Preview Changes: R6 vs Hawthorn, Sunday April 23, 12.40pm ACST @ York Park (Tasmania)

The thing is, it will get harder to rest Tex as the season goes on.

Games will get more important, results more significant, premiership table tighter.

This would be early and I'm sure he could get by without it but do you rest him before he needs it? Pre-emptive rest before he starts displaying the effects of a full season. Rather than waiting until he gets sore / tired / injured and maybe prevent those things from occurring

Mid winter when it’s wet and cold and the ball is going to be on the ground all night. Bank early wins and then you can start to manage players

What if you don't though?

What if you're 50/50 or thereabouts the whole season like we're likely to be?

You know what I mean though Drugs, we've been down this get ahead of ourselves path plenty of times.
We've never been down this path!

Best 22 all the way. Nose to the grindstone.

We've lost very winnable games in the past because of sucky players / sucky coaching / sucky selections, not because of resting veterans.

We've only recently started resting our oldies the last couple of years, and only because we've been out of the finals race by about Round 8

So if Tex does play, he only needs 4 goals to get to 550 (remember when we all wondered if he would make it to Modra's 440?)

At which point he will leapfrog Port's highest ever goalkicker Warren Tredrea, and push himself into the top 50 goalkickers list of all time.

After that he could move up many ranks on that list in a short time. Lots of players clustered between 550 and 600

This would be early and I'm sure he could get by without it but do you rest him before he needs it? Pre-emptive rest before he starts displaying the effects of a full season. Rather than waiting until he gets sore / tired / injured and maybe prevent those things from occurring
+
Think it's got to be either this week or the Geelong game (which we can all 100% pencil in as an automatic loss).
See this:
Guess the best person to ask would be Burgess..
I trust in Burgess. He will know what to do. My guess is he'll take the Drugs Are Bad Mackay? approach --- prevention is better than cure.
Walker's first goal on Thursday (good kick in from Sholl) after giving Young a get-lost noodge, Crows 4th, was pure Tex.
If Tex is moving well, marking strongly, kicking 2-4 goals/game, recovering well, play him.

If anyone needs an extended break by mid season it will probably be Michalanney. He’s already copped some decent hits and might be struggling a bit by then.

Will Nicks finally teach our players not to play from behind when the wind is causing the ball to drop well short?
There's the added blunder which still haunts me, from R7, 2017.
Gotta have someone behind the pack when kicking with the wind, for the off-hands sliders.
But this is right:
You'd hope they'd be able to figure that out for themselves 😂
Both are taught at schoolboy level.

Jordon ‘Jake Kelly’ Butts (if you know you know)

So if Tex does play, he only needs 4 goals to get to 550 (remember when we all wondered if he would make it to Modra's 440?)

At which point he will leapfrog Port's highest ever goalkicker Warren Tredrea, and push himself into the top 50 goalkickers list of all time.

After that he could move up many ranks on that list in a short time. Lots of players clustered between 550 and 600

Crazy that walker has never made an all Australian team considering his career.

What if you don't though?

What if you're 50/50 or thereabouts the whole season like we're likely to be?

Then you make the call as to how he is travelling with his body

I am starting to wonder whether we are getting a bit ahead of ourselves. While we are playing exciting footy we have lost to two teams that have 1 other win between them - a last gasp win over Hawthorn!
Our wins have been good and our style of play great but we are no sure thing this weekend down in Tassie and then play Pies Cats and Saints. Get through the next 4 weeks and then worry about resting people

Caminiti out for our match against Saints in 4 weeks. Stengle and Rhys Stanley out for Geelong match in 3.

If we rest Tex, we are not shy of quality options, we’ve got Gollant and McAdam plus heaps of other avenues to score goals.
I think Thilthorpe plays better when we only go in with the 2 key talls up forward. If we do rest Tex and bring in McAdam or Gollant I can see TT having another big game against the Hawks in Tassie like he did in his debut.

Preview Changes: R6 vs Hawthorn, Sunday April 23, 12.40pm ACST @ York Park (Tasmania)