jmac70
On the porch
Good luck to Burnsy at Hawthorn, could well lead to a senior coaching role someday.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Is anybody as worried as I am the Burns going to Hawthorn will mean that the Hawks learn our gameplan inside out. What a disaster that will be.
In theory you are correct but in reality I suspect we will still be able to attract good coaches. To move forward though I believe we should pay out Sanderson.HFF Touched on my main concern, if you're an aspiring senior coach(not all are) but if you are, you want to go somewhere to learn, and you would want to learn from one of the best going around, guys who have won flags or had sustained success.
So why in the absolute **** would you want to go to Collingwood to learn from a bloke who isn't successful by any measure, who is known widely to micro manage, not delegate properly, stubborn and not take others opinions on board. He's also someone with extremely limited coaching knowledge, he hasn't been mentored by the best, hasn't cut his teeth at various clubs, he spent a short time under Malty and probably wouldn't have gleaned much more from that time than he did for the decade or so where he was Captain.
To me that leaves prospective assistants as either, inexperienced or even fresh out of the game.
Old campaigners who feel like they've achieved all they need as a senior coach, and want to help out a bloke who clearly is lost and up shit creek without a paddle.
People with ties back to Collingwood either as player or assistant etc because, well, Ed has form for that.
Or people who see themselves as career assistants and aren't really looking to gain knowledge or advance their own personal growth.
Why is Burns better than Sanderson, when our mids do not tear games a part and are not two way runnersIn theory you are correct but in reality I suspect we will still be able to attract good coaches. To move forward though I believe we should pay out Sanderson.
There are other factors at play.Why is Burns better than Sanderson, when our mids do not tear games a part and are not two way runners
Like what?There are other factors at play.
Just saying we would be better off without 'Sando'.Like what?
For a person like me who does not get any info on the club except from on here, that reply does not mean anything, sorry iMac.Just saying we would be better off without 'Sando'.
That's cool, just know that Adelaide made the right decision.For a person like me who does not get any info on the club except from on here, that reply does not mean anything, sorry iMac.
Jmac I think you will find, as if with many assistant coaches, they like quite a few clubs to learn and improve their CV.Of all the assistants, Burns was the one I think we should have retained. The fact that Hawthorn have hired him speaks volumes. Meanwhile the real problem remains.
Sanderson apparantly carries some "baggage" from Adelaide that seems to really annoy internet posters.For a person like me who does not get any info on the club except from on here, that reply does not mean anything, sorry iMac.
No worries - you trumped my Ace
but then again...True true
All good.
What if I told you the players do care?Sanderson apparantly carries some "baggage" from Adelaide that seems to really annoy internet posters.
If the players couldn't care less, assuming that's the case, why would it bother anyone else?
It is the Roarbut then again...
"The fact that Collingwood could go through a process last year where Graeme Allan takes over the club after the season ends, recruits the likes of Daniel Wells and Chris Mayne, and then is forced to resign before the Pies play even a minute of competitive football under his leadership is like something out of the Trump administration."
from here:
http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/08/25/is-meddling-ed-about-to-chop-off-bucks-head/
Then it becomes or is an issue.What if I told you the players do care?
Fair point. I won't say any more.Then it becomes or is an issue.
But do we know? Or are we gossiping?
You have researched this response, no doubt, so I will accept your view as gospel until otherwise persuaded or swayed. The parry and thrust of bigfooty is your bread and butter, though if the truth be said, your true role lies somewhere in the middle of the cyber battle. In any case, Sanderson has been a kind of successful, but also questionable senior coach, and is a mate of Buckley, which may or may not recommend him as an assistant. But in the absence of any obvious criticism of his ability, he probably deserves another year.Sanderson is contracted.
Don't get the angst on him.
Seems a terrific operator and tactical type.
Also brings some fun to the players
Shouldn't be loosing Burns, Hawthorn's gain.There's a bit of talk about which of our assistant coaches will be departing scattered throughout a few different threads, so thought it would be easier with a designated thread for rumoured/confirmed movements.
BURNS
Damien Barrett on the footy show reckons he's off to Hawthorn
HARVEY
Good to have you back.You have researched this response, no doubt, so I will your view as gospel until otherwise persuaded or swayed. The parry and thrust of bigfooty is your bread and butter, though if the truth be said, your true role lies somewhere in the middle of the cyber battle. In any case, Sanderson has been a kind of successful, but also questionable senior coach, and is a mate of Buckley, which may or may not recommend him as an assistant. But in the absence of any obvious criticism of his ability, he probably deserves another year.
I don't pretend to know if Burns is a loss or not, but Hawthorn seems an upgrade on Collingwood. Look at Damien Monkhurst or Graeme Wright who we often lament losing to the poos and wees. Burns seems an articulate, intelligent and confident type. He impressed me as a player and he interviews well. Why isn't the black and white jumper sufficient to keep Scotty at the club?
Terminate the coaching careers of Rocca, Harvey maybe Tarkyn (shooting Bambi, I know!) and anyone else who has past there use-by-date and seemingly contributed less than hoped to the team's development.
Hodge would be ideal.The last thing we need is a bunch of retired players being brought in as trainee assistant coaches. Luke Hodge is the one exception to that. Really want him. We need to target the best of the experienced assistants out there... The ones who will have the gravitas to impact on our wonder coach's self assured obstinance.
I want: 1. Ratten, 2 Dew 3. Hodge ... We have our ready made succession plan there (which were gonna need).