List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Exactly my point. Why use a pic on buss if sam is soon available. Buss is a great get but I'd argue not priority. Our mids and wings imo is priority
Even if we were assured of getting Taylor we still need a young developing KPD. Next year may be Gov’s last then even if we got Taylor Buss gets 3-4 years as the third tall intercepting and distributing which are his strengths before he gets a body big enough to play as a KPD in his own right once TB retires.

He is deadset loaded financially. He is as setup as a AFL player is going to be.

Would say he is in the realms of richest player in AFL type territory with his pub and real estate ownerships

He left Brissie over a minor pay dispute, was on good coin from the day he walked in.

Did take unders on his deal 2017-2022. He was on 750, Gaff, TK and Gov got all the big money.

He’s probably felt undervalued by the club, and arguably he has been.

He left Brissie over a minor pay dispute, was on good coin from the day he walked in.

Did take unders on his deal 2017-2022. He was on 750, Gaff, TK and Gov got all the big money.

He's a perth boy who is set up here who will get paid very close to whatever the Crows can offer to stay here. Older players only leave if they get forced out.

Thats a falsehood. He was always leaving Brisbane from the second they drafted him. I think they knew that also which is why contract negotations didnt go that well

Yeo’s about to become a father and get married, both families live in WA and I understand his father is a bit crook. I’m very confident the Eagles will look after him and bump up the $$ if form and the market warrant it, we’ll have huge space over the next twp years. I would be absolutely shocked if he left. Like Buddy to Sydney Swans shocked.

Those offers coming from other clubs for Yeo seem quite reckless

Three years at close to an average of $1m a year with his injury history is taking a big gamble that he’s put those troubles behind him

Don’t want to see him leave but we need to offer him what’s fair rather than matching other offers.

Hmmm he had barely played since 2019. That’s 4 full seasons before this one. Undervalued or not getting their moneys…goes both ways.

It’s also hard to imagine he has all of a sudden been healed forever. Would be interesting to see how much of offered money is guaranteed.

Don’t want him to go and hope club can find a solution but if not, hope he does well as he has brought us joy and is premiership player.

Hopefully the Eagles just hold firm on our offer to Yeo, yes in blistering form but he is also a walking injury, I wouldn't be investing too many years or cash as not sure he'd last 3 more years.

First round pick would be valuable. More so if we can get looked after by the AFL like North was and get it after our first.

Three years at close to an average of $1m a year with his injury history is taking a big gamble that he’s put those troubles behind him

Don’t want to see him leave but we need to offer him what’s fair rather than matching other offers.

Happy to match or get close to whatever his salary offers are from elsewhere

But we shouldn’t be offering more than 2 guaranteed years. I’d be disappointed if we caved and offered 3, I don’t trust his body at all, he’s literally injured again as it stands.

Could see Yeo going either way but if he's does cash in and we got an end of 1st rounder that we could potentially turn into Baker then that's probably in win-win territory.

We all know that we'll be winning the 2030 premiership, but (and I can't believe I'm saying this), are we a sneaky chance to make a push next year while we still have Yeo, McGovern, and Cripps?

With Reid yet to be on big coin, we could go hard on front-loaded contracts over the off season.
English as a FA is a divisive one, but there's no denying he's an upgrade on Flynn or B. Williams. As long as he's only chewing up a larger portion of the salary cap for the first couple years, then I wouldn't pass on the opportunity to bring him in without losing draft capital.
Baker looks likely, although we don't want to forsake the future by overpaying in the short term. But with English coming in and the likes of J. Williams and A. Reid rising as FWD/RUCK options, Bailey Williams becomes expendable. Trade him for Baker.
Busslinger for a 2nd or F2 as someone who can step in straight away as our 3rd tall defender whilst still possessing rebounding ability should be our top priority IMO. And even if Witherden/Rotham/Bazzo/Jamieson/H.Edwards trump him for a spot in 2025, he'll be excellent depth and a perfect McGovern replacement in the future.
Somehow landing Warner would be remarkable, too. But I don't see it happening just yet.
And finally, draft someone like Draper who can step right in but also looks like a terrific long-term prospect, and all of a sudden we have the making of a damn good side...

2025 Premiership team

Hough Barrass Busslinger
Duggan McGovern Baker
Chesser Yeo Hunt
Cripps Allen Hewett
Ryan Waterman Maric
English Reid Kelly

INT: Ginbey, Draper, J. Williams, Cole
Sub: Petch

Depth:
DEF - Witherden, Rotham, Bazzo, Jamieson, H. Edwards, Burgiel, Jones
MID - Sheed, Johnston, Hall, Culley, L. Edwards,
FWD - Darling, Long, Dewar, Brockman, A. Reid, Champion
RUCK - Flynn

Defence looks great and has terrific depth. We're lacking an elite rebounder, but with Gov back to top form we seem to be rebounding well again.
Starting midfield looks insane. Perhaps lacking in depth but with the likes of Hewett, Baker, Petch and Duggan being able to have a run through the centre, we should be fine.
Forwardline looks dangerous (Longy didn't even make the cut!), and the luxury of allowing Allen to push further up the ground while Waterman clunks it on the goal line is mouthwatering. Ryan looks be flyin' again too, thank goodness. Although, I would still love to snag a quality small forward. Could Champion step right in? Throw Baker forward, perhaps? Lure Stengle west a pipedream?
And of course the rucks are shored up with English, Flynn as back-up, and J. Williams offering ruck support.

Call me mad, but with 2024 as a promising developmental year, could we be a genuine contender next year?

What would Yeo leaving net us in compo pick terms?

I know his age and the contract length would be a factor which would likely stop us from getting band 1, but could we get an end of first at least?

We get a free uninjured groin for 12 months.

At his age, reckon it’s sweet f all. Our compo is a bigger salary cap.

Beggars cant be choosers. 3 years 2 mill isnt too reckless providing he is happy with triggers in that deal.

I love yeo but if we can turn him into getting Liam baker with the end of first round compo I wouldn’t be against it.

Great call :thumbsu: , both good options and Langford has impressed me with his ball use.
Our second rounder is bang on where I think they will come off the board.

That said Busslinger would be my # 1 target at seasons end, I am hoping a F2 might get that done.
I think the Dogs will push hard for our 2R (or more). There is a neat little trade with Gold Coast that essentially centres around Pick 3 and F2 for pick 8, 11 and 20.

That would give us the capital to get Buss and one of the two above (or other three I mentioned) as well as Travaglia and another high end mid.

Really hope we’re on the front foot telling GCS we like Lombard but would be open to splitting.