Preview Carlton vs Essendon, MCG, Saturday 18/04/15, 1:45 PM - Changes post #573

Winner

The way we're playing at the moment you blokes should smash us by 10+ goals. Every side has Micks gameplan figured out and is using the centre against us (we leave it undefended for that kick it along the boundary line shit). Weve been getting cut up through the middle like witches hats. The players are already dropping their heads. Also; I have no idea who is going to kick a winning score for us now that Waite, Betts, Garlett have all gone (and Mick seems hell bent on playing Walker as a defender).

That said, if there is one thing I've learnt in my footy watching days, it's never tip an Essendon Carlton match on form. For some reason that eludes me, we always throw up some odd results, be it draws, form teams getting shellacked by underdogs, come from behind wins, whatever.

Best of luck anyways. I'll be very drunk no matter what happens. I have an entire week of copping shit from WCE fans to endure over here in Perth.

Wouldn't want to get too carried away with ourselves. Blues will be pumped for this. Will need to be on our game.

StKilda and Melbourne both beat us last year when we were equally as confident.

The way we're playing at the moment you blokes should smash us by 10+ goals. Every side has Micks gameplan figured out and is using the centre against us (we leave it undefended for that kick it along the boundary line shit). Weve been getting cut up through the middle like witches hats. The players are already dropping their heads. Also; I have no idea who is going to kick a winning score for us now that Waite, Betts, Garlett have all gone (and Mick seems hell bent on playing Walker as a defender).

That said, if there is one thing I've learnt in my footy watching days, it's never tip an Essendon Carlton match on form. For some reason that eludes me, we always throw up some odd results, be it draws, form teams getting shellacked by underdogs, come from behind wins, whatever.

Best of luck anyways. I'll be very drunk no matter what happens. I have an entire week of copping shit from WCE fans to endure over here in Perth.

I had this theory after our Sydney game that we will beat Hawthorn and then lose to Carlton.

Theory has changed. The momentum out of yesterday shouldn't have a loss to Carlton following it but still a danger game. Best of luck to you to. Extra day or so rest and, regardless of Mick, Carlton as a club lifts for these games. Can't help but to see it as a danger game for us.

They seem to be arguing about how many taggers they have over there. Answer? Not enough.

No good ones anyway.. They seriously have the worst list in the league. Yeah they might be a better side than the saints and Melbourne. But I'd take there's lists of carltanks anyway.

**** Carlton

i noticed in the final minutes the ball kept going through cooney, goddard, chapman, i.e. all the players who played pre season matches. can't sub em

I wonder if super coach Malthouse will dismiss the rivalry this year?.....or use it to get his side up and about?

4 points is all we should aim for.
If I recall correctly we skipped out to a nice lead last year only again to give that lead up and lucky too draw.
Sound familiar?

I more strongly remember us crushing Carlton by 90 points in round 3

Howlett didn't look fit to me.

So In: Fletcher Out: Howlett

I know thats taking away a runner but I'd gladly give Gleeson/Ashby a chance to run through the midfield

Howlett did an enormous amount of work vs Sydney in his first proper match for the year. Fair to say he pulled up sore. After being subbed out vs hawthorn I'd say he'd be feeling much better coming into the Carlton match

Games against Carlton never quite go the way you expect them to, let's just grab the points. Recovery is paramount with Carlton having two extra days on us.

A definite danger game, especially after how completely understandably excited the boys were yesterday.

Just please, please knuckle down everybody, do not get complacent, work harder than ever this week, and just bank these four points.

Oh, and **** Carlton.

You don't have to go too far back to see the history of huge upsets on offer in this rivalry. I can't see us being complacent.

I'd love to know how Cooney's knee is tracking. Does anyone have any inside word? If he's sore I wouldn't be opposed to him having a rest. I'd prefer to be overly cautious with him at this time of year than have him suffer towards the end of the year.

Howlett did an enormous amount of work vs Sydney in his first proper match for the year. Fair to say he pulled up sore. After being subbed out vs hawthorn I'd say he'd be feeling much better coming into the Carlton match
He looked like he hurt his groin. Would not be surprised if he misses this one as he is not cherry ripe.

Wouldn't want to get too carried away with ourselves. Blues will be pumped for this. Will need to be on our game.

StKilda and Melbourne both beat us last year when we were equally as confident.
We need to be on our game every week.

Reckon we are a different unit this year. I am usually worried about these games. This time, I think we will simply out muscle them. Reckon we have a lot more senior heads on the ground these days which is important for getting the job done.

If we come out and physically monster them at the contest, we will murder them. Just need a professional effort this week.

Howlett gives his all and goes 100% in an under. Bit like Armbrose. They are incredibly valuable to the team. Occasionally Howlett will cop one, through his desperation. This appears to be what happened on Sunday. He must be in the seniors.

dont even care about tradition - he just does a good job of it
Thanks mate. I try to be impartial as much as I can, especially with teams like the Scum.