Autopsy Bulldog's effort and Jamarra's brilliance too much for Freo - (102 - 73)

Strangely enough Bevo said he'd never play anyone as sub two weeks in a row. That was a couple of years ago. He seems to have done a complete about face on that with McNeil.

I reckon a couple in a row at the most during the H&A games. Finals time might be different though.
Probably linked to previously it was injury based where as now it’s tactical.

I haven't read all the comments, but I was largely unimpressed with the performance today. I was there and thought we were not great for large stretches of play.

Geez bailey Williams was bad - turned it over constantly and didn't go hard enough at critical times. His turnovers seemed to get turned into goals.

Plus keath's decision making and disposal were terrible.

Too many times andrew brayshaw was left by himself at stoppages and freo ran the ball through the corridor constantly.

We won, great, but structurally, we are one of the worst in the afl. Need brilliance from bont, treloar and others to win

Star midfielder? Okay lol he might become an okay flanker
I’m the first person to get the shits when we draft Footscray players that clearly don’t have a future at AFL level but Poulter is only 20 and was selected in the second round of the 2020 covid draft.

Nothing wrong with being hopeful. Plenty of Collingwood supporters were flat when they delisted him and he seems like a good kid.

Im just so puzzled by what people see on game day that makes them so negative.
Do you really think that there is a football team that can execute every pass under extreme AFL level pressure every time?
This game is about being better than the opposition on the day. Tougher. More courageous. Stronger at the ball. Maximizing opportunity.

If we play like today next week we will win.
Because believe it or not collingwood will make mistakes, miss targets and get out gunned just like everyone else.
no team is perfect and we will pluck them next week
because pound for pound WE ARE BETTER!

Im just so puzzled by what people see on game day that makes them so negative.
Do you really think that there is a football team that can execute every pass under extreme AFL level pressure every time?
This game is about being better than the opposition on the day. Tougher. More courageous. Stronger at the ball. Maximizing opportunity.

If we play like today next week we will win.
Because believe it or not collingwood will make mistakes, miss targets and get out gunned just like everyone else.
no team is perfect and we will pluck them next week
because pound for pound WE ARE BETTER!
Love the postivity mate, genuinely, but if we play like to today we will get pantsed by the pies haha

Totally disagree. Do yourself a favor drop some money on this one the odds will be ripe.
Every game is different week to week and they haven't played us since we last pants-ed them last year over 14months ago
i smell a payday

First off closing half of level 3 was a disgusting move by the club. Broadcast side was chockers and made life tough for anyone with kids or any elderly. Selfish decision to make it look good on TV and one which should have been communicated to all fans ahead of time.

To the game, being challenged and responding like we did was massive. Corpsy Walters pulling 4 goals out of his butt the only thing that kept this close. Serong and Brayshaw campaigners too.

JOD effort going back with the flight in the second was amazing, keep him back. Also Naughton costs himself a goal every few games when running into goal and taking possession of the ball rather than just jamming it on the boot.

First off closing half of level 3 was a disgusting move by the club. Broadcast side was chockers and made life tough for anyone with kids or any elderly. Selfish decision to make it look good on TV and one which should have been communicated to all fans ahead of time.

To the game, being challenged and responding like we did was massive. Corpsy Walters pulling 4 goals out of his butt the only thing that kept this close. Serong and Brayshaw campaigners too.

JOD effort going back with the flight in the second was amazing, keep him back. Also Naughton costs himself a goal every few games when running into goal and taking possession of the ball rather than just jamming it on the boot.
Games like that, we should be closing level 3 and let everyone sit on levels 1 and 2 like the pre season games. Looks much better on tv and better for the fans. Give something back

Is that the clubs decision? I would’ve been certain that would’ve been a Marvel/AFL decision to save a bit of money and not need to open up additional amenities or have additional staff.

Games like that, we should be closing level 3 and let everyone sit on levels 1 and 2 like the pre season games. Looks much better on tv and better for the fans. Give something back
It was a fairly good sized crowd though at plus 25,000. Last year against the Giants and quite a number of games in the past years we’ve had less than 20,000, maybe for those games? I just think staff are hard to find at the moment, so they are limiting staff. They work hard in the kiosks but some of the other staff don’t have a difficult day.

To me it looked like our forward structure was much improved today, can hardly recall a time where they all flew against each other.
Very noticeable at the ground.

Naughton was, apparently, criticised by the TV commentators for his first half.

All I could see was that he was dragging a backman away from the contest, allowing Jamarra a clear run.

The sort of room JUH had was a breath of fresh air in what has often been a very crowded forward line.

Good win, it was all on the line for Freo, they took the lead in the last and we responded emphatically.

Pressure was really good most of the day, could not fault the effort and kicking accurately obviously makes all the difference.

There was so much more space in the forward line with Naughton a bit higher, it's no coincidence JUH played so well without Naughts jumping on his head at every contest. This has to be the set up going forward, Naughton will still get his 2 goals a game, but it helps JUH become the 50 goal forward he could be.

Special mention to West too, had a real impact in the last and has to be in the 22 ahead of Hannan, the difference in quality was huge.

It happened during the Kangas game the other week too. Its probably a TV directive. I ended up sitting near the scoreboard in the second half as I like room to move my large frame. Hardly anyone sits there but the view is OK as long as you're not hugging the concrete slab at the edge of the scoreboard.

They're doing some sort of renovations on level 3 too' maybe that plays a part. It's over 25 years old now. I still think of it as the 'new stadium'

I haven't read all the comments, but I was largely unimpressed with the performance today. I was there and thought we were not great for large stretches of play.

Geez bailey Williams was bad - turned it over constantly and didn't go hard enough at critical times. His turnovers seemed to get turned into goals.

Plus keath's decision making and disposal were terrible.

Too many times andrew brayshaw was left by himself at stoppages and freo ran the ball through the corridor constantly.

We won, great, but structurally, we are one of the worst in the afl. Need brilliance from bont, treloar and others to win
Being at the game I definitely felt the same. I was shocked to see Keath getting a fair bit of praise for his performance. I’ve held out hope because he has been a good player for us, but I’m starting to think he’s a lost cause.

With ball in hand he is a liability. We should be telling him and Gardner to kick long whenever they get it. The more time he has on the ball, the worse the decision he makes. Even a 15m open target is too much of a risk.

There is a strong chance JUH will be the best forward in the AFL in 2024.
Jamarra could be the best forward in the league next year. Fitness is key so he needs a huge preseason and he needs to be the fittest he has ever been. I feel he misses targets under fatigue so he needs to address that and fitness is the best way to overcome that.

Agree fitness is the only thing holding him back now.
As he has more preseasons under his belt plus putting in one or two big ones he will be huge

It happened during the Kangas game the other week too. Its probably a TV directive. I ended up sitting near the scoreboard in the second half as I like room to move my large frame. Hardly anyone sits there but the view is OK as long as you're not hugging the concrete slab at the edge of the scoreboard.

They're doing some sort of renovations on level 3 too' maybe that plays a part. It's over 25 years old now. I still think of it as the 'new stadium'
I suppose it would be too logical to do the renovations in the footy off season.

With no standouts in the midfield, I loved Jamarra's game, he's coming along in a big way. Could end up kicking a big bag before the year is out.
The exciting thing about his game was where he was his marking were coming from. Until now, he'd been relying on his leading and his reach to outmark his opponents. Last night he was coming in from different angles and of approach and flying at everything. He was almost Naughton like in that regard.

Perversely, I suspect that was helped by Naughton playing most of the game up the ground giving him much greater freedom of movement. I can see a time where we look to isolate JUH more in the forward line. They're aunt many KPD who could go with him on the lead and there aren't many flanker types who could go with him in the air. He's kicked more goals in a game before, but I reckon this was the most complete game he's played yet.
Reckon JOD has 'it' excited to watch him develop the rest of this year & into next season. Just leave him in defence Bevo.
I think with the likes of JO'D, Busslinger and potentially Darcy all waiting in the wings the recent cries for us to sell the farm and try and get the likes of Barrass or McKay are a little overstated.

That he arrived in the clubs lap by the most serendipitous routes possible only makes his rapid rise all the more ridiculous.

If Beveridge ever returns to playing him as a 4th tall forward I will call him up and tell him (Beveridge and I are very close you see). "If you are looking to play JO'H forward, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career of talking bollocks on the internet. Skills that make me a nightmare if you persist with this nonsense of making JO'D a 4th tall forward. I will crucify you on Bigfooty!"

I suppose it would be too logical to do the renovations in the footy off season.
Unpossible.

The stadium is currently undergoing a pretty major redevelopment.

A process that has been underway since early 2022 and is expected to be completed by the end of this year.

Autopsy Bulldog's effort and Jamarra's brilliance too much for Freo - (102 - 73)