Congratulations Hawthorn!!!!

It's not the Australian way to try and boast and tell everyone how good you think you are. Of course people are going to tell you you're a w***er.

Most adults can ignore it or applaud it when someone is boasting about success. Especially if it is granted.

Its generally the insecure or immature who feel the need to come onto an internet forum and aggresively try all angles to cut down an anonymous poster they've never met.

You're showing us how mature you are in this thread. Seriously, why does Hawthorn's financial success bother you so much? Nobody is talking about on-field success, just happy and impressed at the turnaround from the financial rabble it was 13 years ago.

Why does this bother you so much?

Tell me, what was Geelongs membership figure before 2007? what is it now?

2006 - 32,290 members
2007 - 30,169 members
2008 - 36,850 members
2009 - 37,160 members

So, we had an 18% jump in memberships from our 2007 membership to our 2009 membership. Hawthorn's membership in 2007 was 31,064. What is it now? Over 50,000? But no, not many Hawks fans jumped on the bandwagon, did they?

Home games against Hawthorn, Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton suggest otherwise

Last time I checked, Melbourne was in the same state as Geelong. Which state did Hawthorn play their home games against West Coast, Brisbane, North Melbourne and St.Kilda in? I'm sure it wasn't the same state their home ground is in.

It's not the Australian way to try and boast and tell everyone how good you think you are. Of course people are going to tell you you're a w***er.

Well we know you are one for sure.

Wow, what a blistering comeback there tazhawk. You sure showed them! :rolleyes:

What exactly is your point Winty??

That success leads to members?? Groundbreaking stuff there.

I thought 2008 was a fluke, if so why are there so many 'bandwagon' fans?

More importantly, why does this bother you??

2006 - 32,290 members
2007 - 30,169 members
2008 - 36,850 members
2009 - 37,160 members

So, we had an 18% jump in memberships from our 2007 membership to our 2009 membership. Hawthorn's membership in 2007 was 31,064. What is it now? Over 50,000? But no, not many Hawks fans jumped on the bandwagon, did they?
No doubt it had a lot to do with our success in the late 80's and how the children of those years are now old enough to have their own families and after years of average performances have decided to join up.
I've never understood the 'insult' of a bangwagon.
Doesn't make their membership dollar any less worthy to the cause.

Most adults can ignore it or applaud it when someone is boasting about success. Especially if it is granted.

Its generally the insecure or immature who feel the need to come onto an internet forum and aggresively try all angles to cut down an anonymous poster they've never met.

You're showing us how mature you are in this thread. Seriously, why does Hawthorn's financial success bother you so much? Nobody is talking about on-field success, just happy and impressed at the turnaround from the financial rabble it was 13 years ago.

Why does this bother you so much?

I don't really care. This will be my 4th post in this long thread, none of which were addressing the op which I thought was fairly reasonable. Continue to read further posts from the thread creator and others and you will see it's not all one way, your mock outrage is most amusing.

What do the majority (not just the 8000 Hawthorn members) of Tasmanians think about the idea of using there taxpayers money just to prop up a Victorian club, wouldn't they rather being putting there taxpayers money towards a club of there own ?

2006 - 32,290 members
2007 - 30,169 members
2008 - 36,850 members
2009 - 37,160 members

:

I was on the Hawthorn board the other day on the thread about Jesse Smith and one of their posters with a new join date asked if anyone had actually seen Jesse play a good game.

Given Jesse was BOG in the 2007 semi final, I suspect this tells you loads about when that poster discovered his love for the Dawks.

I don't really care. This will be my 4th post in this long thread, none of which were addressing the op which I thought was fairly reasonable. Continue to read further posts from the thread creator and others and you will see it's not all one way, your mock outrage is most amusing.

Im not outraged.

Its just a shame a reasonable thread on the main board cant run without jealous nay-sayers feeling they have to get their two cents in.

What was your aim in contributing to this thread?

Given Jesse was BOG in the 2007 semi final, I suspect this tells you loads about when that poster discovered his love for the Dawks.

I've been a Hawks fan since 86 and I couldnt of told you Jesse was BOG.

I find it easier to pretend games like that didnt happen and remember the games we win! Makes for happier memories. :)

Maybe that was the same for that poster.....? Or maybe not..

who cares what they think? They're doing it & it has been a successful marketing campaign for the state. Especially with a famous premiership so early on the sponsorship's life. Remember that premiership? You were probably there & the image of the Tassie state marketing logo against a brown & gold backdrop en-grained in your mind forever more.

The whole city of Geelong would share the same memories as yourself & this in turn would have led to huge tourism $$ being fed into Tasmania from the citizens of Geelong. It really has been a win-win situation for all involved, even Geelong.

What do the majority (not just the 8000 Hawthorn members) of Tasmanians think about the idea of using there taxpayers money just to prop up a Victorian club, wouldn't they rather being putting there taxpayers money towards a club of there own ?

When all else fails hey mate?

Suddenly you're the ambassador for Tasmanians and their interestes are you?

Gotta admire your persistence.

I was on the Hawthorn board the other day on the thread about Jesse Smith and one of their posters with a new join date asked if anyone had actually seen Jesse play a good game.

(Shakes head sadly...)

Yep, there are some Dawks among our supporter base, granted. But all clubs do have them.

(Except Geelong, of course
The self-proclaimed greatest team in the history of organised sport can do no wrong. Just read this thread as proof).

If he gets picked up by Hawthorn, this apparently new Hawk lover will get to see him play in a premiership.

I sincerely hope we get another 15,000 "bandwagoners" to sign up as members after our next premiership. imagine that? 65, 000 members in 2012.

Good question.

Nothing to do with Hawthorn or this thread, but a very fair question.

It is their club and their money though, not there club.

Never heard of the 1976,78 Premierships won against North. :eek:

I see you avoided the question once again.

Has any Geelong supporter on Big Footy ever seen them beat the Hawks in a Final.

There are at least two I know of who post here occasionally who saw us beat you twice in 1963.

But what amuses me is that this total domination of us in finals involves just 4 games since we beat you in those two 1963 matches, three of which were decided by just 6, 2 and 8 points.

I also don't see how this record makes any difference to the fact that...

1. We are the reigning premiers again.

2. Despite being reigning premiers season just gone, you couldn't even manage to back that up with one measly finals appearance.

3. This thread is the biggest lot of self serving twaddle i've ever seen on BF, and considering some of the drivel your supporters have managed to come up with over time (especially in the last 12 months), that's saying something.

P.S You haven't beaten North in a final since 1983 :p

There are at least two I know of who post here occasionally who saw us beat you twice in 1963.

But what amuses me is that this total domination of us in finals involves just 4 games since we beat you in those two 1963 matches, three of which were decided by just 6, 2 and 8 points.

I also don't see how this record makes any difference to the fact that...

1. We are the reigning premiers again.

2. Despite being reigning premiers season just gone, you couldn't even manage to back that up with one measly finals appearance.

3. This thread is the biggest lot of self serving twaddle i've ever seen on BF, and considering some of the drivel your supporters have managed to come up with over time (especially in the last 12 months), that's saying something.

P.S You haven't beaten North in a final since 1983 :p

Two finals in that time, one lost in extra time. Hardly something to lose sleep over just yet.

However, we have won 6 flags since 1983, compared to North 2 (and Geelong 2) so I think I'd rather be us than them (or you).

Thanks anyway.