Autopsy Autopsy thread Dogs v Hawks

Fair enough to play Boyd in the ruck but it leaves us pitifully short up forward. Crameri and Dickson are great finishers and marking targets so I would be bringing in another tall forward and/or Campbell. Stringer is never going to out mark tal opponents on those high balls.

Going for a different approach and saying we blew it. We missed too many easy shots which is infuriating. We'll be better for it. Shattered for Bob, doesn't deserve to go out like this especially since his 300th is so close.
Luckily we have adcock in the wings so not as much experience is lost. Also time for Webb to deliver on his promise.

Toby McLean is a cheat

I can't stand how he ducks and lifts his arms

I have sh!t canned Selwood for it for years and will not be a hypocrite.

And "other blokes do it why shouldn't he" isn't an excuse and a pathetic response.
I just don't see him as a ducker at all, if people can't tackle him properly he's going to get several over the shoulder free kicks every game. If he goes in lower than every one else it's on them to tackle him properly! It's one thing to lift your arms but another to lead with your head as many of them did today (with frees to go with them)!

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk

I know he didn't have a good game , but he still got to the majority of contests up forward and the defenders absolutely shit themselves whenever he is in the area
The only one shitting themselves was Jake, rushed every disposal he had. Noway you can spin that as an acceptable performance.

Really lax defending to allow the two on one at the end there. What were our defenders thinking? We were ahead and there was no need to push so far forward. Murphy should never have been in that situation.

I'm just shattered about Bob. He's too good a person for it to be an acl. Life's not fair.

How in hell did that happen , we are in front and have one defender in the back half.
Should have been 4 back there.
Also our inability to spoil long bombs to their goal square , pathetic really.
All those marks should have been defended.

Wow even I'm not that negative mate

They are the best and they have Hodge and Rough out that's about it.

Yeah we should have put them away but champion teams win those games.

Stringer was poor but he was beaten on the day. But didn't once have a decent pass hit him up and all he had was bombs on his head.

The Hawks are never weakened so that's no excuse we had Wood Cramers and Dicko out that's as much as they had
Did you just say we could have had dicko

I agree with MD, and go easy on string, was getting sky balls all night.
Stringer is a ******* champion
And he was sick last week ffs. I'm sure it will stick in his gut that he didn't have a great game and he'll be the better for it.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

**** some people here are acting like sadsack from Raggy dolls. We just took the 3 peaters down to the wire in a game that was hyped up all over the media. That was where Hawthorn had their chance to stamp their authority on the comp. they didn't quite do it, did they? Maybe we made the statement...
And maybe we learned a lot and how to do the job better next time

Not negative. It's the harsh truth.
Hawthorn were missing two of their best three players. With all due respect only Wood is even close to their league. It was on our home turf and we had fantastic form. We won't have a better chance at beating the Hawks.

Instead we had Jake slipping and dropping everything, and when he finally got it he'd **** up certain goals. It's just not good enough. And I'm his biggest fan. Allowing so many contested marks isn't good enough, stuffing up easy chances isn't good enough and getting a pat on the head like a good little boy from Hawks supporters isn't good enough.
This should hurt us, it's what separates the great teams from the good. I hope Beveridge tears strips off them.
We were still missing the all Australian HBF and a guy that kicked 50 goals last year. Yes we certainly had some things in our favour but it wasn't a poor performance.

I get that standards a higher now but we need to take a step back sometimes. We have an incredibly young team and we were right up in our necks with the benchmark of the competition. We will be better for it.

Biggest melt I've seen you throw! Chin up sir. We are up to our nuts in this season. Few of the boys have much to learn and as long as Stringer gets some experience out of it and comes back a better player I'll be happy.

Would rather he has an off day today and can review the f-ups with the coaching staff than on Grand Final day. He derserves a serve from the coach though. And by God we could've won today. Dammit :thumbsdown::mad::eek:
Is it a melt if you are completely calm? I'm trying to relay what it will take to make us into a premiership team and not give us an excuse.
The only emotion I feel is sad for Bob.

We were still missing the all Australian HBF and a guy that kicked 50 goals last year. Yes we certainly had some things in our favour but it wasn't a poor performance.

I get that standards a higher now but we need to take a step back sometimes. We have an incredibly young team and we were right up in our necks with the benchmark of the competition. We will be better for it.
Make that 2 guys who kicked 50 goals last year.

Btw Doesn't seem like Bont has recovered from his slow start to the year (shoulder op) and Stringer has definitely not been himself the past 2 weeks. Look out when they get back to 100%

Was a great game to watch, like a mini-final. Atmosphere was great, good show of Bulldogs supporters.

Stringer and Bont were very poor. Libba made some terrible mistakes throughout the game which cost us dearly.

But still wrapped with the effort given we were 5 goals down.

Thought Hamling did his job.

Daniel was BOG for the dogs for mine.

One of T. Boyd's better games, especially in the ruck

That first and last quarter wasn't a poor performance? You can't get by every week playing two quarters. It's pretty shithouse and needs to be addressed.

I thought Hamling McLean Stringer and Jong were next to useless today.

Wood comes in for Jong
Dunkley back in for McLean
Adcock in for Murphy
Hamling and Stringer get another chance
Stringer "gets another chance?" Fair dinkum mate he's our number one forward getting a strong defender there will be games where he gets well held.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Our goal kicking just drives me crazy. I'm used to it now but it really isn't good enough.

Guess it's good to know we can match it with the best, but we should have won.

Bob will leave a big hole but I guess if we can cover Libba last year we can do it again. Speaking of Libba, he had a bit of a stinker. Can put Bont in that camp too, will give him a pass due to an interrupted pre season. But he hasn't hit his peak just yet.

I now believe we have what it takes to win it this year, although we would need quite a few things to go our way.

Playing against Hawthorn is the best experience we could hope for.

We should have won, I'm gutted we didn't. But there are bigger things at stake and I hope we can move on quickly and refocus

I just don't see him as a ducker at all, if people can't tackle him properly he's going to get several over the shoulder free kicks every game. If he goes in lower than every one else it's on them to tackle him properly! It's one thing to lift your arms but another to lead with your head as many of them did today (with frees to go with them)!

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk

Rubbish mate

Open your eyes

Head leads with his head, throws his arm up and his head back

It's cheating and I can't stand it

I'm going to go full Terry Wallace here but we shouldn't be happy. We shouldn't be ******* happy with that.

More 5 more inside 50's and 31 more contested possessions and we wasted it. We ******* wasted it. More scoring shots and we lose their game. More chances to get cheap goals (first of the game, Stringer hitting the post), we had em on the ropes at the end of the 3rd but didn't run away from it, and we were too timid at the beginning of the 4th. Damn.

Sure, we demonstrated that we are good enough to win a flag. That was a high quality and high intensity game. Call me arrogant, but I knew we could already win a flag this year. I knew we're as good as Hawthorn before this week and this just demonstrated that. We just need to learn to win.

Hawthorn fans are gonna come here and say well done what a great game. Stuff em. They pinched a game they didn't deserve with favourable umpiring and flukey pack marking in the last quarter. They're worried. They're worried we're coming.

Reckon Bev stuffed up in the last as well playing Stringer out of the goalsquare instead of Boyd. Stringer was getting scragged and Boyd was more likely with his size to hold onto one or win a free - and Boyd was playing well but he took him out of the thick of the action.

Hope Murph is okay.

Rant over.

Coming out of the ground, I couldn't really handle the clapping and optimism of the Bulldogs supporters. I may feel like it was a good effort in a couple of days, but I'm bloody outraged right now. Let it hurt, and don't accept it.

Not negative. It's the harsh truth.
Hawthorn were missing two of their best three players. With all due respect only Wood is even close to their league. It was on our home turf and we had fantastic form. We won't have a better chance at beating the Hawks.

Instead we had Jake slipping and dropping everything, and when he finally got it he'd **** up certain goals. It's just not good enough. And I'm his biggest fan. Allowing so many contested marks isn't good enough, stuffing up easy chances isn't good enough and getting a pat on the head like a good little boy from Hawks supporters isn't good enough.
This should hurt us, it's what separates the great teams from the good. I hope Beveridge tears strips off them.

Dicko is definitely in their league.

Pardon me for butting in, I rarely ever visit opposition boards, especially when we've won when it could have gone either way. I just want to say, apart from the tragic injury to Bob Murphy, you need not feel too bad about losing that match. I think you will learn more from the loss than had you won.

You have an awesome team who I will be amazed do not win a flag very soon. In a way the Bulldogs remind me of the Hawks circa 2007, it was so exciting watching my team turning into a genuine flag contender, and that's how I rate the Bulldogs.

All the best guys, your team IS AWESOME .... and all the best to Bob Murphy, some good news would be welcome.

Autopsy Autopsy thread Dogs v Hawks