Bluemour Discussion Thread X

Basically GWS would get a first round compo pick next year so SOS just needs to point out to GWS if you want to trade this year the question they need to ask is whose pick will be better Blues 1st pick next year or your compo pick?

Add to that equation another year of service Shiel can offer GWS. Thus the offer will have to be better than next year's first.

Honestly apart from our hope and rumours Posted here, from the outside essendon would seem a better fit...

Certainly closer to finals than us, playing an exciting brand of footy and he has his mate devon Smith there.
Sad but true however I reckon he knows we will be up there very soon. Our spine is solid. Just need to add the missing bits

I still reckon Lynch could end up at Hawthorn, but Tigers is the prevailing opinion at this point.

Lynch, Jack and Cas wouldn't work in that lineup. I'd have thought Casboult to Suns was a perfect fit if they go with the King twins.

I doubt Richmond would actually intend to play Levi if they’re after him. He would, however, be a solid back up option for them with us quite likely paying a fair portion of his salary to acquire a half decent pick (3rd round?) or one of their many depth players (Lloyd, Townsend, Miles, Ellis, etc.)

If Shiel wants out then a pick in 11-15 range should be sufficient. Shiel + GWS First Round 2019 = Carlton First Round 2019 but only if the deal is done this year.

If it's next year it's nothing to GWS. Shiel will be a RFA so when Carlton offer big $$$'s to Shiel the salary cap on GWS will mean they can't match it unless they were will to sacrifice $$$'s to one of their other stars (Tomlinson or Coniglio) that will be RFA at which point Carlton go after them or one that's contract is up (Kelly or Hopper).

Smart money is on GWS trading this year so they can keep other stars happy next year.

If Shiel wants out then a pick in 11-15 range should be sufficient. Shiel + GWS First Round 2019 = Carlton First Round 2019 but only if the deal is done this year.

If it's next year it's nothing to GWS. Shiel will be a RFA so when Carlton offer big $$$'s to Shiel the salary cap on GWS will mean they can't match it unless they were will to sacrifice $$$'s to one of their other stars (Tomlinson or Coniglio) that will be RFA at which point Carlton go after them or one that's contract is up (Kelly or Hopper).

Smart money is on GWS trading this year so they can keep other stars happy next year.
If that's what it takes to get Shiel and we did in fact get pick 12 as a priority pick, I would hope we use that pick for Shiel and save next years first. Stuff getting into a shitfight with Crows for a contracted player, hold onto next years first if possible. McGovern is a good player and clearly he would easily be best 22 for us but surely our midfield is where we need to focus for mature player trades.

Not enough love for this post. Basically proves that 'Destination clubs' aren't a thing, that players choose to leave and join clubs based on their individual circumstances.

But then, that doesn't sell papers I guess.
er, people don't buy newspapers because of a football story.............don't happen...........ultimately they won't be buying them at all

Looking at GWS contract status for the next 2 years:

2018 RFA: Mohr.
2018 OOC: Shaw, Griffen, Reid, Sproule, Simpson, Tiziani, Keefe, Stein, Jack Buckley, Dylan Buckley.

2019 RFA: Shiel, Coniglio, Tomlinson, Haynes, Buntine.
2019 OOC: Kelly, Hopper, Lobb, Himmelberg, Deledio, Taylor, Daniels, Lloyd, De Boer, Flynn.

My understanding of FA compensation is a club can only receive 1 pick per year. If that's correct then perhaps GWS is looking ahead to 2019 in regards to compensation as well as TPP.

2018 is a relative 'nothing' year in comparison to 2019. Not sure if anyone will go for Mohr as an RFA or if the compensation pick would be notable. The OOC names also pale in comparison to next year.

If GWS are of the belief that they're going to lose multiple FAs next year then they might be inclined to lose 1 (from an area they have depth) a year early to effectively double their FA compensation. It also gives them a little extra TPP relief to do some work to try and secure Kelly, Hopper, Lobb, Himmelberg, etc.

That being said, if they already know they're going to lose Shiel, Coniglio & Kelly before the 2020 season then there's about 20% of their cap freed up anyway. Although maybe the strategy could be to trade Shiel this year and use his contract value to extend the contracts of some of the 2019 OOCs: add $300k to Kelly's deal and split the remainder amongst Hopper, Lobb & Himmelberg. Then a year later when Coniglio leaves they can use some of his to top up Taranto, Whitfield, Cameron, Williams, Finlayson, etc

Agree. Luckily the club gave him the arse years ago, unfortunately we kept him to long.

The only problem was it was about 8 years too late !!! WH must have some very comprising pics of someone of importance at Princes Park
as I can't believe they kept hiring him year after year when he was picking so many duds that it had too obvious to the Carlton powers that
he had no real idea of what he was doing.

His successor Rodgers was only slightly better with his main 'claim to fame' was tagging Crippa at No. 13 ... a perceptible good get or
a fluke ... take you pick on that one. It's the latter for mine.

So the disastrous situation we are in now with this huge dearth of players from the ages of 23 - 29 was so obviously going to happen to
anyone who took even just a casual look at our list demographic. Unfortunately the lack of successful draftees was seriously compounded
by the club's inability to trade in a sufficient number of quality players to make up for this shortfall.

Critics love to talk about how Judd let us down during his playing days at Carlton ... for me it's the complete opposite in that the club let him so
badly by it's inability and failure to draft, recruit or develop enough quality players to support him.

Without stating the obvious, I would love to have CJ on our playing list now.

Sorry if I’ve missed the post somewhere but what’s the latest on Jake Lloyd? Are we interested?

While Plow's right on my opinion of Walsh's weaker points, the problem I have here is the suggestion that Walsh is the clear standout. No one should be thinking that way on the basis of game day performance.

I mean the guy gets half of his disposals via handball receives and he wouldn't beat most players on the park in a straight foot race, so yes he's smart, but that only gets you so far. Maybe the club likes his character, but I doubt Lukosius or Smith are ratbags.
Sam Mitchell was slow and smart. Went ok.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app