They do this throughout the history of cricket, always have an always will. The lack fo sunlight and their poor diet means they're all sickly, weak individuals who need to rely on imports or cheating to win and this is what occured here. Enjoy the hollow victory England.. god can you imagine the celebrations. Crawley cracking a warm tin of beer open with a mangled tooth, Brooks putting a sickly thin arm into an esky to fish out a can of mushy peas. Root gawking in the corner. Embarassing.
Nailed it.

The ball was replaced on day 4 . A few overs bowled with it . No wickets fell so no gripe about it. I mean there was 16 hours before next days play to go find one . Next perfect bowling conditions day , 3 quick wickets fall . Then 130 run partnership then a 7 wicket collapse blamed on a ball .
It's brave of you to come out in public and tell the world you have no f**king clue like that. Kudos.

Its been an ongoing issue in county cricket etc with the new batch of Dukes as they go softer earlier and lose their shape much quicker than the older Duke balls, and the current thought in regards to the ball change is that it was one from the "old" batch of Dukes from 2019/2020, hence Uzzie noticing straight away the ball hitting harder than any new ball this series. England were aware of this hence the constant requests for changing the ball throughout the series, hoping they would luck in and get a ball from the older batch.

The issue here is they managed to get one in the last innings of the last test, which doesn't allow Australia to have a shot at them with the same standard of equipment and it greatly changed the trajectory of the game.
WTF? If this was an old Duke ball imagine the whingeing by the Poms lol. This is way worst than if it was just a newer ball of the same brand, it's one thing to loss a Test due to weather not controllable but due to incompetence which the umpire and official can control. The freaking ball was still swinging in the 70th over with a ball which was technically only 30 overs old and our batsmen eventually nicked them instead of missing them in the previous 30 overs.

The selective memory here is incredible. Australia were given a ball change multiple times across the series, the most notable of which was at Headingley where it was followed by a sharp increase in movement.
We aren't disputing you do get lucky with a ball replacement but none of them were this different in appearance and possibly even an older brand of Dukes ball, hence no-one noticed any of the ball change which has previously occurred this series but only this ball replacement. Are you still disputing there wasn't a major difference in the appearance lol.

I'm driving back to Adelaide tomorrow (spread over 3 days, for safety).

Many thanks to Gough for the threads and to the posters in here who made it all so interesting and such bloody good fun. Special mention to Gough, FreoGirl (you saucy minx) :winkv1:, Peter Bixley, kickazz , badgrill, Neese , Ishmael_ , BlueBayou, sherb, Slysh, DamoESP, philreich, King Elvis and many more :thumbsupv1::thumbsupv1:

To the aggravating, sulking, whining, supercilious and hypocritical Pommie :poov1: posters, I say:
THE ASHES ARE STILL WITH AUSTRALIA. Suck on that.

lol Wisden picks Bairstow over Carey in team of the Ashes. The blokes keeping cost them the series.

I would definitely pick Bairstow over Carey and it’s not even close. Carey had a shocking series with the bat and was only OK behind the stumps. You could legitimately argue that dropping Brook in the last test cost us the Ashes.

Bairstow had a solid batting series and his keeping improved in the last couple of tests, while Carey had an increasingly torrid time after the stumping at Lords. Next to Green, he was perhaps our most disappointing player.

I would definitely pick Bairstow over Carey and it’s not even close. Carey had a shocking series with the bat and was only OK behind the stumps. You could legitimately argue that dropping Brook in the last test cost us the Ashes.

Bairstow had a solid batting series and his keeping improved in the last couple of tests, while Carey had an increasingly torrid time after the stumping at Lords. Next to Green, he was perhaps our most disappointing player.
Cost us the series, not the Ashes though.

Bairstow was picked as a keeper. He kept like an amateur 3rd grade cricketer.

I'm driving back to Adelaide tomorrow (spread over 3 days, for safety).

Many thanks to Gough for the threads and to the posters in here who made it all so interesting and such bloody good fun. Special mention to Gough, FreoGirl (you saucy minx) :winkv1:, Peter Bixley, kickazz , badgrill, Neese , Ishmael_ , BlueBayou, sherb, Slysh, DamoESP, philreich, King Elvis and many more :thumbsupv1::thumbsupv1:

To the aggravating, sulking, whining, supercilious and hypocritical Pommie :poov1: posters, I say:
THE ASHES ARE STILL WITH AUSTRALIA. Suck on that.
Been great for discussion, banter with people from many different footy teams coming together on to the same side. There are certainly some funny buggers out there that kept us going at 3 in the morning.

We aren't disputing you do get lucky with a ball replacement but none of them were this different in appearance and possibly even an older brand of Dukes ball, hence no-one noticed any of the ball change which has previously occurred this series but only this ball replacement. Are you still disputing there wasn't a major difference in the appearance lol.
One of the dumb f*cks was on here trying to tell us the shine on the second ball was camera angles.

There hasn’t been anyone who has won a series in England playing for Australia since what, 2006?

The next generation and half the posters on this thread weren’t even born yet.

it’s remarkable how low Australia’s standards have fallen from being the best and wanting to win to accepting draws.

England has always been mediocre, yet Australia still can’t beat us away from their doctored pitches and balls.

Harsh but fair 🤣

Australia should be taking a dump on England

Probably bias but Australian fans have taken the ball situation much better than England the weather in Manchester.

Our players definitely have been better than the English players betters in respect to the two situations.

I don’t know about that. England were bitter that the weather cost them, and they carried on like pork chops from a fan perspective: the only real carry on as such from any players was the suggestion that they should play on for longer when the weather is good.

I don’t see that being much different from Khawaja(?) saying it should be looked into regarding the ball change process.

Just read through the amount of comments in this thread calling England cheats for using the ball the umpires gave them.

Bairstow cost them the first 2 games, come good the last 3 though.

The first definitely, the second not so much. You could argue the same of Carey in the last.

Remember too that two - not one - players stood idle as a Khawaja edge flew through the slips on the second morning at Edgbaston. So it wasn’t JUST Bairstow (who made 70 in that game) who cost them.

His keeping was awful, no argument at all, but blaming the entire result on him is harsh.

Both sides will feel they could have won the series outright so in that sense 2-2 feels right. Both teams will leave this series with regrets - Australia going 2-0 up and leaving with a drawn series will be a regret while England will rue leaving themselves a mountain to climb after Lord's and needing the weather to not spoil their hopes of winning a test which happened in the city most likely to do just that.

If you look at the 4 tests that saw a winner and a loser, there was a 2 wicket win for Australia, a 43 run for Australia, a 3 wicket for England and a 49 run win for England. While England were likely to win the Old Trafford test, the Manchester rain on day 5 of that test meant a highly compelling 3 hours or so weren't possible. This would indicate that we've witnessed a thrilling series but when Stuart Broad took the final wicket at the Oval, part of me thought ''thank goodness the series is over''.

The pettiness from England over a straightforward stumping was astounding. I put the blame for this at the feet of the two Kiwis running the show. The sight of two sides resorting to monotonous short pitched bowling wasn't pretty so too seeing what seemed like 7 fielders patrolling the boundary. Both countries are at fault for the poor overrates in this series. Lessening the financial punishment for slow overrates as Usman Khawaja has requested isn't likely to solve the problem.

Now unlike in the football codes, I don't get emotionally invested in the outcome of cricket matches I'm watching on TV. If team 'X' wins, so be it. If team 'Y' wins, so be it. However, this is the first English team in my time following cricket (2001 onwards) where I have found certain individuals in their team to be annoying. We've had the petulance of Baz, the double standards of Ben, the sooking from Root after Old Trafford and Ollie Robinson being flat out rude after he got Khawaja out at Edgbaston.

It has to be said though that Mark Wood and Chris Woakes played well and conducted themselves well too. They were an example for some of their mates to follow.

I don’t know about that. England were bitter that the weather cost them, and they carried on like pork chops from a fan perspective: the only real carry on as such from any players was the suggestion that they should play on for longer when the weather is good.

I don’t see that being much different from Khawaja(?) saying it should be looked into regarding the ball change process.

Just read through the amount of comments in this thread calling England cheats for using the ball the umpires gave them.
I think they asked for a ball change an absurd amount of times across the series - at least it felt that way. I was surprised the umpires allowed it, given how often they had to check the ball and confirm that it was fine.

I did the same - apparently there were massive issues with him at the Heat, as well.

Seems like a self-righteous prick.
He is a very divisive character. Always has been from the start of his career .

It's why I cant see him coaching England too long. They'll grow tired of it

I don’t need to.

He didn’t win the series. England did. He bowled ok in India and bowled well in Australia - and having watched the series you’ll know that the ball swing appreciably during that series.
Participated would have been a better word I should have used but 700 wickets is a fair few?

He is a very divisive character. Always has been from the start of his career .

It's why I cant see him coaching England too long. They'll grow tired of it
I’ve been away; presumably you are writabout McCallum; apparently there are are huge problems with Ponting at the Delhi Capitals and in Tasmania with his management of players and his constant whining about things not going his way or the teams.

5th Ashes Test England v Australia July 27-31 1930hrs @ The Oval