List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't want to come off negatively here but since 87 I have never felt so utterly helpless being a supporter, I have always thought we were only a few years away from success in a down period. This squad is so poor compared to our past teams I'm going to say we are a decade away from rising out of this quagmire, Tassie will suck more talent away from depleted stock with the AFL hell bent on helping out GWS and Gold Coast to the demise of other clubs. Our only hope is to get the rule changed on the under pick 40 for academy players and use it somehow to leap back up the ladder.

Not with that attitude.

Look, travel will always be the biggest factor, but the truth is that Perth is often cited as a great place to live, Melbourne and Sydney are increasingly being seen as difficult places to live. We can offer some of the best weather in the world, best beaches, best weekend getaways, the advantages of a big city without the disadvantages of a huge city. We can get these kids in a mansion for the price of a 4x2 in the burbs of Melbourne, get 'em a jet ski or boat. If we can't sell Perth, we aren't trying hard enough. There's a reason a lot of the kids that come over end up staying.
McCluggage is mostly in to golf, and playing the field (a lot).

Anyone over there familiar with SEQ, that whole group usually head up to the Sunshine Coast or Islands, and do the whole boat and jet ski bit.

Right now, they’re all selling up their Bulimba and Coorparoo properties and moving closer to our new training base, moving to areas like Graceville & Sherwood, or Mt Ommaney & Westlake, though a couple of gone for inner north side around Paddington.

People probably gotta add Liam Baker into the thought process here. More likely to get him then any other name mentioned so far

Don’t see a situation where he end up with us and not Freo. They’ll have cap space and the picks to satisfy Richmond. Clarke is the wildcard but can’t see how that makes any difference.

A normal contract for years 3-4 is 400-500K for a first rounder.

Assuming Hewett and Ginbey are closer to 500 and the others you mentioned 400K

That’s a combined 1.8m in the cap at the very most, and I probably put a fair bit of mayo on those figures.

We are a mile off our young talent causing us cap issues in the way it has caused GWS issues.
Just an example, Gold Coast re-signed their 2016 draftees to $650k per contracts.

Brisbane weren’t far behind with our 2016 & 2017 draftees.

There’s already talk, on podcasts, what Harley’s next contract will be worth, and they’re talking the type of money some here are talking about for McCluggage.
There was an immediate 10% increase in cap for 2023 as CBA had expired in 2022.

On top of that a 12% increase this year and 30% over 5 years.

We are likely going to struggle meeting the 95% cap floor for the next 2 years.

Is it too early to anticipate this years delistings?

Definite Delist / Retire
Josh Rotham
Alex Witherden
Andrew Gaff
Zane Trew
In the mix for Delisting
Harry Edwards
Jack Williams
Jordyn Baker
Luke Edwards
Jack Williams who just turned 20 in December and has shown a fair bit in the wafl and kicked 1 of our 3 goals on the weekend is not in the mix for delisting .

Think Ledwards will get 1 year and probably Baker will stay on the rookie list another year . Baker has played reasonably well in the wafl so far

Just an example, Gold Coast re-signed their 2016 draftees to $650k per contracts.

Brisbane weren’t far behind with our 2016 & 2017 draftees.

There’s already talk, on podcasts, what Harley’s next contract will be worth, and they’re talking the type of money some here are talking about for McCluggage.

I reckon Harleys next deal is either 1 million per year for 2 years if he stays, or a monster long term deal if he leaves.

Mind sharing the poddys that talk about it?

And maybe giving a heads up about what they’re saying?

McCluggage is mostly in to golf, and playing the field (a lot).

Anyone over there familiar with SEQ, that whole group usually head up to the Sunshine Coast or Islands, and do the whole boat and jet ski bit.

Right now, they’re all selling up their Bulimba and Coorparoo properties and moving closer to our new training base, moving to areas like Graceville & Sherwood, or Mt Ommaney & Westlake, though a couple of gone for inner north side around Paddington.

Sherwood and Graceville are much nicer areas than Mt Ommaney.

Mt Ommaney reminds me a lot of Dianiella in Perth, fairly affluent but suburb just lacks character and bit of a family suburb. Not much to do but go to local shopping centre. Wouldn’t imagine it’s a lot of fun for a football player.

If I’m in Brisbane a I’d definitely prefer living in Paddington or Red Hill.

Bit of a hike to Springfield though.

I don't want to come off negatively here but since 87 I have never felt so utterly helpless being a supporter, I have always thought we were only a few years away from success in a down period. This squad is so poor compared to our past teams I'm going to say we are a decade away from rising out of this quagmire, Tassie will suck more talent away from depleted stock with the AFL hell bent on helping out GWS and Gold Coast to the demise of other clubs. Our only hope is to get the rule changed on the under pick 40 for academy players and use it somehow to leap back up the ladder.

I don’t want to heap on while you’re feeling down, but even if the AFL changed the NGA rules it wouldn’t help that much.

Our academy doesn’t spit out high end talent the way others do. Just from zoning reasons.

Erasmus the only one that has gone first round.

I don’t want to heap on while you’re feeling down, but even if the AFL changed the NGA rules it wouldn’t help that much.

Our academy doesn’t spit out high end talent the way others do. Just from zoning reasons.

Erasmus the only one that has gone first round.

And Collard

Even if it was only really due to an absurdly long first round

As a baseline we need to draft 3 players and Witherden, Gaff, Trew seem like the obvious picks for delisting there. If we want to draft 4 or more then add Jones and try and convince Darling to retire/pay him out.

Rotham has played a fair amount of AFL football, is only 26, and likely only seems to be on the outer because he's been injured for most of the past 18 months. Came straight back in once fit and I think [and hope] he proves himself to be best 22. May still prove to have trade value if we insist on cutting him but he'd be 6th or 7th in line. I'm not sure we need to make that many changes again this year.

Delisting Harry Edwards is playing with fire considering how many games Gov has strung together in the past 3 years, the greenness of Bazzo, and degenerate chronic back issues with Barrass. In any case, if we were trying to offload him I'd be astonished if another club didn't want to pick him up for a late draft pick, with North being foremost among those.

Ideally, delist Gaff, Trew, Witherden and Jones. Trade out Rotham and Harry Edwards. Bring in Busslinger and another target via trade. Hit the draft with 4 picks and focus on quality over quantity. Using a priority pick on Buss and trading defenders and pick swaps to North in exchange for Riley Hardeman would be pretty sweet in my book.

I don’t want to chase English or McCluggage as our primary FA strategy this year but want to maximise our salary cap position. I’d rather address multiple gaps with good players, improve the on field leadership issues and be competitive in matches and also for spots otherwise we’re just going to lose our kids. Obviously if that isn’t looking likely we need to look at other options such as marquee players.

DELIST:
Witherden, Gaff, Jones, Baker, HEdwards, Rotham, LEdwards, Trew

I’m not exactly sure what’s “market value” anymore with the salary cap increase but something along the lines of the following assuming it would pay the players on 4 year deals an extra 600-800k or so over the life of the deal than they would have received at their club otherwise. The point isn’t exact salaries, it’s front loading to use our cap position, I’m sure there are plenty on here who are more familiar with exact player salaries and what it would take to get them over.

TRADE
Busslinger (600 x 2 then 300 x 2)

FA
Cumming (1m x 1 then 550 x 3)
Perryman (1m x 1 then 550 x 3)
Haynes (600 x 1, 18 game trigger second year or well paid coaching role)
Boak (600 x 1 then well paid coaching role)

I’d be pretty happy with that for a $3.2m outlay in 2025 when we have cap space and at zero draft capital cost apart from a 2R for Buss.

R1 2025 team would be competitive
B: Duggan Barrass Perryman
HB: Haynes Gov Hough
C: Cumming Kelly Boak
HF: Cripps BWilliams Hewett
F: Ryan Allen Long
R: Flynn Yeo Reid
I: Busslinger Ginbey Maric F.O’Sullivan

Sub: Brockman

Suddenly there’s a few players Hall, Burgiel, Waterman, Chesser, Sheed, Culley etc who are missing out on a game that could add something to the team with pressure to perform should they get called up.
I doubt much of that would be achievable.

Busslinger should be a priority.

Perryman is a role player and Cummin is injury prone . Both NSW academy boys .

I feel we would be better targeting Baker and zurhaah.

Both can role through the midfield for the next 2 years but both can play other positions when our young mids take the reigns .

If we were to target all of English , Baker zurhaah, busslinger and kaleb Smith we could be far more competitive and they will be around until 2028 - 2030 at least .

No old guys IMO

I doubt much of that would be achievable.

Busslinger should be a priority.

Perryman is a role player and Cummin is injury prone . Both NSW academy boys .

I feel we would be better targeting Baker and zurhaah.

Both can role through the midfield for the next 2 years but both can play other positions when our young mids take the reigns .

If we were to target all of English , Baker zurhaah, busslinger and kaleb Smith we could be far more competitive and they will be around until 2028 - 2030 at least .

No old guys IMO
Agree with Buss. Perryman huge upgrade on Cole/JJ and by all accounts an excellent clubman and leader. Cumming also a step above Gaff/Hunt but obviously need to do due diligence. Zuurhah is an interesting one, not sure that we need him but I am sure North would match any offer we would conceivably make unless it’s band 1. Baker also would cost us more than our 2R which would leave us with SFA for the draft.

No old guys is fine as long as there’s a plan, just think having guys like Boak and Haynes for a year or two for some onfield leadership (and ability) would be a good move rather than putting games into JJ/Rotham who let’s be honest are not AFL quality and won’t be around medium term.

Article written by Caitlin Bassett in The West today reports:

“Yeo has started the season in vintage form and is likely to get a two-year deal with the club amid reported interest from Essendon, Sydney and Gold Coast at the end of last season.”

She also then goes on to say that other than Gaff, Rotham is the only uncontracted player left this year which is obviously a load of shit.

Bassett is an awful reporter and regularly gets names and facts wrong but assuming she’s correct on this occasion I’d be very happy with a 2 year deal for Yeo.

West Coast co-captain Liam Duggan is understood to be on the verge of signing a multi-year contract extension with the club.

Duggan, who is in his first year as skipper, is one of three senior players who are out-of-contract at the end of this season — as well as Elliot Yeo and Andrew Gaff — with the 2018 premiership star reportedly in talks over a long-term deal that would likely see him become an Eagle for life.

It comes after All-Australian forward Liam Ryan signed a two-year contract extension in January, despite the 27-year-old yet to play this season after surgery on a hamstring injury sustained at training.

Yeo has started the season in vintage form and is likely to get a two-year deal with the club amid reported interest from Essendon, Sydney and Gold Coast at the end of last season.

Its a good move we don't have many senior players in his age bracket and he has shown such loyalty since been drafted .

If we start having guys like duggan keen to stay on and do the hard yards it will hopefully rub off on the younger guys

Its a good move we don't have many senior players in his age bracket and he has shown such loyalty since been drafted .

If we start having guys like duggan keen to stay on and do the hard yards it will hopefully rub off on the younger guys

That’s true, but gee has he been incredibly poor this season. I’m not sure it’s all his fault though, Simmo seems to think Duggan is a lot better than he is and is trying to give him more midfield responsibilities when he’s clearly out of his depth there.

Hasn't this club learnt from previous mistakes Duggan on long term deal Nah cant be true media taking the micky.
I mean he's not a star player, but he's the team captain, a solid and durable contributer & an age profile we're lacking.

Zero problem with him getting a long term deal tbh

If we end up with pick 1 and Jagga slides to 5-10 and we can turn pick 1 into Jagga and Noah Mraz I reckon that’s a best case scenario for us on projection. Then pick up a rebounding half back with kicking skills and penetration (Riley Hardeman would have been perfect) with our 2R.

That is so far from the truth, you should be ashamed. Genuinely. No p!ss take comment.

I specifically replied to you, on the Lions forum, when you dropped in, that some, not all, some of my posts specifically mentioning the academy/academies is me poking you, and just you, with a stick, AFTER you have had a whinge about them here.

Because you sook about them all the freaking time.

No it was about our age profile, and such a dip in performance has often been a precursor to a side winning a flag. Then referenced Hawthorn, Geelong, Melbourne and Tigers all experiencing such a year before winning a flag.

Then mentioned we’ll get players back from long term injury next year, and we’ll get Levi.

Said discussion about our flag window ending is premature.

You have turned into a smug troll who no longer adds anything of value on here.

On other boards you would have been sent packing along time ago.

Dont bother replying your on ignore.