Atkinson promoted to senior list

He's 185cm

Well picked up.

He deserves a shot, has a bit of material to work with, and I would not be so unequivocal to suggest he can't go on improving next year with some well placed tutelage. At least he's no freeloader on the payroll like some; e.g. Laycock.

Alan Snr, Alan Jnr, or Thomas? ;)

According to the EFC website and wikipedia, he is 185cm.
I ran across that difference as well at some point.
I reckon he'd be lucky to be 185 after seeing him IRL a few times. Not much of him.

I reckon he deserved another year.

He improved in almost every game he played. Whether he's got scope for enough improvement to be a really good player is another thing.

He's got a lot of attributes that make you think he can play a role at AFL level.
That goes for me too. Like his accountability, seems to read when to counter attack pretty well and has the pace to keep with (almost) anyone. Good building blocks.

G'day All

First post for me on BF so will start with an easy one.

Didn't see a heap of games this year but what I did when Atkinson played I thought he did ok and provided good run.

He fits the game plan for Knights so I am happy with his upgrade.

:thumbsu:

I disagree. Has the potential to improve a heap more. He may be 23 or so, but he has only had 1 year in the top flite of football. If he has used this year as a learning curb, I can see much potential improvement.

is that like a 'studious gutter'? :rolleyes:

do agree with the rest of what you say tho,

Atkinson may give all & sundry a big surprise methinks, closely watched a couple of his games this season & liked his mostly clean considered efforts

G'day All

First post for me on BF so will start with an easy one.

Didn't see a heap of games this year but what I did when Atkinson played I thought he did ok and provided good run.

He fits the game plan for Knights so I am happy with his upgrade.

:thumbsu:

Welcome aboard mate.

Was a lucky rookie selction in that his form never demanded a spot and this year he got senior games based on injuries. I dont think he can improve much more due to his lack of footy brain. We have chosen athlete over footballer.

Interesting observation given the fact that he got to Bendigo not becasue he was an athlete but becasue he displayed some footy smarts.
Having seen the size of him in the first Bendigo reserves game he played it just sounds rather funny that someone is calling him an athlete.
My thoughts on that day where that he could play a bit , i wonder how well he may go if he ever got fit. Guess we will find out.

Considering we've got a lot of holes to fill following the reiterments/delistings of this years it's no surprise really.

Good luck to him, he's got a while to go and a lot to prove to become a regular senior player but hopefully he can produce what is needed.

congrats to Atkinson but it might be bad luck for Lovett murry.i hird that he may well be up for trade with his mate Lovett...

I love the clever Essendon themed play on words there.

He will go well, been from Shepparton I played against some of the Atkinson, they are generally talented footballer. Jarrod is a great story and he has earned his spot, he is very quiet were the other Atkinson are not so much. He used to drive down to Shepparton to Bendigo for training and just wanted it so bad. I like how he text Knights and told him he would not let him down. Just want to say well done to all you supporter on supporting him he will not let you down and will give 110% every week.

Meh. Only got a game due to injuries. Didn't do much wrong, but that's because he didn't do much at all. He's a poor mans Lovett-Murray.

WTF?!! Atkinson shows way more promise than NLM ever will. He has pace and skills and doesn't give away 10 free kicks a game... I am really glad he got promoted and look forward to him taking NLM's spot by round 2 next season.

Good on him for making the most of his opportunity. Wish him the best of luck.

Sadly I am not a believer and do not think that he will make it.

Prove me wrong Jarrod:thumbsu:

Interesting observation given the fact that he got to Bendigo not becasue he was an athlete but becasue he displayed some footy smarts.
Having seen the size of him in the first Bendigo reserves game he played it just sounds rather funny that someone is calling him an athlete.
My thoughts on that day where that he could play a bit , i wonder how well he may go if he ever got fit. Guess we will find out.

Hope Im wrong but I just cant agree with the idea he has footy smarts I just dont see it. The biggest issue for me is we are grooming him as a running defender yet most times he seems to dislike body contact. Im calling the constsant referals to his sprints times rather than ability as athlete over footballer.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6108

So what do people think. I don't mind him - I reckon he has quite good skills and is fairly composed under pressure. Knights is obviously a big fan. He won't be a star - but he could be more than handy.

Good. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Atkinson will be 24 next year.
and we don't have enough players 21+ IMO to be competive next year.
Pev, JJ, Mal, Rama, and the pending trade of Lovett is not good.

Atkinson promoted to senior list