Preview Changes: R5 vs Richmond - Saturday April 16, 4.05pm ACST @ Adelaide Oval

Will Crouch or Sloane be dropped this season?

• Crouch will be dropped

• Sloane will be dropped

• Both Crouch and Sloane will be dropped (separate weeks)

• Both Crouch and Sloane will be dropped (together)

• Neither will be dropped this season

Results are only viewable after voting.

To be fair, I don’t think anyone knows who our best 22 is. I’m actually ok with Schoenberg dropping out. He’s had 4 games in a row but has mostly struggled for form… he’ll be fine with a couple of games in the twos… as long as we manages the young kids so they get 15+ games each this year, with a chunk of time in the middle, then I’m fine with it.

Rowe I don’t really get as he’s been one of our most effective forwards so far this season. But his defensive game is lacking so I guess that’s why McHenry keeps his spot. But again, I don’t really mind it if we rotate through the young guys, giving each a string of games in the seniors. As long as we actually drop guys who are out of form to do it then great… which is where players like Sloane, McHenry and Jones can count themselves awfully lucky. If they put in another performance like they’ve been dishing up then it will be hard for the club to justify their spots.

Hinge I don’t quite get either. I would have thought there’s at least 2-3 defenders who you’d drop before him.

Yes agree.
But if the coaches select someone, they need to back them in and give them a few games.
I just don't like the revolving door policy that is our selection each week

Bickley asked him if he's prepared to play away from the midfield as we develop. He said his current role is already as a high half forward with a pinch hit in the middle, because the team is ready to rotate lots of players through. He mentioned Schoenberg twice, and listed him as a key mid.

On that note I look forward to Schoenberg not being dropped this weekend.

That’s bullshit about his role. As I predicted a few weeks ago, they’d trot out the line about changed roles. I did think it would be Nix feeding us the bullshit though.

I like this team we are going in with. We have a bit of a revolving door of players between SANFL and AFL, not necessarily based on form but more due to some quality depth in our squad. I do understand that form is one consideration for selecting our AFL team but more than likely we will see one or two injured each week, opening the door for someone else. We should be quietly excited by our depth(of admittedly not all A graders yet).
I like that for this game Dawson drops back. He will set the defence and we are going to need it. I’d like to see Thilthorpe back in but our patience will be rewarded. Our midfield will need an Easter miracle but I am hoping Berry can monster them. I really like Berry.
When you look at some of the guys being given a go like Cook, McAdam, Gollant there is a lot to like. Not sure who gets the medical sub though.
Just reminding anyone I’m not that clued on about AFL, came in as a fan in my thirties, couldn’t play the game to save myself, so I can take a correction on my comments no trouble.
Good post. Thoughtful.

Don't worry about being 30 years late to the party. You'll soon figure out there are only two types here. Those who know everything and those who know nothing. Most however, don't have a clue as to which group they belong in. 😜😜😜
Enjoy the ride.
Have fun.
Welcome JC

Mask up, you’ll be right.

Got asked at Bunnings today if I had my mask. I was a bit stunned and nearly apologised saying I’d forgotten it. But then just said that “I can’t wear one” and she just went ‘ok’.

Was surprised that it took to last day for someone to ask but then I thought there was probably a push from HQ to remind staff that they still had that responsibility and there’d be lots of people pulling the mask pin early.

There appears to be some worrying signs with Nicks selections and philosophies.
And I don't have much faith with Van Berlo being our midfield assistant that those trends will improve

VB is a massive problem, might as well have Neil Craig running our midfield.

Yes which is not made known to them until they submit.
Maybe the SMA being large, got help, but many of the organizers I know went back and forwards many time due to no framework being given to them.

But we only see the CMP that got them the numbers that they wanted. Once the first one comes back at 10% they resubmit until all the blood is out of the stone.

Yes agree.
But if the coaches select someone, they need to back them in and give them a few games.
I just don't like the revolving door policy that is our selection each week
IMHO, including the two preseason games;
Schoenberg has played 6 poor games
Thilthorpe played 4 poor games before he was dropped.
Fogarty played 5 straight shockers
Murray played 5 straight shockers

We have been very patient with Butts, Jones, Rowe and McHenry (not to mention Himmelberg and Frampton 😃).

So far we have had four players who should be happy with their work so far this season and one of them is Tex!

Why would Gollant struggle with McAdam? More players with X factor the better.

Just hope we see McAdam more involved in the game as he is a huge talent... just goes missing way too often.

For those wondering why Rowe was dropped over McHenry, because Ned offers more forward pressure & we need to have the right balance.
McHenry does not have it and I don’t think ever will.

Now it's obvious you haven't been watching, Berry is covering a heap of ground both forward and in defence while on ball and showing heaps of run as well as hitting the scoreboard, it was an absolute no brainer he'd be preferred over Hately who in the main got a stack of cheap possessions off of other players hard work.

Wonder what ad victoriam thinks?
Pretty Simple Berry in for Schoenburg, one for one, small Mid for Small mid, or forward mid for forward mid,
As for Hately, he will get his chance, as you all keep saying On BF have to reward SANFL form,
Berry will have an OK game with his 23disposals at 70% and 5 tackles

Nothing changes for the Crows Midfield a Bunch of small inside mids with some resting in the forward line,

But we only see the CMP that got them the numbers that they wanted. Once the first one comes back at 10% they resubmit until all the blood is out of the stone.
Or they submit at 200% to save the bullshit back and forwards and it gets ticked off straight away which has happened.

Pretty Simple Berry in for Schoenburg, one for one, small Mid for Small mid, or forward mid for forward mid,
As for Hately, he will get his chance, as you all keep saying On BF have to reward SANFL form,
Berry will have an OK game with his 23disposals at 70% and 5 tackles

Nothing changes for the Crows Midfield a Bunch of small inside mids with some resting in the forward line,
Nope, wrong again, pretty simple Sam's been far and away more damaging than Hately, way way more hurt factor.

Just Curious
Nope, wrong again, pretty simple he's ben far and away more damaging than Hately, way way more hurt factor.
If you say so, From the Games I watched they have been playing different roles,
But let's see on Sat,
Just curious will you be retracting your LOL when my prediction comes true because I know you will comment on it if it's wrong.

Happy to see Berry rewarded after some strong SANFL form. Just hoping we give him some decent midfield time and we don't shunt him into the forward line.

I think Rowe is pretty stiff to drop out, he has been the best performed small forward out of himself, Murphy and Mchenry. I can sort of see why they have dropped him though and not Mchenry, Ned is really our only small forward that actually applies any pressure. Rowe plays a similar style to Rachelle, but Rachelle plays the role much better. I would have preferred if we dropped Murphy and kept Rowe.

In saying that, Mchenry is not really the long term solution in that role, we need to find ourselves a quality small pressure forward who can actually contribute on the scoreboard.

Just Curious

If you say so, From the Games I watched they have been playing different roles,
But let's see on Sat,
Just curious will you be retracting your LOL when my prediction comes true because I know you will comment on it if it's wrong.
You make so many predictions so what one in particular are you referring to?

Berry was always getting a crack before Hately if the selectors were fair dinkum rewarding the better SANFL form.

The prediction you LOL at, Berry with 23 disposals at 70% With 5 Tackles.
That wasn't what lobbed you the LOL, the reference was to your player for player comment which obviously had nothing to do with why Berry was selected ahead of Hately.

And actually Hately is more a mid/forward than either Schoenberg and Berry if they're played in their rightful role.

Before we pulled the plug on Hately last year he was below SANFL level. He had zero confidence, poor disposal, very slow and terrible decision making.

He has improved dramatically in the last couple of games but I would like to see at least two more good games before we try him in the Ones. Hopefully Pedlar will smash down the door tomorrow.

Preview Changes: R5 vs Richmond - Saturday April 16, 4.05pm ACST @ Adelaide Oval