Autopsy AFL 2021 First Semi Final - Lions v Bulldogs Sat September 4th 7:20 EST (Gabba)

Who will win and by how much?

• Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 3 2.7%
  • Dogs by a goal or less

Votes: 8 7.1%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 30 26.5%
  • Dogs by 7 - 20

Votes: 46 40.7%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 12 10.6%
  • Dogs by a lot

Votes: 12 10.6%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.8%

Quality melt. Thank you.
Shut up idiot, i'll take great comfort from knowing that in only a couple of short weeks your scumbag club will no longer be reigning Premiers no matter who wins it.
You'll just be another memory that won some games once amongst a half century of **** all.
Hows that for a melt.

Tigers fans not exactly covering themselves in glory this finals series. Last night with all the Hocking BS, and tonight chirping in with potshots directed at the losers of an instant classic.

As much as I disagreed with some of the umpiring calls, I thought the Bulldogs played really good football tonight, and for the most part, their fans at the game were some of the more commendable opposition supporters of the team I was supporting I'd experienced. Can't say the same for the Richmond fans at the 2019 Qualifying Final who left a real sour taste in my mouth, which is a real shame given I do really like a number of Richmond posters on this site.

And I thought the bias umpiring in the Essendon final was blatant.
I don't know what McInerney did to give away that free in the dying minute of the game but it was something that wouldn't have been paid 9 times out of 10 and everyone defending the call knows it. I would've loved to seen the game go into overtime, I think both teams played excellently but when it comes down to a point, not even a scoring shot, just a clumsy drop that just happened to go over, that's not footy, that just leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Anyway, the Bulldogs won't be able to pull off that bullshit again in Adelaide, especially with the bont looking worse for wear by the end there.
He blocked English from competing for the ruck, it's shit, but it is the rule.

Assuming you are taking the piss here, an upward trending bombers side is 10 times more valuable to the afl in terms of dollars
Yeah he's taking the piss. The whole point is the AFL would have less interest in giving the Doggies a leg up than any other team except North and St Kilda. That's why the conspiracies are so funny

So in this scenario, where does the AFL stand with the GF with a potential 20K Port supporters ready to travel to Perth vs 0 from Doggies due to the Vic lockdown? From a commercial standpoint from airlines, hotels & hospitality which team would provide the best financial return to the AFL?
While that may be true, attendance is a 'micro' consideration.

The bulldogs are a paradigm shift, the broader impact from its narratives and tales of survival against all odds to the dazzling brand of football cannot be understated. The dogs simply have the ability to grow the game so much more which outweighs minor considerations like matchday attendance.

Your immediate thought is that this is a bunch of hogwash but the proof is in the pudding.

Shut up idiot, i'll take great comfort from knowing that in only a couple of short weeks your scumbag club will no longer be reigning Premiers no matter who wins it.
You'll just be another memory that won some games once amongst a half century of fu** all.
Hows that for a melt.
That was another excellent melt. You've topped even the meltiest Lions supporters in this thread who just watched their team lose a final by a point. Thank you.

While that may be true, attendance is a 'micro' consideration.

The bulldogs are a paradigm shift, the broader impact from its narratives and tales of survival against all odds to the dazzling brand of football cannot be understated. The dogs simply have the ability to grow the game so much more which outweighs minor considerations like matchday attendance.

Your immediate thought is that this is a bunch of hogwash but the proof is in the pudding.

dr-evil-right.gif

I am not angry at the Dogs or Dogs fans. I do want to know you are favoured so heavily in games though? I don't subscribe to conspiracies about AFL agendas etc, but it boggles the mind.

Tonight was absurd.

We wernt undisciplined, maybe a couple. There were SO MANY soft holding calls, unrewarded holding the balls, soft marking contest calls, that Oscar deliberate where he missed Robbo with a handpass by a foot that led to a shot on goal. The non rolling the ball on Mcrae, the block..

It was 100% the difference tonight. It is really ******* painful knowing all week you were going to get rorted by the umps and hoping you could overcome it, to then, predictably, fall short due to umpiring in a semi, is utterly devastating.

This isn't being salty, it was 1 point, and we were butchered by umpiring.

It ******* sucks.
And maybe you are just not good enough. How many home finals you going to blow? But keep deflecting.

You only got 4th due to the softest free kick given to McStay. Laughable.

Oh, I knew the post was sarcastic. I got a good chuckle out of it. Genuinely funny post.

That’s cool mate. Despite what you think about us Tigers supporters, I totally agree the umpires cost you the game tonight. And not a single one of the AFL chronies, so-called journalists, asked Fagan a question about umpiring at his press-conference after the game. Eerie silence by all…

Oh mate, don't get me wrong, I don't dislike Richmond fans. Like I said, really rate a number of Richmond posters on here - some of the funniest and wittiest posters on BF are Tiges fans.

Certainly not the first and won't be the last team that has had a number of its supporters not cover themselves in glory at one stage or another (my club included).

You'll just be another memory that won some games once amongst a half century of fu** all.
Hows that for a melt.

o you are going to be fun next week 😂

I reckon the umpires were going to award the game to Brisbane until they handed the Lions a shot on goal with that deliberate free against Daniel and Lachie Neale took the ball out of Charlie Cameron’s hands so he could butcher the shot instead. Neale shouldn’t have burned the umpires like that. They cracked it and decided to award it to us instead, since we know how to return their favours. Amateur stuff from Neale.

What, is that supposed to witty? reads like absolute garbage.

I am not angry at the Dogs or Dogs fans. I do want to know you are favoured so heavily in games though? I don't subscribe to conspiracies about AFL agendas etc, but it boggles the mind.

Tonight was absurd.

We wernt undisciplined, maybe a couple. There were SO MANY soft holding calls, unrewarded holding the balls, soft marking contest calls, that Oscar deliberate where he missed Robbo with a handpass by a foot that led to a shot on goal. The non rolling the ball on Mcrae, the block..

It was 100% the difference tonight. It is really ******* painful knowing all week you were going to get rorted by the umps and hoping you could overcome it, to then, predictably, fall short due to umpiring in a semi, is utterly devastating.

It ******* sucks.
Entirely blames umpires why a team on their home deck can't get over the line in a final. "Umpires were 100% the difference tonight." Fails to give a scrap of credit to the opposition and than at the end says "this isn't being salty." Classic Big Footy. Yada, yada, yada.

Tonight was absurd.

It ******* sucks.
I'd like to know the same thing. Their averfree kick differential is twice that of the next club

Entirely blames umpires why a team on their home deck can't get over the line in a final. "Umpires were 100% the difference tonight." Fails to give a scrap of credit to the opposition and than at the end "this isn't being salty." Classic Big Footy. Yada, yada, yada.

You were awesome, it was a fantastic game, arguably game of the year and you got there in the end.

Proud of both clubs for the show they put on.

However, there were about 10 crucial 50/50 calls that went againts us and when you are assessing the butchering we got at the hands of the umps - it is easy to walk away thinking 'the umpiring cost us a prelim'. It did.

Go have a read through any bigfooty/twitter/facebook/reddit forum right now, the entire country is in aggreance.

I actually think you are a better team, that aside we put ourselves in a position to win tonight and the umpires took it away from us. Whistle after whistle.

Don't be mad though, you got the rub of the green in the most unbelievable of ways, you get lucky some times - just take it and enjoy it. You don't need to defend the umpires poor performance.

Autopsy AFL 2021 First Semi Final - Lions v Bulldogs Sat September 4th 7:20 EST (Gabba)