I see what you did there - you talking about Eddie?OP chasing more attention with rubbish thread.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I see what you did there - you talking about Eddie?OP chasing more attention with rubbish thread.
So the Pies members have a choice between two groups, neither of which is actually looking towards the best interests of the club’s core focus: winning games of football and netball across their 5 sides.
Right now, the Pies are as follows:
- AFL Men’s team: 16th, hopeless.
- AFL Women’s team: season finished 3rd, bumped out in prelim. Their most successful team.
- VFL Men’s team: 10th with a game in hand, battling to make the 6.
- VFL Women’s: Unbeaten and dominant.
- Super Netball: 5th and just out of finals.
So 2/5 definite contenders, 1 borderline, 1 chasing and 1 hopeless.
The problem is the hopeless one probably brings in 90% of revenue.
So Pies voting members, my question to any prospective board member asking for your vote would be:
“What would you do to restore the ongoing dominance of the Collingwood Football Club through the sustained success and winning of premierships by the club’s primary revenue maker, being the men’s AFL side?’
Long overdue thread. Need a sideshow through the quiet bye rounds.
Thank you.
And let's be honest, one of Australia's great plays is based on Collingwood internal shenanigans so this thread follows in David Williamson's footsteps
I feel for the rank and file members. They have a club board that simply doesn't care about them.
It genuinely amazes me how few club members not only at Collingwood but across the comp get any say in how the club is run.
True of most clubs.
True of all clubs I dare say.
Before anyone says their club is different...When was the last time a candidate who didn't have the support of the current board won election?
I feel for the rank and file members. They have a club board that simply doesn't care about them.
The mess the pies are in make you appreciate Peggy and Gale even more.
So the Pies members have a choice between two groups, neither of which is actually looking towards the best interests of the club’s core focus: winning games of football and netball across their 5 sides.
- AFL Women’s team: season finished 3rd, bumped out in prelim. Their most successful team.
So Pies voting members, my question to any prospective board member asking for your vote would be:
“What would you do to restore the ongoing dominance of the Collingwood Football Club through the sustained success and winning of premierships by the club’s primary revenue maker, being the men’s AFL side?’
It genuinely amazes me how few club members not only at Collingwood but across the comp get any say in how the club is run.
This is precisely the issue.So the Pies members have a choice between two groups, neither of which is actually looking towards the best interests of the club’s core focus: winning games of football and netball across their 5 sides.
Are you happy with 4 flags since the Hindenburg exploded?We’ve had only 4 different Presidents and 4 different Coaches over the past 36 years.
We turnover our officials LESS than anyone. That’s why you’re all wetting your pants over this, none of you can remember Collingwood having any Admin turmoil before.
We are usually at the top of the ladder, but pressure builds over time, people stay too long and it comes to a head. Out last big upheaval was 1982, before that was 1974. But it always gets resolved and we move on. That’s our history.
Enjoy it bed wetters while you can.
yep,theyd have a whiff of eddy's shit stains in the background no doubt,the pong permeates over the joint even tho he last laid a stoolTotally.
But I reckon the best laid plans here might just go awry
All bar two on our board are AFL planted, including Eddie’s CEO of JamTv. How conflicted is that?
Whilst Wanganeen promotes another teams game in Dreamtime.
This is precisely the issue.
McGuire set up the club so that it was a King, a bishop and 5 pawns. Plus a tonne of proxy votes from sponsors to use as they feel.
The king had/has carte blanche to do whatever they like, such as installing a mate as coach despite them not interviewing for the role and not having coaching experience. Then gives them a decade as coach, despite having gone backwards on the ladder for 9 out of 10 seasons. And lets the coach choose his best mates as assistants. Then also overrates and overpays players on the list resulting in a salary cap crisis. And then nobody is every held to account for any decision or non-decision.
This system was always going to be anti-evolutionary long term. The strange thing is that based on McGuire's comments on Footy Classified yesterday that he doesn't understand at all that his legacy is actually the problem...
We’ve had only 4 different Presidents and 4 different Coaches over the past 36 years.
We turnover our officials LESS than anyone. That’s why you’re all wetting your pants over this, none of you can remember Collingwood having any Admin turmoil before.
We are usually at the top of the ladder, but pressure builds over time, people stay too long and it comes to a head. Out last big upheaval was 1982, before that was 1974. But it always gets resolved and we move on. That’s our history.
Enjoy it bed wetters while you can.