Bishop's 2016 Draft Thread

great PD, absolutely love your first 2 picks for us Bishop (Ainsworth/Berry) exactly who i would want.

really like Witherden as well although if Simpkin slid and both were available i would go Simpkin.

would also take Florent over Gallucci.

i hope you're right with Watson and Allison going so low as we wont go into deficit in 2017.

Think both are going to be 4th-5th round prospects.

Excellent mock! Most realistic bidding positions I've seen

I still rate Perryman highly for example, but put the players where I expect the bids to come & who they may come from.

Many have us close to a lock for Brodie at #5 but you have him dropping.

I would have thought Taranto for us, but you've gone SPS. Reasons, Bishop?

BTW: :thumbsu:

I actually think Taranto is more than likelier than Brodie from what I hear.

I think SPS is a better fit for the Blues, plays both outside and inside - was very good this season after having a hammy issue during the middle of the year. His game in the All Stars was great, but his body of work throughout the season has been good.

I think Brodie has been a bit up and down at times, with injury and a few things. Not doubt he's very professional, but from what I saw of him he'd rather rest than play games at 75-80% peak fitness, whereas others pushed through.

Great work Bishop !!

Love that you have the Saints grabbing Florent and Maibaum!

If we miss on Florent who else do you think will be in the mix at 23?

Gday bish i know cripps has slightly hinted we'll go more sa boys in this draft but i think its highly unlikely every pick would be used on them. If marshall is avaliable at 14 i think we take him ahead of villis but hayward scharenberg and cox would be a dream draft

Great work Bishop !!

Love that you have the Saints grabbing Florent and Maibaum!

If we miss on Florent who else do you think will be in the mix at 23?

Well obviously the other names who are around at that pick. It's a tough one to tell who will be around there like most clubs in the 2nd round- Bit like last year I'm sure someone who the Saints rate is still on their board near that pick.

Gday bish i know cripps has slightly hinted we'll go more sa boys in this draft but i think its highly unlikely every pick would be used on them. If marshall is avaliable at 14 i think we take him ahead of villis but hayward scharenberg and cox would be a dream draft

I didn't deliberately try and let them pick SA lads. But I think they pick Villis & then one of Marshall/Hayward. I know some don't rate Marshall at all, so have him as a 2nd round- whilst some have him a bit higher. Hayward isn't a bad fit IMO into the Port team. Think either way those 4-5 names would be a very good fit for Parks & Cripps and co at Port Adelaide.

Love Rotham for Collingwoods first pick, would have liked McCarthy after Brown and Daicos. We're short on KPF depth and I reckon he has heaps of potential. Looks like a very smooth mover as a lot of ex-basketball players do.

Enjoyed the phantom Bishop. Yours is one i look forward to.

I've been thinking for a while that i'd be secretly pleased if SOS read out Petrevski-Seton @ 5. Like most, i'm finding it hard to split him, Brodie and Taranto but SPS has been getting way less love than the others on our Board.

I also agree with your placement of Florent. I think most pushing him right up to the 10-15 mark is a bit much personally.

I've got a gut feel that GC will/should take Berry with their Pick 10 too. An ultimate pro and leader. They need a young one like that. I think he'll be a better version of Josh Dunkley. Has all the same credentials/recommendations coming out of the AFL Academy as Dunkley had.

Will GWS really go for McCluggage over Ainsworth if McGrath is taken at 1? I have heard they are red hot on Ainsworth as they lack elite small forwards but have plenty of mids.
Toby Greene just kicked 44 goals and had 28 goal assists this year.

Tell us more about Begley Bishop. He's one that seems to have come out of nowhere. Do you think he will eventually become a full time mid at senior level or will always share between hf/mid?

doubt we take Villis with our first pick. Heard on our board he wont be drafted due to poor health.

and if Berry is still there, i reckon we take him.

still a very good mock draft mate, obviously going to be some conjecture from others and all that.

Hey Bishop, noticed Lachlan Murphy is 51 in your power rankings however not featured in your Phantom Draft. Explanation?

What is stopping Kobe Mutch from being spoken about as a top 2o prospect? Seems he has all the right tools to be a handy player. Inside, outside, speed, ball winning ability.

For me, don't think his hurt factor is there at all. Couldn't see him fitting into the GWS team too. Finds a lot of the ball, but a fair few short kicks rather than tacking the game on. I don't think his athletic work is superb either.

Will GWS really go for McCluggage over Ainsworth if McGrath is taken at 1? I have heard they are red hot on Ainsworth as they lack elite small forwards but have plenty of mids.

I think it'd be a close decision - Toby Greene was good up forward this year, Devon Smith back at full fitness etc. I think it's a chance, Hughy McCluggage has kicked a stack of goals this year so he can play forward too.

Tell us more about Begley Bishop. He's one that seems to have come out of nowhere. Do you think he will eventually become a full time mid at senior level or will always share between hf/mid?

Didn't do a preseason, will need to drop weight- his skinnies arent too bad. Av 17 disp, 9.3 contested, 3 tackles & 3 clearances in the TAC Cup.

Booted bags of goals early days then moved into the midfield later the season went on; A bit like Petracca for me. Could be one of the steals of this draft with some preseasons under his belt- will go in the second round.

doubt we take Villis with our first pick. Heard on our board he wont be drafted due to poor health.

and if Berry is still there, i reckon we take him.

still a very good mock draft mate, obviously going to be some conjecture from others and all that.

Yep saw that. Still early days- not even blokes in club land could give you an accurate order.

Hey Bishop, noticed Lachlan Murphy is 51 in your power rankings however not featured in your Phantom Draft. Explanation?

Need to update my Power Rankings - but I still rate Lach. Time will tell though. I'd like to hope he gets a chance.

Hey Bishop, Love your Phantom Draft. One of the better ones on the Phantom Draft Forums i'd have thought. Just a couple of quick questions. Interested to see your views on Brodie slipping to 11, I reckon Carlton may take him with their first pick. Also, just interested to see who you see as value picks later in the draft. Thanks.

Thanks. I just think others have gone ahead of Brodie. Whilst no doubt he's going to be a 200 game player, I think other players offer more eg: Taranto being able to play deep forward etc. Brodie showed he was just an inside mid this year & I've been pretty critical of him sitting games out rather than wanting to play in the All Stars when not 100% fit and at other times.

I think Carlton's first pick is Taranto/Brodie/SPS - not sure which way it ends up at the moment and neither would SOS.

Value picks later in the draft - I really like Outside mids in Louis Cunningham and Tom Williamson, Harrison Burt has been very good at Sandy Dragons this year despite other big names. Really like Liam Mackie too from the few interstate games I've seen.

Post 3: Phantom Draft (As of October 31st 2016)
GJJ6ygJ.png

Pd4BwyG.png

lViH0XK.png

G4uabpN.png

Z0sn3jY.png

C77OGDE.png
Love your work, Bishop but Louis Cunningham is an Oakleigh Charger

Solid phantom, but I would be super disappointed if the Roos picked up Clarke and Walker and missed on Fisher and Bolton with the next 2 picks. Bolton especially seems like the kind of player we would be jumping at the chance to get.

Do you take in team needs for the draft? Or is it purely a best available pick at that point?