AFLW AFLW Season 6, Mega Thread

Sarah Black has done a phantom of top 20 picks.

If things pan out that way for Geelong we'll have done really well - I'm really hoping we get Ella Friend to complement Prespakis, I like the idea of little Poppy Schaap running riot up forward too.

After reading that .... I cant help but wonder... can we keep the girls we draft. Whats the odds that she wants to play with her sister at Carlton?

She has playing links with Essendon, and her best mate plays for St Kilda - sister plays for Carlton obviously - Essendon is the muttering.

Still, what do you do? She is the clear best available talent - we may well lose her for nothing when Essendon comes into the AFLW.

My feeling is that if we're fair dinkum then we've got to back ourselves in to present an attractive footy career proposition for young women willing to commit to the club.

She has playing links with Essendon, and her best mate plays for St Kilda - sister plays for Carlton obviously - Essendon is the muttering.

Still, what do you do? She is the clear best available talent - we may well lose her for nothing when Essendon comes into the AFLW.

My feeling is that if we're fair dinkum then we've got to back ourselves in to present an attractive footy career proposition for young women willing to commit to the club.

Its a microcosm of GC situation. I fear our ability to hold melb players if we are not competitive while its a part time comp. What the alternative? I have no solution but I see the W as a disprortiate mix of the old VFL with modern day expectations. I dont see any hesitancy for W players to move, maybe even the opposite.

I'd say we need an academy with the ability to develop talent that we get priority to pick from..Once the comp becomes more finacial , I suspect it will suit us better.

They said it starts at 6:45, so I assumed it meant that's when the selections would start and not just the boring chit chat

Wrong!

But the good news is

We Got GEORGIE!!

Georgie Prespakis, just being interviewed right now and introduced to our new coach (ermm, who's name I've forgotten) and she seems very content to come to the Cattery

Click on her name in this post for some highlights of Georgie's time with the Calder Cannons.

We missed out on her sister Maddie in 2018; Maddie promptly went on to win the AFLW rising star award in her 1st season and then the league MVP the following year.

St Kilda take Ella Friend, I thought she looked the 2nd best player in the Vic pool after Charlie Rowbottom went to Gold Coast, but there were a few saying that she might fall through to us - unfortunately not.

I think we might get Tess Craven with our next pick maybe ..

They're zipping through these selections, no mucking about, I like it - the men's draft is an absolute snooze fest by comparison.

with our 2nd selection we select

Zali Friswell ?!

wow - have not heard her name brought up in any phantom draft whatsoever, huge bolter!
I'm speechless; I have no speech.

They're zipping through these selections, no mucking about, I like it - the men's draft is an absolute snooze fest by comparison.

with our 2nd selection we select

Zali Friswell ?!

wow - have not heard her name brought up in any phantom draft whatsoever, huge bolter!
I'm speechless; I have no speech.
I was coming to ask if anyone knows anything about her

I don't that's for sure - will have to do some research!

Featherston an interesting selection too for that matter, perhaps less of a bolter but regardless I didn't see anyone rating her in the top dozen players - still, she definitely has plenty of upside.

I think that's us done

1. Gold Coast - Charlie Rowbottom - Oakleigh Chargers
2. Geelong - Georgie Prespakis - Calder Cannons
3. West Coast - Charlotte Thomas - Subiaco
4. St Kilda - Ella Friend - Greater Western Victoria Rebels
5. Richmond - Stella Reid - Oakleigh Chargers
6. Gold Coast - Teagan Levi - Bond University
7. Geelong - Zali Friswell - Calder Cannons
8. Gold Coast - Ashanti Bush - Hawthorn
9. Geelong - Gabbi Featherston - Geelong Falcons
10. Carlton - Annie Lee - Geelong Falcons