Certified Legendary Thread Alastair Clarksons.

Alistair to North in 2023?

• Yes

Votes: 257 77.4%
  • No

Votes: 75 22.6%

As someone said the only link (and when the price came down) was the Tom Browne inaccurate tweet.

Betting agencies are reactionary and also based on where the money sits. People are reactionary too.
think it’s that and just logic which has shaped it

Clarko Is the best coach available and wants to coach next year there’s only 2 options

Only one of those are in Melbourne who he happens to have a connection to

If the AFL want it, it will happen. If they don't, then it won't.

I think the AFL's, and most club's first preference, is a relocated team, but that might be too much of a poisoned chalice to handle right now while we are debt free and club's like the Saints, ooze debt everywhere (not that I want to see any Victorian based club relocated).

North being debt free at the present is such an unwelcome scenario for every other club. So they have to resort to saying we are "a shambles" on and off field, to push their evil agendas.

Relocate the Gold Coast I say.

The success of the Jackjumpers in the NBL has made a relocated AFL club an impossible ask for Tasmanians. They see a model working and they will accept nothing less than their own start-up. The new Premier of Tasmania is also playing hardball and will withdraw all promises of funding, support, land and planning permits to allow a relocated team to prosper. Tasmania is calling the AFL's bluff on this.

As someone said the only link (and when the price came down) was the Tom Browne inaccurate tweet.

Betting agencies are reactionary and also based on where the money sits. People are reactionary too.
He did have a sit down conversation with whately. After browns shit of 1.6 etc he was at tree fiddy. After the whately sit down it came in to a 1.80 then a buck fitty. So unless something was dropped on that day, someone has put a truckload of cash on it.

If the AFL want it, it will happen. If they don't, then it won't.

I think the AFL's, and most club's first preference, is a relocated team, but that might be too much of a poisoned chalice to handle right now while we are debt free and club's like the Saints, ooze debt everywhere (not that I want to see any Victorian based club relocated).

North being debt free at the present is such an unwelcome scenario for every other club. So they have to resort to saying we are "a shambles" on and off field, to push their evil agendas.

Relocate the Gold Coast I say.
How long will North remain debt free if the team continues to play the way it has, the last two years?

Personally, I have struggled to watch a full game this year.

Unless we improve on field, its only a matter of time before the members drop off again and we start making losses year on year again.

Especially if the Tassie $$$ dry up...

How long will North remain debt free if the team continues to play the way it has, the last two years?

Unless we improve on field, its only a matter of time before the members drop off again and we start making losses year on year again.

So you can watch when winning but not losing?

The other option we had was to top up the average list we had - and finish anywhere from 14th to 8th for 6 years. We were all getting sick of that model.

We knew there'd be pain and hiccups with a rebuild but we actually got a whole lot of elite talent in the door that is developing, and with more to come after this draft.

If we can get Clarkson or another good coach, improve our development and skills program plus pick up some free agents, we'll turn the corner.

I watch every minute, week in week out. Always have and always will. Buying a membership and watching your team every week, is what being a true supporter is.

I know it has been quite a horrible experience this year (rather than last), but irrespective of that, I look forward to every game. There is always something to take out of every game, even the absolute shellackings.

And, mark my words, it will turn one day and we will extract revenge on those who have shown us no mercy this year.

I watch every minute, week in week out. Always have and always will. Buying a membership and watching your team every week, is what being a true supporter is.

I know it has been quite a horrible experience this year (rather than last), but irrespective of that, I look forward to every game. There is always something to take out of every game, even the absolute shellackings.

And, mark my words, it will turn one day and we will extract revenge on those who have shown us no mercy this year.
Going through the pain will only make victory taste even sweeter.

Don’t underestimate what having multiple top 5 mids will do for us down the track either. I get we need KPD & KPF but these mids will always turn over for another first round pick minimum that we can grab a plug and play forward or defender when required
We've certainly done well in the past with Thompson, Sav, and W80! I think there's merit in that line of thinking....look how geelong picked up Cameron, Tiges, Lynch, could say the same about the Dees with Brown and arguably the Dogs with Boyd.....I think you're right, the key forward is the icing on the cake and the mids role is to deliver it fast and clean to em. You could have the best full forward in the league but ultimately if the delivery is slow and shite he's gonna kick didley squat.....ie/ brown in 2020!

After much soul searching l have decided that if we dont get Clarkson then l'm now looking at trying to get Hinkley over Williams. Even-though Williams is still in the game it's only as assistant whereas Hinkley and ,while still contracted, while not having reached the GF he has come close and how he has transformed them from rabble to a competitive club similar to what we are at the moment..

Me too but this year has been the hardest for many years.

Clarko's on the record as wanting to coach again, Blight was far more ambivalent. St Kilda almost literally had to drag him off the golf course to get him to coach. They even went as far as agreeing to let him spend a couple of days a week on the Gold Coast during the season. His heart was never in it.
Sounds like a consultant we tried to drag out of Hawaii.

We've certainly done well in the past with Thompson, Sav, and W80! I think there's merit in that line of thinking....look how geelong picked up Cameron, Tiges, Lynch, could say the same about the Dees with Brown and arguably the Dogs with Boyd.....I think you're right, the key forward is the icing on the cake and the mids role is to deliver it fast and clean to em. You could have the best full forward in the league but ultimately if the delivery is slow and shite he's gonna kick didley squat.....ie/ brown in 2020!
The issue is if those forwards and backs DONT come via trade or FA, then you're all in on one area of the ground and KPPs from the draft take longer to kick on.

CLARKSON ‘CAN’T BE THE MESSIAH’

JON RALPH
DUAL premiership North Melbourne ruckman Corey McKernan says Alastair Clarkson is a perfect fit on every level for the Roos, as their chase for the premiership legend hots up.
But McKernan warned that the four-time premiership coach could not bring a messiah complex and would need an elite team around him. “To have someone who has got footy experience like Clarkson ticks all the boxes,” he said.
“He would be good for membership and sponsors, great to get players to your club and stay at your club.
“You just need to make sure you have enough support around him. He can’t be the single-handed messiah who solves all our problems. You have to spread the load.”
The Herald Sun revealed on Saturday that Roos president Sonya Hood was expected to make contact with Clarkson’s manager James Henderson in Tasmania on Saturday.
The Roos on Sunday night refused to comment on the progress of those weekend discussions and are yet to reveal the formation of the coaching sub-committee.

Dunno about anyone else, but a lot of the media pay tribute to Clarkson and his assistants who've gone on to be coaches or top assistants etc. BUT, how about the guys under Pagan, Clarkson himself, Longmire, and Simmo. All premiership coaches. We of course have Blakey as a highly regarded assistant, Brady started out at WCE as midfield coach. I dunno about anyone else, but I'd love to see some of the 90's premiership players guys like Corey, Carey, King, Schwass, Fridge etc get involved somehow, perhaps at least in mentoring some of the younger players. Maybe the media roles are just too comfortable and don't want to jeopardize them. You would think they'd be welcomed if they wanted to perform such a role. Corey and Kingy in particular still seem so passionate about the club. Where's fruity these days, I remember he up and left and went to melbourne as an assistant, from memory he was pretty highly regarded under bradley? Wonder if Clarko when he arrives would have similar thoughts.

The issue is if those forwards and backs DONT come via trade or FA, then you're all in on one area of the ground and KPPs from the draft take longer to kick on.
Actually the ones I pointed out all did come via trade, as did Cam Mooney (multiple premierships) to Geelong! But I hear you on the development front....its a chicken and egg conundrum....keys take longer to develop, but generally speaking their role is made all the easier by a dominant midfield. In my mind the most explicit expression of that was sitting at flipping Homebush stadium in the 2014 prelim, and watching the ball stream into the swans forward line,,,,,Grima, Scooter, and Firitto absolutely powerless to defend anything. Sure they had Buddy and Tippett (free agent from Hawthorn and traded from Adelaide, as was Gunston to Hawthorn) in there, BUT I reckon any half decent forward would have had the same impact with that sort of silver service. p.s, from memory a very young Kayne Turner had a good bit of push and shove with Rhyce Shaw well behind the play,,,,dunno if that ever made it to air, but it was pretty entertaining.