Wonder what happens to that 1.2 million cap space...![]()
Save it
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 1
The Golden Ticket - MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Wonder what happens to that 1.2 million cap space...![]()
Decision was two-fold:
1. Dons upped their money at the last minute
2. GWS nominated them as their club of choice to deal with
You can run your mouth and shoot me down all you like, but all i do is pass on what I've heard... I'm just the middle man. Its not my fault or causing if a RUMOUR doesn't eventuate.
McClure says the deal to bring the GWS star to Windy Hill was the lowest from a financial perspective, and that Shiel became Essendon's primary target after Gold Coast categorically ruled out the idea of trading midfielder Jack Martin.
“He’s got to be respected for picking the deal of the four that is financially significantly the lowest. He’s gone there for his footy, certainly not for coin.
It doesn't but it should.Let's hope once and for all this notion of supporting the club as a kid has an influence over a decision to join a club is buried for good.
I rather like the look of Jack Lukosius![]()
Yep, well done by Essendon...they are 3 or 4 years advanced on us and ultimately that’s what won Shiel over...nothing to do with potential draft picks...
Yep good pointFair enough. Personally, I think part of 'the edge' comes with history/culture, which was always going to be difficult for the current team, who have very little support and no history. However, now having made and failed two years running in the PF as well as losing a couple of gun mids - it's these sorts of things that can help create 'the edge' ... Reckon they'll be pretty fired up next year. Will be interesting to see. I can't wait to watch it.
Two first round picks is being touted (probably something back the other way as well) ...he’s a great player but two first round picks ?Oddly, I'm somewhat relieved given what we may have had to shell out.
Of course I wanted Shiel, but not Shiel on the money and picks being demanded. Glad we didn't become a 'have to have him at any cost' club.
I hate to say it but Essendon have a brighter future going forward than Hawthorn and the Saints. Meanwhile we just won 2 games for the year with a percentage of 59.3.
How is it a pure football decision from the looks of it?
Essendon have finished 13th, 15th, 12th, 12th, 8th, 14th, 8th, 11th, 9th, 7th, 15th, 18th, 7th and 11th since 2005.
A little flat over Shiel, but if we end the trade period with Setterfield & McGovern while still holding onto pick 1 & our 2019 1st Rd pick, I think it will still be a success.
I haven't heard Will Brodie's name mentioned recently. I know he's contracted and GC won't want him to go but maybe SOS can work his magic?
Decision was two-fold:
You can run your mouth and shoot me down all you like, but all i do is pass on what I've heard... I'm just the middle man. Its not my fault or causing if a RUMOUR doesn't eventuate.
With Shiel gone we will still have a few good picks
With Shiel going to * shows that the hawks are no longer a destination club. So we should just go after Jaeger O'Meara.
not on twitter, feel free to share.You should have tweeted that.
No worries reg, thanks for passing on what you hear, it’s appreciatedDecision was two-fold:
No to all of those except BSOS. Have our own ploddersFair. I'm still hearing H.Goddard & K.Collins and we have spoken with Tyson & Dunstan. Goddard as a DFA and one of the mids cheap would be handy. Then add BSOS and a mature mid as rookies
PS Is Nic Newman worth throwing some cash at? Scuttle the North deal. 25 year old big bodied mid?
Yeah they aren't top quality, I would just like to add some players who are experienced and of AFL standard. We need some more leadership and competition for spots.Wouldn't say any of the guys I mentioned are of top quality. For me, it is now what we can continue to get on the cheap that could add to possible best 22, while going back to the draft
Fair. I'm still hearing H.Goddard & K.Collins and we have spoken with Tyson & Dunstan. Goddard as a DFA and one of the mids cheap would be handy. Then add BSOS and a mature mid as rookies
After everything is said and done, this is what happens when you only win 2 games and are so far off playing finals. Sad but them the facts.
Wonder if he'll see the private jet from tulla and question, just a little.
I'd like to think so, but I'm not sure how; can conceivably see us with no selections this year between 1 and 60-odd, unless Silvagni arranges some swaps of late(r) picks in the Setterfield and McGovern trades.
GWS were pushing Carlton as club of choice the whole time, we had a deal with Shiel that looked done. Once we had convinced Shiel GWS basically say they aren't doing the trade without pick #1, we were still confident that this was posturing and a deal would get a deal done. Not sure what Essendon offered GWS in the end, but it was more than we willing/capable of giving up.
SOS & co genuinely surprised this is how it worked out, but that's the name of the game. Well done to Essendon to get it over the line.