Autopsy AFL 2023 Grand Final - Pies vs Lions Sat Sept 30th 2:30pm EST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 29 5.9%
  • Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 20 4.1%
  • Pies by 7-20

Votes: 116 23.6%
  • Lions by 7-20

Votes: 216 43.9%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 47 9.6%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 53 10.8%
  • Draw

Votes: 11 2.2%

Biggest ever comeback in a grand final at 3/4 is 24 points in 1984. They’d want to be a bit closer I’d reckon.
Maybe, but it's all mental. They'll both be knackered at that stage with the heat, in this scenario.
The crowd starts "Coooollingwoood, Coooollingwoood", get a quick goal or two, and tired Lions could try and save it, which won't end well if 20 points up with 15 minutes to go...

Collingwood are having more trouble kicking goals than Manchester United. Struggling to score again just won't cut it against Brisbane. Got away with 2 clubs shooting themselves in the foot to get to the GF. Melbourne against the Pies bumbled, fumbled, fell over, used the ball something horrid going into the F50, always out of position, kicked like a dog's hind leg at goal, having 25 shots to 15 but dumping 7 of those shots out on the full. Despite that they only lost by 7pts as the Pies struggled score.

Brisbane easy.
Rah rah ****8ng rah. How did that go for you flog?

Imagine how the game might have ended if Lachie Neale turned up before three quarter time.

Yeah it’s absolutely a boys club and the umpiring reflects that culture. Doesn’t have to be a full blown conspiracy to spot fix games but there’s a subconscious bias to push narratives. Would be interesting to see the difference in decisions if they picked WAFL or SANFL umpires, obviously they’d be of lesser quality but there wouldn’t be a bias either way

I watch some WAFL games including the finals and you never get the sense the WAFL umpires are favouring teams like the AFL umpires do.

They shouldn't be better umpires than the AFL but they are, they don't influence games or try to make themselves the centre of attention.

You mean like the 50 other times a game where a free is called and a team mate handballs or kicks it only to be called back? Or the fact it’s so loud the players likely didn’t even hear the whistle?

It’s about consistency. A fair call either way needs to be made. Anytime a team mate kicks it away it’s either player on, or it comes back.not half and half like it is now.

It’s complete interpretation and nonsense at the moment. 99% of time at any other point in the season that comes back. Why didn’t it? That’s what needs to be asked and answered.

Not collingwoods fault , why do you complain like pies supporters are umpiring

Feel for the lions, robbed of the chance to win late.
Congrats to the afl who got their wish.
If the ball is marked by a Brisbane player and it’s not called advantage are Brisbane robbed?

The call was right. The whole advantage thing is just a bit silly and needs to be looked at.

To all the critics trying to detract from the the win, by focusing on the free - please reflect of the the reality.
Namely, Coll we’re in control for the entire day, had 9 more scoring shots, out coached BNE, and nullified their stars.
Coll we’re the better team, as all sensible neutrals attest.
Your pettiness hides your clear lack of football knowledge, and insight.

And BTW Coll also won expected score!!!!!
And melbourne smashed collingwood too but just couldn't kick straight and pies fans said that bad kicking is bad football so you can't have it both ways when you guys kick poorly.

It’s just got worse….it’s the Daicos show now JFC

Hame with the cringey "it's the Daicos of our lives" after fawning all over them, if only he would piss off into the sunset like Gill is going to do

Look up the dictionary definition of 'conspiracy'.
“a secret plan by a group to do something unlawful or harmful.”

That’s just it - I don’t there’s a plot. Is it a conspiracy theory if I surmise that there’s currently a sentiment within my own club that prioritises doing enough over the ultimate goal of winning premierships? No - it’s just surmising about why people are doing a thing that ultimately impacts an on-field outcome. It would be a conspiracy theory if I thought there was an agreement between multiple people to deliberately lose games.

The inconsistency with head high free kicks is now a concern and as for the advantage rule that's always been dodgy so maybe this will make the AFL clean it up.

However the better team on the day did win and it was a fair result. It was a hard game to get into though, it felt more like a glorified home and away game and it lacked any memorable moments or highs.

Collingwood couldn't have played any better but the Lions will feel like they could have and they lacked composure unlike the Pies.

Also a shame Nick Daicos is already staging for free kicks because he is far too good to be doing it.

Autopsy AFL 2023 Grand Final - Pies vs Lions Sat Sept 30th 2:30pm EST (MCG)