Oppo Camp Brodie Grundy (Traded to Melbourne 2022)

Ruckman?
Lets compare similar at least.
It's not Grundy failing to get the ball out of the middle.
If you want to have big sook, sook about the correct players.

if you want to call me a sook for wanting our top paid players to perform at a very high level then so be it.

Ok compare him to ruckman on half his salary And wax lyrical about how great he is. How did he go in the past two weeks against Ceglar and Oscar.

There you go then. There's your culprit....if you have gotta extract some form of revenge for a bad deal....go there.

Remember...players don't negotiate contracts. They pay managers to.
You didn’t hear the Grundy interviews at the time? He publically came out on more than 1 occassions talking up a return to Adelaide.
Make no mistake, he wanted a big contract.
I’m not disputing it. But he is nowhere near the player who could demand it.
If he was in negotiations today, his management wouldn’t be asking for the same amount nor the term, because it would be laughed at. I’m sure Grundy would admit he is nowhere near his best. He admitted for 2020. I’m sure the same applies for 2021

Under Bucks, we would have parked the bus and lost more honourably. But I don't mind that we didn't. It's all about development and not results at the moment. Let them learn to play proper footy. Not numbers back keeping off.

Fair point

if you want to call me a sook for wanting our top paid players to perform at a very high level then so be it.

Ok compare him to ruckman on half his salary And wax lyrical about how great he is. How did he go in the past two weeks against Ceglar and Oscar.

Probably better than our mids went against their respective opponents???

You "believe" Billy....so you don't know any more than Caro or any of the other BS artists?

Grundy's management (Conners and D'Arazio) got the better of Ned Guy and the board ratified Guy's decision. So if you wanna be mad...be mad at the board and Ned Guy and Grundy's management (who were after all just doing their jobs).

Grundy is still performing amongst the best rucks in the AFL. Adams, Pendles and Sidey are nowhere near performing near the best mids in the land and yet everybody is still just piling on Grundy.

If he was being paid half as much you'd all be happy with his efforts....its all about jealousy and tall poppy syndrome.

That I agree with. Connors has not a worry in the world about our salary cap and nor should he.

The blame is with Ned Guy and the board. Ned Guy surely must be a running joke in the industry. Did he do any good deals during his tenure?

I don’t blame Grundy as such but with big dollars comes big pressure.

You didn’t hear the Grundy interviews at the time? He publically came out on more than 1 occassions talking up a return to Adelaide.
If he was in negotiations today, his management wouldn’t be asking for the same amount nor the term, because it would be laughed at. I’m sure Grundy would admit he is nowhere near his best. He admitted for 2020. I’m sure the same applies for 2021

But the negotiations are not happening today are they? (In a Covid era when soft caps have been decimated and all player and officials salaries will be affected)
We can't keep going back over something that people identify (today) as being a bad financial decision in hindsight.
All we can hope is that it isn't repeated in the future.

When I compare ruckman, then people wanna divert.

Yes, there will generally be someone worse than Grundy.

If it makes the Grundy fan club happy I will compare him with Josh Thomas or whoever you believe our worst player is. I will lower my expectation levels.

That I agree with. Connors has not a worry in the world about our salary cap and nor should he.

The blame is with Ned Guy and the board. Ned Guy surely must be a running joke in the industry. Did he do any good deals during his tenure?

I don’t blame Grundy as such but with big dollars comes big pressure.

Sorry mate but your last line is just a generalisation. I could give you many highly paid examples of failures in business (think banking just for a start), Politics (can you name me one politician actually earning their pay check atm?), in entertainment (were you at the GF when Meatloaf bombed?) and of course in sport (Most of the top 20 AFL money earners in 2021 are currently stinking it up....yet GRUNDY is the only one that people want to focus on. Coniglio? Cripps? Williams? Lynch???

Every team has their targets, their whipping boys and such. That BG has become such after the two years of Covid....its just reprehensible.

Our mids aren't on twice the coin compared to their respective opponents.

No matter how much spin you put on it Grundy's output has been nowhere near enough to justify his wages and the ridiculous length of his contract.

Sorry mate but your last line is just a generalisation. I could give you many highly paid examples of failures in business (think banking just for a start), Politics (can you name me one politician actually earning their pay check atm?), in entertainment (were you at the GF when Meatloaf bombed?) and of course in sport (Most of the top 20 AFL money earners in 2021 are currently stinking it up....yet GRUNDY is the only one that people want to focus on. Coniglio? Cripps? Williams? Lynch???

Every team has their targets, their whipping boys and such. That BG has become such after the two years of Covid....its just reprehensible.
Disagree Robroy to an extent. Grundy could have accepted less like Geel, Hawt and Rich players have. Our salary cap would still have been stuffed but maybe we could have kept Stevo or Treloar.

And yes bad management is on the club but if a player will hold it to ransom (which I consider 7 years / $7m as that) they won't endear themselves to fans if they don't perform at the expected level.

So Grundy and his management did what was best for them at the expense of the club.

my only concern is Collingwood. I am perfectly happy if other clubs have blown up their salary caps. Grab a champagne bottle and I will celebrate that.

Like it or lump it, that contract is going nowhere anytime soon.

So, putting aside the contract size and length, the onfield reality for years to come is what the incoming coaches decide to do with him to maximise his strengths and minimise his limitations.

I think his greatest strengths in the past were his relentless, ferocious follow up to the contest, including big tackles or clearances himself. These strengths created a lot of momentum in 2018/9.

While centre clearances have become more & more important with the rule changes of recent years, we have mostly sucked in this area for years while doing much better at the other ball ups & throw ins, which play to Grundy's strengths.

There's no single reason for that, of course, but as Grundy is less able to leap than most oppo rucks, or time his leap especially well, we seldom get forward momentum from the circle, so getting a better (combative, skilled and athletic) clearance combo around him is key, but he is still a really significant part of it.

These physical limitations are not going to magically change at the age of 27/8, so to me, the question is: can the next coach at least relight the competitive fire that seemed to have waned since 2019?

Without that ferocious attack on the ball and man, he is a pretty limited player as we all know, he is below average in marking and forward versatility as well.

Personally, it looks to me like the fairly manic, competitve desire will be difficult to recapture.

(FWIW, these limitations should've been obvious all along, BEFORE the contract became an issue, but I guess - of, course it's a guess - these limitations were ignored as his strengths seemed desperately important to our success at the time. So he seems to have called our bluff to maximise his pay, rather than share it around, but to be fair, for all I know, he actually took less per year to get the long contract).

As a big guy Grundy will be in his prime the next 4 years.

Far from our worst player. Rarely on the sidelines as well.

I would only swap him for Norths or GWS first pick. Maynard as well if he wants to go.

Both stars although Grundys contract is overs.

Not a single mark in the whole game from Grundy tonight. Not exactly an aerial presence is he?

Never has been. Probably has Mayne and Murphy to blame Saturday as much as anything else. They seemed to take great joy coming over the top and spoiling.

Not for the first or last time, he was beaten by a lesser regarded player. That was the point of the contract talk.

Beaten? Really? Interesting take. What part did his contract play in that?

This is a drawback of being paid what he is for that period of time. The scrutiny is emphasised, just like Hill and Zac Williams. They open themselves up if they don't perform.

Nothing wrong with scrutiny, hyperbole on the other hand….

With his Big Contract most Pies Fans never will be happy with Grundy Again

I doubt it’s most Dave but the numbers do seem to swell following a loss.

Disagree Robroy to an extent. Grundy could have accepted less like Geel, Hawt and Rich players have. Our salary cap would still have been stuffed but maybe we could have kept Stevo or Treloar.

And yes bad management is on the club but if a player will hold it to ransom (which I consider 7 years / $7m as that) they won't endear themselves to fans if they don't perform at the expected level.

So Grundy and his management did what was best for them at the expense of the club.

He did accept less. Adelaide were reportedly offering well north of $1m, apparently accepted $900-950k.

I think the “talking up a return to Adelaide” stuff was overblown at the time purely because the Crows had a huge offer on the table made it topical. I’d have been more concerned about losing him if that offer was coming from another Melbourne dazed club.

I thought he broke even with both Ceglar/McEvoy and Oscar.

I think the “talking up a return to Adelaide” stuff was overblown at the time purely because the Crows had a huge offer on the table made it topical. I’d have been more concerned about losing him if that offer was coming from another Melbourne dazed club.
If it was the media, then I'd agree. But suggesting he is considering going 'home' during a contract stalemate came directly out of Grundy's mouth. Obviously he was playing the game. All I'm saying is that he played a strong part in extracting maximum $$ and term for himself. So if you demand to have the strongest contract at the club, then there is every expectation you play each week like you are the best player at the club. Which I think is fair enough. All he has to do is be the best ruckman in the game, dominate the opposition, and be the best player at Collingwood. Then he justifies his package and we'll all be comfortable.

He did accept less. Adelaide were reportedly offering well north of $1m, apparently accepted $900-950k.
Gracious of him and glad he did us a favour. Strung it out Cloke-style and extracted 7 years @ ~$7m. Which is fine but he's not performing like that and the scrutiny will stay on him as long as he does.

Games have been brought up agst Ceglar and the Big O and how he's gone there. Whats worse IMO is when Silvagni grabbed the ball from a ruck contest and waltzed out the middle.

Want some further hyperbole... It was Geoff Hayward like, minus staring at a seagull.

He may have accepted less per year staying at Collingwood, but I imagine if you compare the total dollar contract amount of 7 years at the pies and 5 years at the crows, the pies contract is probably worth more dollars. So let’s not pretend he is losing money by staying at Collingwood.

Grundy pushed for a 7 year deal and sadly Collingwood folded… Before you accuse me of “tall poppy syndrome”, I don’t blame Grundy for this. He made the right choice for himself and if most of us on bigfooty were put in his position, we would probably have made the same choice. If anyone is to blame, it’s probably Collingwood who seem to have a poor business model of “buy high / sell low”.

If it was the media, then I'd agree. But suggesting he is considering going 'home' during a contract stalemate came directly out of Grundy's mouth. Obviously he was playing the game. All I'm saying is that he played a strong part in extracting maximum $$ and term for himself. So if you demand to have the strongest contract at the club, then there is every expectation you play each week like you are the best player at the club. Which I think is fair enough. All he has to do is be the best ruckman in the game, dominate the opposition, and be the best player at Collingwood. Then he justifies his package and we'll all be comfortable.

My recollection was that all he said was that he would likely consider a move back to Adelaide at some stage to be closer to his mother. I'm certainly not aware that he was considering doing so because of the Crows offer. It was the media and a few panic merchants who conflated that with his offer from Adelaide.

He may have accepted less per year staying at Collingwood, but I imagine if you compare the total dollar contract amount of 7 years at the pies and 5 years at the crows, the pies contract is probably worth more dollars. So let’s not pretend he is losing money by staying at Collingwood.

Grundy pushed for a 7 year deal and sadly Collingwood folded… Before you accuse me of “tall poppy syndrome”, I don’t blame Grundy for this. He made the right choice for himself and if most of us on bigfooty were put in his position, we would probably have made the same choice. If anyone is to blame, it’s probably Collingwood who seem to have a poor business model of “buy high / sell low”.

The scuttlebutt at the time was similar $$$'s to the Adelaide offer over 7 years instead of 5.

I don't need anyone to blame. It was a business transaction. Nothing I could have done to influence it either way. I'm happy with the deal. He's the best player in our side in terms of consistency and durability and should be remunerated as such. Probably would have been happier if it was only 6 years or less but it is what it is.