B - Toovey Keeffe Maxwell
HB - O'Brien Reid Shaw
C - Clarke Swan Sidebottom
HF - Thomas Cloke Wellingham
F - Didak Dawes Goldsack
R - Jolly Beams Pendlebury
INT - Yagmoor Buckley Sinclair
SUB - Fasolo

I thought Blair was very ordinary the other night, send him back to the VFL for a week. :thumbsdown:

It's scary to think there are supporters that think this way. With out Ball, Blair is incredibly important to our team. He tackles and is good aorund stoppages, he can move forward and kick goals and his disposal is normally pretty reliable. I have a feeling that he will be fired up to have a big one against the Cats too after last years GF. Most of the time when we have played big games in the past, guys like Blair haven't had much of a chance to get into the game through the midfield, but now he has his opportunity.

Just on your team, we have an underdone Thomas to go with Pendles, Sidebottom, Beams, Swan, Wellingham and possibly Shaw and Clarke to run through the midfield.
We actually need more players in the midfield rotation. I am not sure Dids is up to it yet, and guys like Sinclair, Buckley, Yagmoor, Seedsman and Fasolo do not look like being able to contribute solidly in the midfield at this stage for various reasons. Blair is a huge upgrade in the midfield on those guys, especially when Geelong is going to be fired up to win the contested ball.

I am going to assume that Jolly is fit.

In: Jolly, Dawes, Thomas, Fasolo
Out: Wood, Yagmoor, Seedsman, Brown

I am not too bothered bringing in 4 players as it is a 6 day turnaround and we will probably need the fresh legs.

B: Toovey, Keefe, Maxwell
HB: O'Brien, Reid, Clarke
C: Shaw, Pendlebury, Thomas
HF: Sidebottom, Cloke, Sinclair
F: Blair, Dawes, Wellingham
R: Jolly, Beams, Swan

I: Goldsack, Didak, Buckley sub: Fasolo

Re: AFL Rd 8 - Collingwood v Geelong - MCG - Friday 18/5 7.50 pm

Personally i don't like Blair. Each to there own.
You may be right about his average/poor performance due to a week layoff and injury.

I'd like to see the young blokes get more than just 1 game, give them 2-3 in a row and then a rest.....with our injury toll its good to have a handful of kids with experience under their belt.

I thought Blair may have played in the VFL last week due to an injury comeback, but he got a game.

I can't see him, Sinclair, Didak and Fasolo in the same side. :confused:

Is anyone else feeling really nervous/ excited already about Friday night.

Massive game as its the first real contender we have played since blues ( don't rate bombers yet). If we lose, it means we haven't improved from last year. We win and it really hurts one of our main rivals.

Any advice how to get through the next 4 days. Might need a few drinks

Massive game as its the first real contender we have played since blues ( don't rate bombers yet). If we lose, it means we haven't improved from last year. We win and it really hurts one of our main rivals.

I will be nervous on Friday leading into the game, but no need to get too worked up yet.

It is a massive game for us, to go 6-2 and at the same time put our greatest threat down to 4-4 is a massive coup for us, we simply need this win.

Plus if we win we can almost afford to lose to Adelaide next week with the Suns and Dees to finish off our first half of the season before the bye.

I'll take any winning margin this week, don't care how close it is, or how impressive we look winning it, I just want a win over these arrogant bastards.

I will be nervous on Friday leading into the game, but no need to get too worked up yet.

It is a massive game for us, to go 6-2 and at the same time put our greatest threat down to 4-4 is a massive coup for us, we simply need this win.

Plus if we win we can almost afford to lose to Adelaide next week with the Suns and Dees to finish off our first half of the season before the bye.

I'll take any winning margin this week, don't care how close it is, or how impressive we look winning it, I just want a win over these arrogant bastards.

My thoughts exactly:thumbsu:
Win this and the Adelaide game is almost a bonus.

To say this is a massive game is an understatement at it's peak.

To win would set up the rest of the season, the amount of confidence that will be gained would be like gold to a begger.

I know it sounds greedy but i would love us to beat cats and crows. Sets up our season perfectly especially with our tough run home.

Win the next two and i reckon we have a top 4 spot

Any advice how to get through the next 4 days. Might need a few drinks

I can tell you I'm excited. Plane touches down Friday afternoon, all the way from Europe. Been away for near on 3 years - and I'm heading straight to the MCG. First game since Queen's Birthday 2009. Someone say jetlag? What jetlag?

Try to get as much sunshine as you can on Friday arvo - it'll help (as hard as that is to do in Melbourne in May)

The club circulated an email saying tickets are selling fast and suggested to prepurchase tickets.

Enjoy, and hope the team give you a good welcome home on Friday night :)

Winning on Friday definitely sets up our season, so we really need to go all out, because we have Adelaide in Adelaide the week after which I've pencilled in as a loss. But 6-3 is nowhere near as bad as 5-4.

Boys need to go and go hard because you KNOW Geelong will after their pasting in the media.

Really shitty week to be taking on Geelong so I hope Bucks and the boys are ready for a streetfight.

Winning on Friday definitely sets up our season, so we really need to go all out, because we have Adelaide in Adelaide the week after which I've pencilled in as a loss. But 6-3 is nowhere near as bad as 5-4.

Boys need to go and go hard because you KNOW Geelong will after their pasting in the media.

Really shitty week to be taking on Geelong so I hope Bucks and the boys are ready for a streetfight.

I dont know Ed, Geelong have not been winning the contested footy so i am hoping they continue that pattern on Friday :D

On Adelaide i think they will have a tough game against Carlton then face us a week later without Walker so not sure how you can pencil that in as loss already :confused:

I dont know Ed, Geelong have not been winning the contested footy so i am hoping they continue that pattern on Friday :D

On Adelaide i think they will have a tough game against Carlton then face us a week later without Walker so not sure how you can pencil that in as loss already :confused:

I reckon walker will play

He is gone for 2 weeks as he had carryover points and he will not beat the charge,is he even contesting it?.

No there would be no point in contesting it.

Dont we play at home next week agaInst Adelaide? Lol. Can't remember the last time we lost there!!! We love adelaide!!

Was going to say the same thing!

I seriously can't remember the last time we lost over there. We have been known to play very well at AAMI, where as Geelong have historically struggled. I think we are all overrating Adelaide at the moment and still think winning the next two games is a major possibility.

If, and I mean IF, we can go 7-2, I'd say we are a huge chance this year.

Friday nights game is certainly going to set up the season for either side - I have a feeling this may be one epic game!!

I wanna smash these arrogant pricks. Forget about what the win loss record will look like after Friday this is all about pride! Pride in yourself, your teammates and most importantly the jumper. They beat up on us all last year and we have to make amends for that and even though a win will only be one small step it'll be the first major one on the way to the inevitable, a magpies premiership in 2012!

They'll be up and about early thanks to all this week's negative press so we need to exploit their major weakness winning the contested ball and then spread like bats out of hell.

In: Dawes and Thomas
Out: Brown and Yagmoor

They won't be able to stop the fab 5 (Pendles, Swan, Thomas, Beams and Sidebottom) who'll be ably supported by a crack support cast in Wellingham, Clarke, Shaw, Didak and Blair.

Rd 20 2011: def Port by 138
Rd 15 2010: def Port by 26
Rd 19 2009: def Adel by 21
EF 2008: def Adel by 31
Rd 20 2008: def Port by 31
Rd 6 2007: def Adel by 24

You have to go back to 2006 when we lost by less than a goal and Hentschel marked it between his knees late in the last qtr in front of goal.

Anyway, weren't Brisbane meant to come out and play better on the weekend after their showing against Essendon? They said in the week they will be out to get a scalp and look what happened. I don't buy into teams not losing two in a row, yes Geelong are better than the Lions but they have not won the contested ball all year.

Too old, too slow, no Ablett.;):D

How are they going to stop swan, someone please tell me, he will rip them to shreads, no lingy this year.
and cloke will poo on taylor and lonergan.
Fatty hawkins will play shit, Beams always plays well agaisnt the scats.
ohh boy im pumped, carn the woods!

Their biggest losses will be Ottens and Ling, both who used to play absolute blinders against us.

Over their careers, I reckon Lingy had the wood on Swanny overall (very close), and if they decide to play a tag on him this year, it will just take the effect of say a Kelly away from their midfield.

I'm just hoping Tommy Hawkins doesnt have another day out again. That performance in the GF last year will haunt my dreams for years. :p

The cats are dreamin if they think kelly could run with swan haha noo just noo cats.
There midfield seems slow without travis darko.
Duckwood will be getting plenty of frees:thumbsdown:.
Daisy will come out red hot, like blazing hot, im talking like bursting through packs, and he;ll be kamikaze like, just you watch.

Toovey Reid Shaw
Maxwell Keeffe O'Brien

Jolly Pendlebury Swan
Clarke Sidebottom Beams

Goldsack Dawes Wellingham
Sinclair Cloke Didak

Thomas Blair Buckley Fasolo (s)

If we are conservative with Fasolo which I suspect we will, Young in as the sub. Want stronger bodies against Geelong rather than our weedier players like Seedy etc

Preview AFL Round 8 - Collingwood v Geelong - MCG - Friday 18/5 7.50 pm