Game Day AFL Round 19 - Matchday Discussion Richmond@Collingwood (MCG – 7:50PM)

It seems like it’s becoming a common theme, but Collingwood and Richmond are once again set up for another blockbuster game, with huge ramifications for both teams in regards to a coveted top four position in an ever crowded top eight. The two teams are coming into the game in wildly different forms. For the Magpies, there rejuvenation was short lived, as they were crushed by a stunning Giants side. For the Tigers, there season has come back to life, and have suddenly been thrust into premiership contention.

The last time these two sides met was back in round two. Collingwood dominated for pretty much the whole game, leading in every statistical category. De Goey was excellent for the Magpies, wile Dustin Martin struggled for the Tigers.

It was quite an opportunity wasted for Collingwood. Win against an undermanned Giants side, and the top four is pretty much a certainty. However, the Magpies were blown away by a hurricane in first quarter, with the Giants playing as good as football as any side has played this season. Flynn Appleby struggled against the tall Giants forward line, and the Collingwood midfield once again comes under further criticism, with the midfield really lacking cohesiveness especially on the defensive side of things. Despite a little cameo in the second quarter, Ben Crocker continued to struggle, and as a result was omitted from the side, in what will most likely be his final AFL game. The loss not only brought pressure on the players once again, but the pressure was once again compounded on Nathan Buckley, something he hasn’t really felt since round one of 2018. However, many are questioning whether 2018 was merely a fluke, drawing comparisons to Port Adelaide in 2014, or the Bulldogs in 2016. A win against Richmond can truly silence those critics, and halt any comparisons to those two teams.

The loss really puts the top four position in jeopardy for Collingwood, and a loss this week will most likely end their chances for that spot. If the Magpies are to beat the Tigers, they will need to regain that hunger they had against the Eagles. Last week, too many players looked disinterested, and it clearly showed on the scoreboard. The inside-50 will also be a point of concern for Nathan Buckley, with the team routinely losing the inside-50 count in the past month.

The man to watch for Collingwood is Mason Cox. While Cox is severely out of form, if there is one side he plays well against, it’s the Tigers. Cox averages six marks a game against the Tigers, the most of his against any team. The short Tigers backline presents a big opportunity for Cox to dominate, and kick his season back into the form the team so desperately needs.

Tigers supporters have made sure it’s no secret that Richmond’s season is back on track after a midseason derailment. The Tigers are on a four game winning streak, and have finally got a relatively clean slate of injuries. The revival of this Richmond outfit has seen punters flock to the Tigers, with the Tigers the second favorites for the Premiership, second only to Geelong. To add to their luck, Richmond will not leave the MCG for the foreseeable future, a point of contention among many other teams. Richmond are coming off a win against an uninspiring Port Adelaide team, who showed very little fight. Tom Lynch continued to benefit from the return of Jack Reiwoldt, while Dion Prestia was also very good.

A key stat that has shown the revival of Richmond is their ability to get their hands on the football. In their past four matches, the Tigers have won the disposal count by an average of 30 disposals. Last time the Tigers played against Collingwood, they were unable to get their hands on the football, with the Magpies effectively playing keepings off. If the Tigers can continue their disposal form, they will most likely beat Collingwood. To add to this, they have been not only more able to get the ball inside-50, but to also more effectively convert their chances when they get the ball inside-50, converting 31% of their inside-50’s into scores.

The man to watch for Richmond is David Astbury. Astbury is most likely going to take on Mason Cox. While Cox has the ability to garner attention from multiple opposition players, it will be important that Astbury is able to stop Cox’s run at the ball, something which Richmond has failed to do against Cox.

Head to Head odds

Collingwood: $2.45
Tigers: $1.58

Changes

Tigers

No Change

IN

Matthew Scharenberg, Jamie Elliott, Josh Thomas, Josh Daicos

OUT

Ben Crocker (Omitted), Brayden Sier (Injured), James Aish (Injured), Flynn Appleby (Omitted)

TV

Live on Channel Seven, National
Live on Fox Footy, Commercial Free

Radio

Triple M
3AW
ABC
SEN

IPTV

AFL Live Pass
Foxtel Now
WatchAFL
Kayo Sports

The run home…

So, it’s the pointy end of the season, and it’s necessary to see what a loss or win means for Collingwood. The ladder predictor will assume that all the other favorites win.

If Collingwood wins...

Collingwood remains fourth.

If Collingwood loses...

They go down to sixth.

Tip

This game has me conflicted. Richmond fans are very overconfident going into this game, giving me flashbacks to that preliminary final. And while Collingwood has showed good form against the Tigers in their past two outings, they are simply a level below, and will suffer a critical loss.

Tigers by 25.

Bucks called it a final. Great test of who holds up better in finals footy.
WHE I thought played his best game in months swung into defense. I'd try him on Lynch or Riewold. FAiling that maybe Mihocek. Not too confident about Howe on Lynch but could surprise us. Obvioulsy there's a risk that Darcy absence could cost us the game.

Changes from our round 2 game.

Collingwood.
Out: Moore (15 disposals, 4 marks), Beams (36 disposals, 9 marks), Stephenson (17 disposals, 9 marks, 2 goals), Langdon (19 disposals, 9 marks), Aish (23 disposals, 8 marks), Greenwood (20 disposals, 5 marks)

In: Scharenberg, Adams, Hoskin-Elliott, Brown, Daicos, Quaynor

Richmond.
Out: Markov, McIntosh, Butler, Nankervis, Higgins, Weller
In: Houli, Bolton, Stack, Soldo, Baker, Chol

Nice fresh thread.
Ripe for the taking. Watch as the hijackers move in and turn this into some sort of shittful fest...

It is a final. Win and we are contenders, lose and we are anyone's bunny. Season on the line in this match. Yeah, sure, just another week. Reality is this mob wants and needs to avenge the last two significant defeats. Beat em now and we not only secure our finals chances, we rub a key oppositions nose into the ground. If there has ever been a match to win over the last few years this is it. Definitely a final for us.

I expect a win. And what a win it will be. If we win this convincingly (12 points in a low scoring affair) it will be seen as the inflexion point for our long-awaited Flag.

And it will again crush the spirit of the poor Tiggers and their supporters who are again getting ahead of themselves. What a start to a weekend.

I’ll be having 6 hot jam donuts around 10:38pm tonight near Gate 2 to celebrate, and no-one else is getting a bite. I’ll buy you 6 if you see me, but I’m not sharing my 6. Understood?

Now where were we? Oh yes. Go Pies. Nail the scum.

Good ins, but a shame Sier is injured.
Overall they seem to make the side look a lot better.

As others have suggested, I would rotate Thomas through the middle in the absence of Sier. Brown to get a bit of time in there too.

Midfield battle will be huge - Grundy, Pendles, Adams, Treloar & Sidebottom vs Soldo, Cotchin, Martin, Prestia & Lambert.

Happy to see the forward line resemble that of last year (Elliott in exchange for Stevo). Hopefully they can find some of that form from last year.

Backline resembles the structure of last year with all of the injuries we have sustained. Moore was out when we played Richmond in the prelim last year so we have proven we can match up ok without him in there.

Goldsack and Langdon were in there last year, this game we have Roughead and Sharenberg. Roughead better suited to the KPP post.

Crisp to stay in defence tonight alongside Maynard and Quaynor to match up on the smalls.

Wouldn’t be surprised if we see Mayne in a defensive role on one of their half back like Edwards/Houli/ Vlastuin.

Overall, the side looks pretty good on paper and if they all have a crack are definitely good enough to topple Richmond.

How I see us lining up:

B - Quaynor Roughead Sharenberg
HB - Maynard Howe Crisp
C - Phillips Pendlebury Sidebottom
HF - WHE Mihochek Varcoe
F - DeGoey Cox Elliott
R - Grundy Adams Treloar
INT - Mayne Thomas Brown Daicos

Where have l read that.
What else is there, who would you have selected
It’s a general comment, our predicament is not the best...I’m not sure we have much else at the moment. I would have preferred Goldsack in to set a bit of standard and to lead by example with his selfless play.

We have lacked character in the last few months. We have not brought in character or match winners. Elliot is cooked.

Geez, going in with low expectations again. The side just isn’t clicking consistently lately but hopefully this week it’s the side that turned up against the Eagles 2 weeks ago.
Look for a response after the gory start to last weeks game.
Oh how much joy it would give me to knock of those feral tigers tonight!

Good ins, but a shame Sier is injured.
Overall they seem to make the side look a lot better.

As others have suggested, I would rotate Thomas through the middle in the absence of Sier. Brown to get a bit of time in there too.

Midfield battle will be huge - Grundy, Pendles, Adams, Treloar & Sidebottom vs Soldo, Cotchin, Martin, Prestia & Lambert.

Happy to see the forward line resemble that of last year (Elliott in exchange for Stevo). Hopefully they can find some of that form from last year.

Backline resembles the structure of last year with all of the injuries we have sustained. Moore was out when we played Richmond in the prelim last year so we have proven we can match up ok without him in there.

Goldsack and Langdon were in there last year, this game we have Roughead and Sharenberg. Roughead better suited to the KPP post.

Crisp to stay in defence tonight alongside Maynard and Quaynor to match up on the smalls.

Wouldn’t be surprised if we see Mayne in a defensive role on one of their half back like Edwards/Houli/ Vlastuin.

Overall, the side looks pretty good on paper and if they all have a crack are definitely good enough to topple Richmond.

How I see us lining up:

B - Quaynor Roughead Sharenberg
HB - Maynard Howe Crisp
C - Phillips Pendlebury Sidebottom
HF - WHE Mihochek Varcoe
F - DeGoey Cox Elliott
R - Grundy Adams Treloar
INT - Mayne Thomas Brown Daicos

I agree. The 22 looks more competitive on paper. My only concern is the size on our bench. Thomas, Brown, Daicos leaves us really small. Not sure we had too many alternatives though. Wills maybe but his pace is an issue against Richmond.

I’m sick of sooking it up about our injuries, and how our season is done.
Gonna be a bit positive.

So I’ve concentrated on how to beat them tigers.

Mayne plays on Houli. If he has a quiet game, it’ll go a long way to us winning.

Cox is the decoy. I believe they’ll be blocking him and not letting him get a run and jump at the ball. In typical Richmond style, they’ll be too Cox conscious.

Mihocek and WHE will need to lead away from the congestion as they will have a lot of space.

Brown and Daicos at the feet of Cox.

Our midfield need to dominate. De Goey & Crisp should be rotating through. Crisp will play his best game for the club tonight.

I believe tonight is the night De Goey develops into De Gody. He’ll be lined up on chopsticks, and he’s gonna rip him a new one.

Howe will sit pretty on Dusty when he goes forward.

Prefer if our defenders punch rather than mark.

Think the rain helps us. It should force Pendles, Sidebottom and JT to get their hands properly dirty.

Grundy will be licking his lips. Soldo and Chol are gonna experience a proper smacking tonight. Grundy will kick a goal.

The rain will get progressively worse. So a big lead at the end of the first half would be ideal, as we can then keep the Tigers at bay.

Pies by 29.

Let’s fknnnnnnnmmm get it!!!

Last quarter v WCE 30 tackles, first quarter v Tigers 30 tackles please.
Just like the West Coast game I feel we will rise to the occasion. Swoop season to begin one week early. Go Pies!!!!!

I expect a win. And what a win it will be. If we win this convincingly (12 points in a low scoring affair) it will be seen as the inflexion point for our long-awaited Flag.

And it will again crush the spirit of the poor Tiggers and their supporters who are again getting ahead of themselves. What a start to a weekend.

I’ll be having 6 hot jam donuts around 10:38pm tonight near Gate 2 to celebrate, and no-one else is getting a bite. I’ll buy you 6 if you see me, but I’m not sharing my 6. Understood?

Now where were we? Oh yes. Go Pies. Nail the scum.

Nice post! I well remember having 2 hot jam donuts from van outside Vic Park if we lost and 4 if we won! Apparently there's good hot jam donuts somewhere in Footscray? - bit far to travel. Trying to keep weight respectable nowadays! Snack more likely to be avo on a corn crispbread :(
Go Pies - get some respect and pride back tonight!

PS - maybe good jam donuts at Sth Melb and Vic Mkts?