Autopsy Autopsy thread Dogs v Hawks

Coming out of the ground, I couldn't really handle the clapping and optimism of the Bulldogs supporters. I may feel like it was a good effort in a couple of days, but I'm bloody outraged right now. Let it hurt, and don't accept it.

I think we were all in shock and not quite sure what to do to be fair. They put in a freaking amazing effort. What do you do - boo them? Ignore them?

That bloody last goal just damn heartbreaking ...AARGGGARGGHHHH
....... :mad::mad::thumbsdown::eek::oops::mad:

Can't help but say Libba was not on form today.. Got a lot of the footy but coughed it up a number of times
He was really good early, but was probably physically beaten up by the last quarter and wasnt getting the same support.
Sam Mitchell said how they made changes for the last quarter. ie: get Caleb out of the game. ???...Think what happened in the centre last quarter bears some analysis as this is what stopped our drive and our control around the clearances.

Reckon Bev's got a lot to learn with that coaching performance.

We've coughed up a three goal lead halfway through the last, the game is balanced, and we're undertaking forward thrust after forward thrust.

Stringer, who's had a dirty day all afternoon, is the bloke isolated at full forward. Whilst he might have been scragged, at the end of the day he didn't take the marks and he didn't kick the goals although he got on the end of half a dozen or so in the forward 50.

Tom Boyd was actually having a really good last quarter, winning the ball, using his size and he obviouslyobviously kicked that goal. So what does Bev do? Rotates him through the ruck and then rests him on the bench. Doesn't make him the focal point of our attack in that last quarter.

He's our million dollar forward for a reason. The blokes 201cm bloody hell, I reckon he could have and would have kicked a couple if it was him and not Stringer on the end of those forward thrusts in the last quarter. In both games so far this year, he's shown himself to be something of a last quarter specialist, which makes sense. Blokes get more fatigued and they can't flood back, key defenders don't have the strength after a full game to scrag him, but Boyd doesn't get any shorter in the last quarter from the first. I think this could have been the game he won us the game from the scruff of the neck (think about it what if it was him and not Stringer who was one out, and he was playing a very good quarter in the ruck anyway) but he wasn't given the opportunity.

Is it safe to say you don't rate the Dogs? Will this list ever make a Grand Final?
Still a long way for these youngsters to go, but without a true believer like murph, it dampens the joy

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

You'd be hard fought to find a photo that displays the exhilarating highs for one side and the agonising lows for the other than this one.

Cfq1REMUYAANZLv.jpg

I said this in my first post and I don't care how polite they're being - Hawks fans can get stuffed. (I don't mean that literally. Of course they're entitled to post in this thread as long as they're not breaking any rules, and I do appreciate their concern for Murph... but you kind of get what I'm saying).

Very easy to act the way you're acting when you're on the back of three flags and you win a game that you really should not have won. I really don't want to hear the patronising crap that we have a good young team etc. We should have won the game and it's not too far removed from gloating.

Sorry KH but I respectfully disagree, Roughy takes contested marks around the ground, Boyd doesn't take marks full stop.

No need to be sorry mate . Boyd looked far more effective in the ruck to my eye .
Roughy gets a free ride by most on here , he is now one of our experienced players but his output isn't that great.
How many marks did he take today ?

Guys, fantastic effort - dominated us for >50% of the game. Not many clubs can say that in recent times, and there's more than a little "08 Hawks" about your team.

Have heard some bad things about Murph's knee, hope they aren't true - one of, if not the most popular 'opposition' player and deserves to play finals this year, and he has shown he's still good enough to go around again if it is worst case. Hoping he doesn't pull the pin.

No doubt we will meet again at some stage, possibly in finals.....

We've coughed up a three goal lead halfway through the last, the game is balanced, and we're undertaking forward thrust after forward thrust.

Stringer, who's had a dirty day all afternoon, is the bloke isolated at full forward. Whilst he might have been scragged, at the end of the day he didn't take the marks and he didn't kick the goals although he got on the end of half a dozen or so in the forward 50.

Tom Boyd was actually having a really good last quarter, winning the ball, using his size and he obviouslyobviously kicked that goal. So what does Bev do? Rotates him through the ruck and then rests him on the bench. Doesn't make him the focal point of our attack in that last quarter.

He's our million dollar forward for a reason. The blokes 201cm bloody hell, I reckon he could have and would have kicked a couple if it was him and not Stringer on the end of those forward thrusts in the last quarter. In both games so far this year, he's shown himself to be something of a last quarter specialist, which makes sense. Blokes get more fatigued and they can't flood back, key defenders don't have the strength after a full game to scrag him, but Boyd doesn't get any shorter in the last quarter from the first. I think this could have been the game he won us the game from the scruff of the neck (think about it what if it was him and not Stringer who was one out, and he was playing a very good quarter in the ruck anyway) but he wasn't given the opportunity.

Mate I'm sorry but Boyd played enough down forward. Had three gettable chances, took one. Hardly Bevo's fault.

While not taking the grabs today we'd like, I thought Tom Boyds hands on ground balls were really good today.
Caleb Daniel, bloody hell. Took Mitchell to the cleaners for a half.
Luke D, he never waivers in his endeavour.
He was bloody fantastic today. And his passion for the club and teammates is infectious.
Lots of positives and definitely stuff to work on. But the biggest positive of all is the improvement we have in us. The whole Bob thing will have a big impact, we just need to hope it's something that spurs the team on.
Hard to feel anything but flat at the moment.

I'm going to go full Terry Wallace here but we shouldn't be happy. We shouldn't be ******* happy with that.

More 5 more inside 50's and 31 more contested possessions and we wasted it. We ******* wasted it. More scoring shots and we lose their game. More chances to get cheap goals (first of the game, Stringer hitting the post), we had em on the ropes at the end of the 3rd but didn't run away from it, and we were too timid at the beginning of the 4th. Damn.

Sure, we demonstrated that we are good enough to win a flag. That was a high quality and high intensity game. Call me arrogant, but I knew we could already win a flag this year. I knew we're as good as Hawthorn before this week and this just demonstrated that. We just need to learn to win.

Hawthorn fans are gonna come here and say well done what a great game. Stuff em. They pinched a game they didn't deserve with favourable umpiring and flukey pack marking in the last quarter. They're worried. They're worried we're coming.

Reckon Bev stuffed up in the last as well playing Stringer out of the goalsquare instead of Boyd. Stringer was getting scragged and Boyd was more likely with his size to hold onto one or win a free - and Boyd was playing well but he took him out of the thick of the action.

Hope Murph is okay.

Rant over.
Think we really missed Tory and Crams run back speed and would like to see a consistent good lead up forward marking the ball and kicking set shots

Toby McLean is a cheat

I can't stand how he ducks and lifts his arms

I have sh!t canned Selwood for it for years and will not be a hypocrite.

And "other blokes do it why shouldn't he" isn't an excuse and a pathetic response.
Sorry blokes but I'm on board with Mattdougie here, I hate the Selwoods etc. and their cheating ways, and Mclean is fantastic at drawing high contact and I really don't like it.

I certainly think Stringer got to a lot more contests than Redpath would. Either way I still have memories of Liam Jones not getting near a single contest in about a half of football on more than one occasion so maybe that's affecting my judgement.
Getting to those contests actively hurt our team. I'm not a fan of Redpath but if he'd have put in that performance I'd have called for his delisting.
Jake needs to come out next week breathing fire.

As finalists yes. No flag this year.
Already on record as my flag favourites next year though. That's why performances like that aren't acceptable.
But now we have to win it for Bob. So the players will wear Bob armbands every game, break from every huddle saying "for Bob" and then they'll make a movie about when we win the grand final.

Mate I'm sorry but Boyd played enough down forward. Had three gettable chances, took one. Hardly Bevo's fault.
Not on the end of last quarter forward thrusts with an open forward line. How many times did Boyd get a run at ball one out? Not many.

The good

Dahl
Amazing game. Combined all areas of his game. Pressure, disposals, tackles, goals. Awesome.

Daniel
Made only one error for the game. Was terrific

Adams
Fantastic. A few shaky kicks but if he takes those goal saving marks, who cares.

Roughy
Number 1 ruck spot assured

T. Boyd
Didn't get a stack of it but apart from the missed set shot, he was great all game. Contested, followed up, deft taps, rucked then followed up and goaled

The Hawks are a bloody good side and so are we.

The bad

Murphy :(

First quarter umpiring

Hunter
If I was Bev, I wouldnt drop him but he'd be copping are bake internally. Very ordinary game, I don't care how many cheap cotchinesque touches he had.

Stringer
Bad game. Move on.

Rotating Boyd through the ruck is precisely what Bev should have done. Boyd needs a spell after rucking. No issue there.

Autopsy Autopsy thread Dogs v Hawks