Congratulations Hawthorn!!!!

Oh FFS not this argument again.
GEELONG PREMIERSHIPS - 1878 , 1879 , 1890 , 1882 , 1883 , 1884 , 1886 , 1925 , 1931 , 1937 , 1951 , 1952 , 1963 , 2007 , 2009 .
Now you watch what people say - "oh, but I'm only narrowing the period down to this or this".
The fact is that Geelong have won 15 premierships, which is third behind Carlton (17) and Essendon (16)

Oooops, I'm going to have to give a massive apology to Port Adelaide here, they have 35 premierships, a bit more than all the others.
I appreciate the people who have pre-VFA information, it all counts, unlike some Hawthorn supporters who love to draw a line in the sand at fifty years ago and delete all history previous to that as if the club didn't exist.
So some people are surprised at Geelong people replying to this thread. I'm sure that if I started a thread like this after the 2006 season, there would have been a lot of WCE supports joining in for a bit of a laugh.
Just remember folks that at least three of the identities on this thread are done by the same person, so I'm not taking the comments on this thread as a general attitude of all Hawthorn supporters.
So now this thread has over 7000 views, we sure are keeping the Big Footy fans entertained.

People are really pushing the pet membership issue in this thread aren't they.

You'd think half of the MCG was filled with dogs & cats the way some people carry on.

Hawthorn's success story should be an inspiration to all the other Victorian clubs out there that are struggling with memberships & net profit returns of around $600k or less. Memberships in the 30k range & profits of under $1m will not be enough in the decade ahead. Hawthorn is leading the way on and off the field in this new era of AFL. The other clubs are beginning to implement our business and marketing strategies in an attempt to bridge the gap between us.

This is quite funny, every club has "pets", "dead relatives", "babies" etc on their membership list, THAT IS A FACT.

To say Hawthorn does not have Pets on their membership list is either a stupid comment or a plain lie.

I'll go with the latter seeing a Hawthorn supporter is making the case here.

As for why Hawthorn have more members then anyone else, it's an easy explanation, TASMANIA.

Hawthorn were smart enough to find another market outside of Victoria to add to their membership, and it worked, they have to be given credit for that.
Hawthorn has about 3698 tassie members....can you please remove that number from our total and get back to me....:)

People are really pushing the pet membership issue in this thread aren't they.

You'd think half of the MCG was filled with dogs & cats the way some people carry on.

Hawthorn's success story should be an inspiration to all the other Victorian clubs out there that are struggling with memberships & net profit returns of around $600k or less. Memberships in the 30k range & profits of under $1m will not be enough in the decade ahead. Hawthorn is leading the way on and off the field in this new era of AFL. The other clubs are beginning to implement our business and marketing strategies in an attempt to bridge the gap between us.

Franko,
There are not enough intelligent posters from other clubs to understand where we are coming from, basically setting the club up now, for the years ahead. There's no point trying to talk sense to those who don't want to listen!! They are not worth a cracker in the intelligence area..:rolleyes:
It's a waste of time even trying..Jealousy is a curse, and that's what comes through tenfold in the replies to this thread...
Let them rant and rave as much as they like, doesn't worry me in the least. I love it, makes me laugh every time I read one of them...I am sure the majority of them are under 14 years of age anyway, with a lot to learn!!:DIf not, they certainly act like it..

The hawks certainly have a lock on ****wit supporters.
Some kind of breeding program perhaps?
IM hear'n ya...:p And what sort of club would sing ...
"We are Geelong ,the greatest team of all"
Talk about genetic throw backs...:eek:

That was the case in this years prelim, and I'm predicting that will be the case in next years GF.

A question that has been lingering in my mind for quite a while now is

"Are Hawthorn being groomed for a permanent relocation to Tasmania ??"

I reckon that will be next on the agenda once West Sydney are up and running.
I also think that a change in government in Tassie could throw the cat amongst the pigeons.
Any non-Hawthorn supporters have any opinion on that.

How embarresing for all you hawks supporters that are good blokes......
Wherever you are.
What a grandiose comment to make in light of your avatar that highlights a player having his face busted and nearly losing his sight. Classy.

newcs said:

I reckon that will be next on the agenda once West Sydney are up and running.
I also think that a change in government in Tassie could throw the cat amongst the pigeons.
Any non-Hawthorn supporters have any opinion on that.
*crickets*

If you honestly think Hawthorn are any chance of relocation, when they have the size membership they do, state of the art facilities and are being ran better than almost any club in AFL, where do you think Collingwood will end up?:rolleyes:

Tall poppy syndrome, it's the Australian way. It appears many find it hard to swallow that actions speak louder than words. Perhaps the Hawks should be leaching the AFL because that would surely be better financially for all teams in the AFL.:rolleyes: Yes?

Obviously the OP sentiment was lost on many of the people so quick to think of a denigrating remark. Instead of wasting your jealousy energies in putting down the Hawks, it might be a better idea in directing as much energy into getting your club to achieve it's best.:thumbsu:

$3m for 4 games and a Major Sponsorship agreement

St Kilda were getting 700-800,000 for 2 games down there a season in the mid 2000's and given their 40,000 average in Melbourne supposedly couldn't justify playing the games down there

Hawthorn play 4 games down there and draw 50,000+ to home games in Melbourne

A point lost on many ie the Saints made no net cash out of Tas once they were in the eight.

Given Hawthorn averaged substantially higher crowds than the Saints did then at TD (and have a better stadium deal) and have a much higher membership you have to wonder why anyone would think they wouldnt be very profitable without the Tas games.

What was North's last sponsorship worth? You would think Hawthorn would be able to get quite a bit more than that.

Plus an extra $400k from an additional 4 MCG games plus not having to pay out on designated "home" games in Melbourne, etc etc.

There are those that have shown strong support for voting their club out of existence.

That, situation, however did not and will not happen at Hawthorn.

$3m for 4 games and a Major Sponsorship agreement

St Kilda were getting 700-800,000 for 2 games down there a season in the mid 2000's and given their 40,000 average in Melbourne supposedly couldn't justify playing the games down there

Hawthorn play 4 games down there and draw 50,000+ to home games in Melbourne
So the deal is $3mil for 4 games, remove that deal and how much profit does the club make?

Actually we do

We had 2000 MCC Supporter and 1 game Tasmanian members last year that weren't counted in the tally

Unlike most clubs we don't offer pet memberships
Already acknowledged that you don't offer pet memberships, but you can't seriously tell me that not 1 Hawks member hasn't signed up their cat/dog/fish/bird as a member. If you believe that then I'm guessing you also put out cookies on Xmas eve for Santa too.

Not our problem

Its not our fault most of our supporters can supposedly fork out more for memberships and hence can actually afford to become better supporters than other clubs

Hawthorn supporters are hands down the best supporters in the league.

The fact that we've already got 21,066 members signed up already for next year despite only having the membership on the market for less than a month only supports that statement further
Reckon that might have something to do with this:

Originally Posted by Buddy and the Hawk
Funny how different clubs get it done at different times. Haven't heard a word from Richmond about my renewal, yet the Hawks told me if I wasn't paid up by the end of Oct i'd lose my seat. Membership numbers mean nothing until the start of the season.
No wonder you've got over 21k already signed up, they were bullied into it by the family club.

Tasmania have made it quite obvious that their goal is to have they own team, they're not doing the Hawthorn sponsorship deals because they like them, they are using Hawthorn so they can get a foot in the door.
If they get their own team, they will simply say to Hawthorn "sorry mate, we got our own team to take care of now, nice knowing ya".
If they don't get their own team, they will start putting the screws into Hawthorn to relocate.
When will Hawthorn realise that they are just being used.

You are calling us nuffies? But, but, but...........you're from Tassie.

lol, says the Collingwood supporter from Boronia.

So the deal is $3mil for 4 games, remove that deal and how much profit does the club make?

wow, no flies on you. No wonder you're such an esteemed mod.

Your sparkling intellect has deduced that if you null-and-voided our major sponsorship, our yearly profit wouldn't have been what it was.

Where's the 'standing ovation' smilie?

As usual the Geelong Flogs come out in force.

I suppose the fact that they have been the Hawks bitches for so long starts to cut deep after a while.

I have yet to hear of one Geelong Flog that has seen their team win a Final against the Hawks.

Cue the usual "but you never even made the Finals last year" brigade.

No one and I mean no one who supports Geelong will answer the question.

Why is it that the Hawks treat Geelong like their bitches in Finals ?

The same reason North treat you like their bitches in finals?