Preview AFL Round 8 - Collingwood v Geelong - MCG - Friday 18/5 7.50 pm

Re: Changes and Chat for RD 9 vs Cats

Must win game, not only to keep improving our standing on the ladder but to derail Geelongs season even further. This'll show how much the boys are hurting from last years Grand Final, I want to see some real intensity.

Re: Changes and Chat for RD 8 vs Cats

Errrrm, we lost to them twice before the GF last year. We would have wanted to lift then.

Yeah but a GF loss does more to you emotionally then 2 season games look at Geelong after the 2008 GF

There was one game this year where he just went nuts (vs Hawthorn I think) and got concussed what seemed like about 3 times, and had his head bandaged and was bleeding almost non stop, it was just crazy stuff.

But that's what happens when you lead with the head, and are not actually concerned at all for your safety.

I've seen some crazy courageous players in my time, Gavin Brown comes to mind, but no one as kamikaze as him, someone has to tell him to turn the body a bit, because his head first attacking technique will lead to major life long problems.

Brain damage is already on the cards, really wish he would stop for his sake.

TheNumber13 you are a wonderful human being for taking the time and effort to put up something I would love to see. Thank you from those of us without Foxtel.

Thanks mate, no worries :thumbsu:

Does anyone know if the AFL has made this a ticketed game, thus you need to book a reserve seat?

Was hoping to just use my membership and seat anywhere in the public seating.

Re: AFL Rd 8 - Collingwood v Geelong - MCG - Friday 18/5 7.50 pm

INS: Jolly, Thomas, Dawes, Fasolo
OUTS: Wood, Yagmoor, Brown, Seedsman

B - Toovey Keeffe Maxwell
HB - O'Brien Reid Shaw
C - Clarke Swan Sidebottom
HF - Thomas Cloke Wellingham
F - Didak Dawes Goldsack
R - Jolly Beams Pendlebury
INT - Blair Buckley Sinclair
SUB - Fasolo

Lonergan will probably go to Cloke after last year's GF. Hopefully Reid can take Hawkins, Keeffe has performed admirably all year so he might go to Pods. Harry has done well on Stevie J in the past so might go to him, he is starting to get a little bit of form back.

Also heard on Game Day this morning Scarlett might not be back? If he is then Goldsack the obvious matchup.

Agree that the timing was bad with Browny going down but hopefully he's not out for too long. Anyone know how far away Tarrant is?

goldy must man up scarlett and some one has to be tight on enright. enright cant be left alone rackking up possis at free will

As Matty said a few pages back Geelong will be really breathing fire on Friday night.

They have been belittled by the media - especially their desire/hunger and how poor they have been regarding contested possies.

We will have to look at cutting supply by the likes of Enright and Mackie - Sinclair/Clarke could be given a run with role on either of those two.

I think we can match them in the mids this time around as both sides run fairly deep. Swanny will appreciate that Lingy is now on the side lines commentating - although i'm sure he would have wanted to lock horns with the old Cat a couple more times this year.

I guess the two mids will go head to head, rather than tag - Swan, Pendles and Beams vs Selwood, Bartel and Kelly wil make for fantastic viewing. The "support" acts - Sidebottom, Wellers, Blair and Thomas vs Chappy, Corey, Christensen (if fit) and StevieJ. Plenty of talent there at Geelong to worry us.

The last thing i want to see is wave after wave of free Geelong players running unchecked through the corridor - please boys!

The return of Daisy will be great.

Lonergan likely to get Cloke and Dawes to return will get HarryT.

If we can win this - it could go a long way to keeping the Cats in the lower reaches of the 8, making another flag an impossibility for them - massive game here for both clubs.

I woudn't bring Jolly or Dawes in.

Keep our forward line small and mobile.

In: Thomas, Williams/Ugle

Out: Brown, Seedsman/Yagmoore

I suspect Geelong will win, not because of form or anything, but simply because Geelong don't lose twice in a row. That's it. Basing it on nothing else.

The weather may dictate final selection for this game also.

If it's dry as is being predicted (rain on Saturday predicted though) Dawes comes in, but if it turns out to be wet, then a smaller player like Ugle may come in, and Dawes may be given a run in the VFL (I don't want to see that happen though).

Jolly, if he's anywhere near fit has to play, Wood will get slaughtered by West around the ground, where at least Jolly can try and make West accountable at times, and Jols also is better at getting back and helping our defense out, and is also more dangerous going forward. Ok, let's face it, he's simply a much better player then Wood.

This isn't the week to be playing debutantes though, I'd leave Williams till the Suns game, it's too big of a jump to go from playing VFL to playing your first game against the reigning premiers, who still are the most physical side in football.

I was thinking that too but Williams might give something different the cats have not seen yet. Malthouse use to do it.

OUTS: Wood, Blair, Brown, Yagmoor/Seedsman

HB - O'Brien Reid Shaw
F - Didak Dawes Goldsack
INT - Yagmoor Buckley Sinclair
SUB - Fasolo

I thought Blair was very ordinary the other night, send him back to the VFL for a week. :thumbsdown:

This will be a tough match But they are under much more pressure than we are their form has also been very patchy if they lose I don,t think they will make the top 4 a lot of sides these day,s are running them close.

The competition this year is very hot closely contested and I don,t think anyone will be winning 20 or 21 matches one thing Geelong won,t be able to do
this year is rest it,s older players and this will hurt them come the end of the season.

The Cats will come out really hard against us because they have to if they lose they are 4&4 and looking right down the barrel,it might be a cliche but I think their season hinges on this match and I am not sure our does.

I was thinking that too but Williams might give something different the cats have not seen yet. Malthouse use to do it.
This might be a bit left field but the one who would really worry the Cats is Mooney with his pace it is actually going worry a few teams but more so Geelong,Williams is going to be a ripper bookmark it.:thumbsu:

Pull the other one! He had the most tackles of any Collingwood player and had over 20 possessions. There's no way that the likes of Yagmoor and Fasolo deserve a game in front of him :thumbsdown:

Rubbish Scodog10!

His Disposal Efficiency was 57%, he made some terrible errors.

Fasolo is a better player for starters.

Not saying they have to keep Yagmoor in......

Seeing that they're being cautious with players I expect the Fas to have another week off.

Rubbish Scodog10!

His Disposal Efficiency was 57%, he made some terrible errors.

Fasolo is a better player for starters.

Not saying they have to keep Yagmoor in......

Fasolo is not better than Blair. He's averaging less tackles, possessions, clearances, contested possessions, 15 less supercoach points and throughout the season is tracking worse DE wise. Fasolo will be the better of the two, but he isn't yet.

You named Yagmoor on the interchange so I'm confused when you say that about him yet have Blair out of the line up.

I suspect Geelong will win, not because of form or anything, but simply because Geelong don't lose twice in a row. That's it. Basing it on nothing else.

They lost two in a row last year.

They have played one good game so far this year, and that was against the rabble that we beat by 10 goals on Saturday. If the Lions had kicked better than 4.17 we may have seen a different scoreline.

Confident we will win:thumbsu:

OUTS: Wood, Blair, Brown, Yagmoor/Seedsman

HB - O'Brien Reid Shaw
F - Didak Dawes Goldsack
INT - Yagmoor Buckley Sinclair
SUB - Fasolo

I thought Blair was very ordinary the other night, send him back to the VFL for a week. :thumbsdown:

No way should Blair go back to the VFL, he's a first 22 player in his first game back for a while!

Also would love to see Williams debut but I agree this weekend is not the right time for it, Suns match is.

IN: Jolly, Thomas, Dawes
OUT: Wood, Brown, Yagmoor

Bring Jols back for this one and then play both Wood and Jolly in the Suns match. If Dawes hasn't recovered, obviously keep Wood in. Should rest Fasolo for another week, wasn't in great form. Seedsman has more a 'feel' for it than Yagmoor. Daisy back in.

They lost two in a row last year.

They have played one good game so far this year, and that was against the rabble that we beat by 10 goals on Saturday. If the Lions had kicked better than 4.17 we may have seen a different scoreline.

Confident we will win:thumbsu:

So the Hawthorn game wasn't a good game?

You don't have to be miles ahead of the opposition to be in good form.

Blair to the reserves? HA!

Some supporters with a very short term memory around here. Blair would have been top 5 in the Copeland after the Anzac Day game and was coming off an injury against Brisbane. Certainly didn't play a bad game either on the weekend.

Preview AFL Round 8 - Collingwood v Geelong - MCG - Friday 18/5 7.50 pm