Preview Changes vs Brisvegas [In: Greenwood, Comben & Shiels / Out: Pink, Lazzaro & CCJ]

If Coor is to play. I would have him commit to the following team rules, or send him to the McGoos for a month.
1. No 50 meter penalties given away.
2. No yelling at team mates, but just give positive feedback.
3. No dicky little 20 meter kicks that miss targets. Leave the precision passing to the those who can execute them.
4. Stop drifting so far up field and leaving your team mates exposed when it’s turned over.
5. No low footy IQ moments, where I swear he averages 3-4 a game.
6. Time your leap when to punch. Seems like a basic defensive skill that he is hit and miss with.

If he can get back to his late 2023 form, that would really help the team.

If Coor is to play. I would have him commit to the following team rules, or send him to the McGoos for a month.
3. No dicky little 20 meter kicks that miss targets. Leave the precision passing to the those who can execute them.
4. Stop drifting so far up field and leaving your team mates exposed when it’s turned over.
6. Time your leap when to punch. Seems like a basic defensive skill that he is hit and miss with.

It’s a pity there needs to be a long list like this for one of our team leaders

That would be good. Hope for the best. Reckon he has had a rocket up his arse from the coaches

Richmond’s list is no where near as good as ours and look what contest, effort and spirit they play with under their new coach

The way we are playing is so far off in comparison it’s actually frustrating to wait another 4-5 years for us to even get the basics like competing at a normal level for us to be in the game

We should have no excuses and give the players no out for losing or giving away 9 unanswered goals etc
They are still stacked with 200 game premiership veterans who they rely on to do most of the heavy lifting.

We don’t have a regular 200 game veteran in our 23.

Yes, they are sliding down the ley-side of the premiership mountain, but they will still take big scalps on their day like they did against Sydney.

Tucker out. McKercher to the wing. Archer to the Back pocket.

We have enough small defender who can run and create off half back (Sheez & Fisher). What we need back there is more accountability which Arch will provide.
Big yes to this.

He makes the play so exciting when he tucks the ball under his arm and breaks lines.

Wing is a bit of a graveyard for us though. Not sure how I feel about it.
He would have way more room to show his creativity as well as his superb skills to plunge us in i50 or on transition.

Tucker out. McKercher to the wing. Archer to the Back pocket.

We have enough small defender who can run and create off half back (Sheez & Fisher). What we need back there is more accountability which Arch will provide.

Yep, that’s exactly what I posted earlier.

Sheezel, Fisher and Mckercher shouldn’t all be part of the back 6.

Play Archer as I’ve said allowing the move to be made and then get in some aerial support at both ends. Also someone to chop Xerri out in the ruck.

25 goals against us in 3 games from opposition talls, get Comben in with Dawson playing the intercept defender role. Pink the other tall. Drop Corr.

Get some support for Larkey, I’d go Finbar and get him to ruck a little bit. Sellars doesn’t offer that ruck support.

Play Archer as I’ve said allowing the move to be made and then get in some aerial support at both ends. Also someone to chop Xerri out in the ruck.

25 goals against us in 3 games from opposition talls, get Comben in with Dawson playing the intercept defender role. Pink the other tall. Drop Corr.

Get some support for Larkey, I’d go Finbar and get him to ruck a little bit. Sellars doesn’t offer that ruck support.
I’m fine with those 3 being in defence but bailey shouldn’t be back there also

He should go wing

Agree with all of that. We definitely need a shake up of the spine, because neither forward or back if working real well at the moment.

I’d actually love it if both Sellers and Maley got a gig. Sellers and Larkey plays as traditional FF/CHF’s with Maley as the extra tall. Push Zurhaar up into the midfield so that he doesn’t have to play as that pseudo key forward. Makes us a far more dangerous contested marking team with that setup. If it isn’t working you can sub one Sellers/Maley out at half time for more run.

Ideally, this weekend I’d be running out with this side.

B: Archer, Comben, Mcdonald
HB: Sheezel, Dawson, Fisher
C: McKercher, Wardlaw, Scott
HF: Duursma, Sellers, Simpkin
F: Curtis, Larkey, Ford
Foll: Xerri, LDU, Powell
Int: Zurhaar, Stephens, Maley, Pink/Corr
Sub: Phillips/Stephenson/Tucker.

Agree with all of that. We definitely need a shake up of the spine, because neither forward or back if working real well at the moment.

I’d actually love it if both Sellers and Maley got a gig. Sellers and Larkey plays as traditional FF/CHF’s with Maley as the extra tall. Push Zurhaar up into the midfield so that he doesn’t have to play as that pseudo key forward. Makes us a far more dangerous contested marking team with that setup. If it isn’t working you can sub one Sellers/Maley out at half time for more run.

Ideally, this weekend I’d be running out with this side.

B: Archer, Comben, Mcdonald
C: McKercher, Wardlaw, Scott
HF: Duursma, Sellers, Simpkin
F: Curtis, Larkey, Ford
Foll: Xerri, LDU, Powell
Int: Zurhaar, Stephens, Maley, Pink/Corr
Sub: Phillips/Stephenson/Tucker.
That's a good looking side. Not sure they will make lots of changes in any given week but over the next month it would be great to end up with that squad playing.

Maley’s game was great on the weekend. But he is a poor kick. Both field and goal. He has played a couple of games. That may have been the highlight of his career. We need a bit more evidence before putting him up against someone like Harris Andrews or similar. I love what he brings. He is great to watch at training as he is fully invested so let’s not prick that balloon yet without giving him a real chance because we are bereft of ideas. I’ve been on Sellers for 2 years. Come on down son.

Through the pre season and the VFL I think he’s kicking has been pretty good.

His action is terrible, but the results aren’t that bad.

Through the pre season and the VFL I think he’s kicking has been pretty good.

His action is terrible, but the results aren’t that bad.
They float. Every one. Even the short kicks. His drop is too high. Needs an off season to fix. I get the enthusiasm for him to come in. Just think it could backfire.

His field kicking looked very good today at training

And thought it’s looked good in the vfl games so far

In: Sellers, George,
Out: CCJ, Tucker,

B: McDonald, Pink, Corr
C: Mckercher, Wardlaw, Scott
HF: Duursma, Sellers, Zurhaar
F: Simpkin, Larkey, Curtis
FO: Xerri, LDU, Powell

INT: George, Ford, Lazzaro, Stephens,
SUB: Stephenson

Some massive calls this week, and i genuinely think this is a 50/50 call between Chom and Sellers. We could bring in Chom and see him spend some minutes forward, back and in the ruck, giving X a chop out. Could they pick Maley? Would be a huge call.

Greenwood the other option to come in and ruck for 4 to 5 minutes a quarter.

Last chances: Lazzaro, Stephenson, Stephens (How disappointing has he been!)

George not huge in the VFL on the weekend but id bring him in now. Expose him at the level.

Clarkson won’t drop Pink as game is at Norwood and knows the ground have played well there for Glenalg in the last couple of years and will bring in Comben,Sellers and Greenwood
Will drop Drop Corr,Stephens and with Coleman Jones out will start Dursuma as the sub.

Knowing a ground well has to be one of the most ridiculous reasons to select an AFL player I've ever heard. Clarko may well keep Pink and drop Corr, but that won't be the reason.

- Our midfield is easily bullied by bigger, more mature bodies Bring In Greenwood
- A general inability to lock the ball in our forward line Bring In Greenwood
- We can't yet sustain intense pressure across the ground for a whole game (as Richmond showed yesterday, intense pressure wins games) Bring In Greenwood
- we become static, for large parts of the game Bring In Greenwood
- inability of talls to consistently clunk marks Bring In Greenwood
- a lack of balance in our midfield mix Bring In Greenwood
- our key defenders aren't currently able to cope with gun key position forwards Bring In Greenwood
l'm not sure but l think Greenwood should come in for CCJ... ;) :rolleyes:
Marnie?

Preview Changes vs Brisvegas [In: Greenwood, Comben & Shiels / Out: Pink, Lazzaro & CCJ]