Aker an Asset

The White Tiger

Jun 12, 2006
Get Akermanis to Richmond. Experience like his is rare. Regardless of his opinions the guy is a champion and is a proven big game player.

Read the article on the Sun website, "Aker, i'd be a star recruit". Sydney just won a flag with other teams rejects, i.e Hall, Williams. Aker has invaluable experience to pass onto the young guys and a good three years left in him. Football is all about decision making and there are not too many better on a football field than Aker, FACT! Brownie doesn't want him coz he might steal some of his spotlight.

The Dice Man said:
Didnt you post yesterday how much you wanted Gardiner at the Tiges too?

Im sure we can squeeze Laurence Angwin into the squad too.. And if we trade Deledio we'd have plenty of room for Anthony Banik .. I hear he's playing good footy at Cumbuckawest 7ths.

whattha?

The White Tiger said:
Get Akermanis to Richmond. Experience like his is rare. Regardless of his opinions the guy is a champion and is a proven big game player.

and with Gardiner as well Im sure that would be a terrific base to work toward a premiereship.....c'mon white tiger, I'm inclined to stick to the swans proven "No di_ckhead policy" which effectivley rules this pair OUT:thumbsdown:

The fact he Speaks his mind is not the issue.

We have kids and finally are seeing the benefits of a youth policy when it comed to recruiting.

He's a great player and will serve whatever club he goes to well.

both browny and wallace have already said they don't want him. he would be great for us, but we would have to give up too much to get him.

Aker is a champ. Good luck to him wherever he goes.
Loved watching him play over the years and his antics haven't changed, except this year Brisbane need a scapegoat for their performance and he's it.
Would have luved him at Richmond, but not now. Be only good for a team in a position to win a premiership and we're not there yet.

The White Tiger said:

Listen to my wisdom, as I am only going to sat this once.

You seem to think we are a very good side, we are not. In fact we are average. We have some good young kids comming though and are on the right track but we are very much in rebuilding mode, not ready to top up and have a go at the flag.

Aka would be a fantastic player for a Saint Kilda or Melbourne who is ready to 'top up' and have a real crack at the flag over the next couple seasons.

We are not in that postion. You seem to think we are because you overrate us.

Take those glasses off again or else us finshing 9th again (or lower) is going to come as a big shock.

Was anybody suprised that Browny made the statement he did about Aker on the footy show?

I know he was goaded by gutless 'I wont say anything' Gary Lyon to try and keep the show rating but I think Wallace would have wished Brown took a leaf out of Hirds book

Players making statements about who they think should be at the club is out of thier jurisdiction. I know he was honest and therefore worth listening to unlike Hird who knew that he couldnt say anything and just gave the easy answer, but I would have thought the club would have cringed at a player coming out and putting a potential hurdle in getting Aker to the club at the clubs doorstep.

Aker will have his choice and Browny may have killed our chances. Whether you are happy about that or not he shouldnt have made the call.

Leave Gary 'Im paid heaps to be a Channel 9 muppet' to make the big statements. He is on the big money. dont let him put the need for the show to be controversial on you, thats his job.

The White Tiger said:
I agree that Aker would be great at Richmond, but it would be the wrong decision for us. We would need to invest too many resources for a short term gain and that's not the direction we are heading.

As for Aker being a loose cannon, I think that is largely a load of bullgeisch invented by Leigh Matthews. He's played for Brisbane for less than he could have made elsewhere (as he's happy to tell anyone that will listen :D ) and has made up for it with media jobs. He speaks his mind which is a refreshing thing in football, and he's been playing some good footy lately. Matthews is the one who should be copping it for bringing football into disrepute by trying to manipulate the media by conrolling what Aker talks about. Aker may have come close to crossing the line once or twice with team secrets, but mostly what Matthews has been complaining about is Aker simply expressing his opinions. Unfotunately with one premiership under his belt Paul Roos is becoming the same type of miserable ******** as Matthews and Malthouse who sook and winge if anything other than rosy stories are printed about their club.

With Aker I am not sure what to make from it. Wallace said around the time we played the swans how he would love to give Aker a tiger jumper. Then not long ago he says he is not interested? Is he or is he not playing tricks with us that Terry Wallace lol...

TheBacko said:
both browny and wallace have already said they don't want him. he would be great for us, but we would have to give up too much to get him.

dont really want to buy into the "should we debate", since its all speculative on what he can bring to the club in terms of off field, but on field its pretty well a big bonus.
On your point that both browny and wallace have already said they don't want him, I tend to see that in the same light as a CEO suggesting a coach's position is safe, 4 months before the coach resigns.
One thing i have to say though is, you can never discount the advantage in development for our youngsters, an Aker can bring when they are rubbing shoulders with him at training and on the field.
The other thing is, that he has been maligned in the press for speaking his mind, which all boiled down to he suggesting Lethal has NFI and purely had a team that even Spud could sit back and watch as a coach, which is basically my opinion as well.
Wild out of left field tip, Lethal will leave the lions before Aker. ;)

Anyone who associates Aka with players like Gardiner & Zantuck is a fool
Aker is a gun, would love to have him play with the Tigers, from memory he was even a Tigers supporter growing up, but I just know it'll cost the club too much to get him and we already have enough flankers.

Aker an Asset