Carlton Intra Club Match??

hilarious how people see things differently.
sure carrots muffed a few kicks but clearly the most dominant player on the ground.
Judd did a few nice things but not any more special than anyone else.
Mitch took a screamer, hard at it both back and forward
Mclean was solid and looks to be a good addition
All defenders bower, jammo and thornton did what was required and looked great.
Henderson was quiet and probably showed up by arrowsmith who people kept thinking was henderson
Hammer looked a great tall target assuming no body contact was required.
Fish was ordinary dont believe the reports.
Betts the best of the indigenous boys, then garlett, then yarran no change on todays performance
Ruck contest was great primarily between warnock, jacobs and setanta. warnock probably the best at centre bounce although jacobs lost him aroumd the ground
sorry didnt feel setanta was this all dominant CHF..thoiught he struggled today
houla, scotland, walker looked great in patches certainties for rnd 1
Gibbs cool and precise in second gear all day
lucas not much, davies not much on hammer
Levi great mits kicking let him down
Kruze looked huge, unlikely to play next week after hurting his ear
Tiller = nothing and i hope those who were there today realise rok is no certain ones starter.
grigg ni and out

just before Robbo's monster grab

17866_1354657313467_1442485635_973689_2874332_n.jpg

Was good to finally get to see the intra-club match. I'll do a run down of how I thought each the players went. Bit hard to keep up with the players on the opposite end of the ground as they wore different numbers.

Andrew Walker- Simply sensational today. Best on ground easily. Ran around collecting possesions at will. Disposal was quite good as well.

Jordan Russell- Didn't notice him in the play a whole heap. Relatively quiet.

Bryce Gibbs- Didn't get a whole heap of touches but was classy everytime he had it. Might have been rested a lot through the game?

Juddy- Juddy was his usual self. Got a lot of touches in te first half. Had a quiet second half. Rested maybe?

Mclean- Had a lot of handballs. Got some good footy in close. Is going to be the player that makes all our other midfielders look good.

Kreuzer- Looks massive. Played deep forward early and showed a little bit. Looks like he would prefer to be running around the ground but. Very quiet in the second half.

Hadley- Did some good in and under work. Seems to be moving around a lot more freely than he has in recent seasons.

Warnock- Very impressive today. Rucked most of the game and did quite well. Covers the ground very well for such a big man.

Robinson- Took a great mark on the wing. Very impressive today. Lively througout the whole match. Still would benefit from taking a chill pill at times. One to watch this year but.

Yarran- Bit disappointing to me. Dropped some pretty easy marks and needs to improve his intensity. Having said that, he did chase more than usual and does seem fit. Hope today was just an off day.

Fisher- Very good today. Took some strong marks and kicked reasonably well for goal. Kicked 2 goals from what i could see. Could suprise a few.

Browne- Did reasonably well in a defensive position. Didn't get a lot of touches but looked solid. Seems to have gained a yard of pace.

Grigg- Was great today. Got a lot of touches and kicked a couple of goals. Hasn't had a whole heap of attention but could suprise a few.

O'hailpin- Presented well and took some decent marks. Wasn't the worst. Seems more like a lead up forward but.

Bower- Defended well. Provided good run. Looks a bit bigger. Started on Henderson and moved too Hampson. Probably had the better of both of them.

Betts - Lively as always. Kicked 2 goals I think. Tackled well. Also seems a lot fitter.

O'Keeffe- Played a full back role against Hampson and looked out of his depth (massive height difference didn't help). Still another development year ahead of him I think.

Hampson- Worth giving time to as a forward. Played on O'Keeffe early and took some great marks and kicked a couple of goals. Bower moved to him and made it tougher. Doesn't always read the play well, but with some work he could be great.

Henderson- Struggled a bit today. The talent is there but he still is going to need time. Probably should play the whole season out and get games into him but. Did take a couple of nice grabs but.

Lucas- I didn't see a lot of him. Barely remember him touching it. Mark Riley said he showed some class so maybe he did more on the opposite end of the ground to me.

Anderson- Did some solid things off half back without being spectacular. Will need to show more this year if he is to keep his spot on the list.

Scotland- Was impressed with him today. Used it well. Had plenty of touches. Struggled a bit last year but looks like he could be back to his best this year. We need his disposal and carry coming out from half back.

Davies- Didn't see him at all. Anyone able to tell me how he went?

Thornton- Provided good run and carry off half back. Didn't really see who he was matched up on?

Houlihan- Seemed to play through the middle and had a few touches. Used it well. Will need to earn his place this year. Still the best kick on our list but.

Tiller- Had a few touches but didn't set the world on fire. Seems like they want to groom him as a key forward. Stood next to Jamison and looked taller. Still a development year.

Garlett- Was involved in a few good passages of play but probably still needs to do more. Showed his awesome speed on a few ocassions.

Jacobs- Has trimmed down a whole heap. Got around the ground well and got a bit of it. Solid in the ruck as well. Will make the other ruckmen earn their spots.

Jamison- Started on Kreuz and did a great job considering he was giving away significant height. Has great composure when disposing under pressure.

Casboult- Very impressive today. Big, powerful and a took some strong marks. With some improved fitness he could be anything.

Tuohy- Definately a project player. Didn't really see a lot of him.

Carrazzo- One of the best on ground. Plenty of touches and used it fairly well. Kicked a goal as well.

Joseph- Did a tagging job on Judd from what i could see. Had a few touches but I think Judd may have got the better of him.

Ellard- Seemed to do a defensive job on Betts. Didn't seem to do a lot. Betts had the better of him.

Donaldson- Did a fairly good job. Went forward and kicked a goal. Needs to put some weight on, but has some good talent.

WTH? :confused:

Do I know you zeeCFC? Cause my mate took that picture and as far as I know, he no longer posts here or on any other Carlton forum.

Poor boy didn't even get to see the mark. :D Might have made a dollar or two had he taken it a second or two later.

Could have become a millionaire....pissed off i missed the mark too

Haha nuh, we are mutual friends with Kane Lucas on FB....went through the album :)
We were sitting behind him though
haha i was shocked when i saw the photo up on bigfooty

I was sitting next to him. :)
don't flatter yourself :p

i couldn't make it down today, but does anyone have any logical reason why fisher was told to push up the field to be a link man today. i realize this isnt a new thing coz he did it often last season. other than a good grab he has nothing much going for him. i know he has become a whipping boy around here and amongst all carlton supporters, and i for one have always said (albeit not on bigfooty) that he can still be part of this team going forward. playing him up the ground is only going to expose his poor kicking, poor mobility and lack of defensive pressure. why does ratts not just plonk him in the forward line where he will be able to consistently pitch in with a couple of goals a game.

IMO it would be more worthwhile playing kreuze as the link up man as he is a better kick, better decision maker and unlike fisher, when the ball isnt kicked to him, he is still getting to the contest and busting a gut to get the ball going forward. this way we can utilize his ability to play in the midfield and he would be great at setting up play from the wing whilst still pushing forward.

does anybody else think i have a point or am i talking nonsense?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/carltons-season-is-up-up-and-away/story-e6frf9jf-1225829910223

"CARLTON coach Brett Ratten has enthused about his forward options post-Fev and after yesterday Blues fans can share in that enthusiasm.
In a 16-a-side intraclub practice match at Visy Park, Matthew Kreuzer, Shaun Hampson, Robbie Warnock, Setanta O'hAilpin and young Levi Casboult supplied the muscle up forward."

910292-mitch-robinson.jpg

:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/carltons-season-is-up-up-and-away/story-e6frf9jf-1225829910223

i couldn't make it down today, but does anyone have any logical reason why fisher was told to push up the field to be a link man today. i realize this isnt a new thing coz he did it often last season. other than a good grab he has nothing much going for him. i know he has become a whipping boy around here and amongst all carlton supporters, and i for one have always said (albeit not on bigfooty) that he can still be part of this team going forward. playing him up the ground is only going to expose his poor kicking, poor mobility and lack of defensive pressure. why does ratts not just plonk him in the forward line where he will be able to consistently pitch in with a couple of goals a game.

IMO it would be more worthwhile playing kreuze as the link up man as he is a better kick, better decision maker and unlike fisher, when the ball isnt kicked to him, he is still getting to the contest and busting a gut to get the ball going forward. this way we can utilize his ability to play in the midfield and he would be great at setting up play from the wing whilst still pushing forward.

does anybody else think i have a point or am i talking nonsense?
Totally agree with everything you've said there

These match reports raise a few concerns.

Henderson our 3rd year top 10 pick sounds like he couldnt touch the ball in an intra club game not great signs.

I also think the reality is that Hammer and K will be able to pinch hit fwd but I doubt either of them will cut it is perm fwd. IMO K is going to be a star ruckman who can drift fwd and from time to time kick a bag.

Positives:

Warnock moving well. I would like to see Warnock and K be our two ruckman with Hammer and Jacobs as back up. No way we can carry 3 massive guys into a proper game let alone 4.

Walker and Robo I am expecting massive years from these 2.

Mclean moving well.

No problems up forward as far as I'm concerned. :thumbsu:

A great spread of goalkickers. It would have been nice to put through a couple more easy ones but in saying that, a couple of tricky ones got slotted too.

Levi will be a gun. I'm right on his bandwagon. Joshy Donaldson looks pretty good too but he looks like he struggles to read the flight of the ball and gets caught behind his defender.

Good to hear Robbie Warnock had an impressive return. Unlike the majority of Fremantle fans, I still actually like him. There aren't a great deal of ruckmen who can move around the ground like him, a fit Warnock will go a long way to securing that top 8 spot....

Joshy Donaldson looks pretty good too but he looks like he struggles to read the flight of the ball and gets caught behind his defender.

Is Donaldson being groomed as another tall forward? Or is just a matter of anyone over 190cm being tried as a tall forward? I would have liked Fremantle to draft him, but develop him into a Dustin Fletcher-esque defender.

I thuought Lucas went pretty well atleast 10-15 touches got alot of touches out on the wing that i was sitting on so i got to see afair bit of him, his left foot is amazing and Yarran didnt really do heaps but used the ball pretty good when he got it.
Casboult, this kid is goin to be a gun and Hampson dominataed up foward with Henderson. Looks like Thornton has but abit more muscle on. :thumbsu:

Walker dominated same with McLean and Scotland.

Thanks guys and gals for all the reports and run-downs, was disappointed to hear about Yarran's efforts, hopefully he was having an off day, glad that Fish is trying his best to step up, no more repeats of last years VFL GF thanks, Hampson up forward sounds like a good plan, if he can get his hands even stickier then, as others have said, he'll be a nighmare match-up for defenders, and his speed will allow for him to play deep in the square then come bursting out on a lead that not many will be able to keep up with. My love for him grows a little more evey day :heart: (I know, vomit)
Did Judd spend much time on the ground, thought they might of rested him a fair bit to get the boys used to playing 3 matches without him?
How did AJ go, did I read somewhere they he tried to get his own ball a bit and didn't play as much of a tagging role? Did Mclean do heaps of pack busting?

Thanks guys and gals for all the reports and run-downs, was disappointed to hear about Yarran's efforts, hopefully he was having an off day, glad that Fish is trying his best to step up, no more repeats of last years VFL GF thanks, Hampson up forward sounds like a good plan, if he can get his hands even stickier then, as others have said, he'll be a nighmare match-up for defenders, and his speed will allow for him to play deep in the square then come bursting out on a lead that not many will be able to keep up with. My love for him grows a little more evey day :heart: (I know, vomit)
Did Judd spend much time on the ground, thought they might of rested him a fair bit to get the boys used to playing 3 matches without him?
How did AJ go, did I read somewhere they he tried to get his own ball a bit and didn't play as much of a tagging role? Did Mclean do heaps of pack busting?
Judd spent alot of time of in the 2nd half, AJ tagged Judd for abit it looked like then did his own thing and McLean got alot of in and under handballs, never stops running:thumbsu:

Carlton Intra Club Match??