List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Our top three games record holders are Hurn pick 13, Cox rookie draft and Darling pick 26, so by your logic the whole draft system is basically a blind throw at a dartboard.
I mean outside of the top 10-15 it becomes one quite quickly.

The average difference in games played between pick 15 and pick 40 is like 25 games.

To be fair cox was 20 years ago and darling slid because he rooted too hard haha. Pick 13 for hurns position is pretty high.

I mean outside of the top 10-15 it becomes one quite quickly.

To be fair cox was 20 years ago and darling slid because he rooted too hard haha. Pick 13 for hurns position is pretty high.
There's always a bit of hit and miss in the draft. Luck does play a part.

Injuries.
Morabito for one could (and probably would) have been a star without injury. I'd have drafted him in an instant if he'd been available.
How many guys have lost their career before it really started. Brad Smith...

Rookie picks.
With Cox, Priddis, Gov and a few others we have got a lot of games out of speculative picks. Done better than probably anyone but Sydney.

But yes, the lower you get, the more lottery it becomes.

What doesn't help is the skewing rules put in place by the AFL. Northern academies, NGA that you develop but can only draft if no-one rates them etc.

Who wouldn't like to go back 15 years and be WcePhil or another recruiter for the next decade?

You are right it doesn’t really matter at all in the grand scheme of things.

It’s more just our drafting process that’s frustrating. You can’t just keep picking best available however if it makes your list unbalanced and hurts the players development.

Our recruiters also decided will Collins was best available in a mid season draft. Our talent identification sucks at times.

Rightly or wrongly we actually considered ourselves contenders that year, so there's a fair chance we used the MSD to fill holes/add depth to our list rather than just go pure best talent. We also took Connor West, and didn't miss out on much afterwards.

Where we are now we need as much talent as we can get, would be crazy to not go the best available in this year's MSD for a positional need in our situation.

we also don’t really know how relevant this ‘medium forward’ tag even is, considering he was playing country footy up until recently. He was probably just pigeon holed there because he was 190 cm (shorter than heaps of midfielders these days).

He’s apparently fast, so in reality his height is meaningless with regard to what position he plays at AFL level. If he was a plodder then you’d be justified in being concerned about being lumped with a Ben McKinley when we already have Waterman, Maric etc.

His highlights suggest he’s zippy and attacks the ball enough to be pretty versatile

Need to add pace, pace and more pace, so a yes from me.

Jayden Hunt at 187cm, with pace, is worth more to our side than he would be to any others, because we = plodders.

Backline of cole, duggan, witho... eeckkkkk. Thank god for Hough, but even he doesn't have electrifying close down pace.

Mids, great at stoppages but carved on the spread as the ball comes out of the oppo backline.

Fwds, great contested marking, but how often do we see a dashing Bobby Hill like run that leaves the oppo pooing?

Slightly taller Hunt (yep I know they play different positions) please, so we can only hope a 22yr old MSD pick 3 can make it at an elite level.

Cudos to the poster that said he had Reid like attributes.

Have to agree, he wears footy boots, has a mouth guard and now plays in the blue & yella, so good luck young fella!

I really rate this kid highly, he's come from a long way back and outside traditional pathways but the talent has always been there. I saw him play once last year and thought he's someone to keep an eye on.

He's been in a semi professional environment for 6 months or less and has come on in leaps and bounds. I don't think we'll start to see the best of him until he's had 2 preseasons but I think he'll play games before then. Has a great attitude, is a little quietly spoken and committed to his trade before footy.

I stand by my comment in the player thread that he was the most talented player picked up in the MSD. The club is obviously looking to do something about the HB to HF situation where we struggle on the outside, he is just another step in the right direction.

I really rate this kid highly, he's come from a long way back and outside traditional pathways but the talent has always been there. I saw him play once last year and thought he's someone to keep an eye on.

He's been in a semi professional environment for 6 months or less and has come on in leaps and bounds. I don't think we'll start to see the best of him until he's had 2 preseasons but I think he'll play games before then. Has a great attitude, is a little quietly spoken and committed to his trade before footy.

I stand by my comment in the player thread that he was the most talented player picked up in the MSD. The club is obviously looking to do something about the HB to HF situation where we struggle on the outside, he is just another step in the right direction.
Given Cripp's age, Ryans injury history, Petrol's injury history / signs in midfield, Culley / Brockaman haven't actualy played enough to know either way, i really don't see why people complained we have too many HFF, we seem really lite on in terms of proven players there. Another flyer, if they have upside, isn't a mistake when the MSD is a crapshoot anyway.

Better than drafting HBF trying to turn into mids

I’m thinking Hutchinson could also play the wing role, depending on endurance
I would say we are looking into the future as all of Darling, Cripps and Ryan are in the twilight of their careers and by the time his contract is up will know as to whether he stays or goes.

Darling and Cripps one more season before retiring.

Ryan gets moved to half back to add run and class.

Maric gets moved to a third tall defender using that exquisite field kicking.

All of a sudden in 18 months we are 3 to 4 current half forwards down. And Hutchingson could play wing or half back. He isn't a KP forward or a small forward as the media keep reporting. Very much a high marking, quick running outside utility type who needs to find his best position.

So somewhat short-sighted saying "we have too many half forwards" IMO.

2025 leading into 2026

Hough Barrass Duggan
Maric McGovern Ryan
Chesser Kelly Hutchingson
Brockman Allan Hewett
Long Waterman J Williams

Foll: Flynn, Reid, Ginbey

Bench: A Reid, Burgiel, 2024 1st, C Hall

Emerg: Culley, Barnett, Bazo, H Johnston, Ruscoe

If he was genuinely upset about being drafted by North then I’d say that is a pretty ordinary attitude. Sure North is a dumpster fire, but this isn’t a Harley Reid talent we are talking about, it’s a kid who was passed over by every club in the comp a few months ago. Now he gets to be on an AFL list and make about $100k a year playing professional footy, which is pretty good coin for a 19 year old, and if he plays well and actually wants to leave North he will be in high demand.

I mean the Eagles have been hot garbage the past two years, especially 2023, but neither Maric nor Culley seemed anything other than ecstatic to get a chance at AFL, even if it meant moving across the country.
Apparently wanted to get to Richmond at pick 2 but yeah shows immaturity to not even pretend he is excited.

Darling and Cripps one more season before retiring.

Ryan gets moved to half back to add run and class.

Maric gets moved to a third tall defender using that exquisite field kicking.

All of a sudden in 18 months we are 3 to 4 current half forwards down. And Hutchingson could play wing or half back. He isn't a KP forward or a small forward as the media keep reporting. Very much a high marking, quick running outside utility type who needs to find his best position.

So somewhat short-sighted saying "we have too many half forwards" IMO.

2025 leading into 2026

Hough Barrass Duggan
Maric McGovern Ryan
Brockman Allan Hewett
Long Waterman J Williams

Find it worrying when future lists are posted, as it highlights how critical the next 2 years are in terms of drafting and attracting FA's.

Currently have more gaps than Bianca Censori on that list in my view:

Elite (short of 3 at least)
V.Good
Better than Average in role
Solid
Playing tennis with Dylan Alcott
?

Hough Barrass Duggan
Maric
McGovern Ryan
Brockman Allan Hewett
Long Waterman J Williams

Find it worrying when future lists are posted, as it highlights how critical the next 2 years are in terms of drafting and attracting FA's.

V.Good
Solid
?

Hough Barrass Duggan
Maric
McGovern Ryan
Brockman Allan Hewett
Long Waterman J Williams

What the flying f***

Clay Hall better than average. The guy hasn't even made the 22 yet.

Same tier as Waterman apparently who's pushing for the Coleman as it stands.

We definitely have gaps on our list but so do all non-triple premiership sides - the pies last year in the GF named Mason Cox as their #1 ruck, De Goey as their full forward and were playing Markov and Frampton. Good teams have 1 or 2 dominant lines and use system and depth to fill the gaps, but they have the crucial players and roles nailed down.

Would love a designated elite HBF distributor (draft or uncover someone like Maric - I don't think Ryan is the answer), another high posession mid (1st rounder this year), a good younger key back (Hopefully Buss) and a genuine goalkicking small crumber (again could possibly uncover someone already on the list but I suspect we'll need to find them elsewhere). Also decide on how we're going about our ruck situation.

But things like our wings being question marks at this stage I'm not too concerned about, those sort of things work themselves out when the system starts to click and fringe players step up.

V.Good
Solid
?

Hough Barrass Duggan
Maric
McGovern Ryan
Brockman Allan Hewett
Long Waterman J Williams

What kind of ****ed ratings are these?

V.Good
Solid
?

Hough Barrass Duggan
Maric
McGovern Ryan
Brockman Allan Hewett
Long Waterman J Williams

Remember that forecast has only one drart pick included and NO trades for 2024 or 2025.

Busslinger hopefully comes in and Bazzo improves to cover Gov and Barrass in 2026 or 2027.

2025 picks not included at all.

If also excludes Bailey Williams and other fringe players who may still be around and surprise. Livingston has upside IMO and one of the Cat B lads likely still improving.

Excludes players traded out as well.

Warner comes in in 2026 and we have two mores development years into our young talls and mids we would be competitive.

And other teams with 10 or 11 30 year olds now in their best 24 will start to drop off.

Rightly or wrongly we actually considered ourselves contenders that year, so there's a fair chance we used the MSD to fill holes/add depth to our list rather than just go pure best talent. We also took Connor West, and didn't miss out on much afterwards.

Where we are now we need as much talent as we can get, would be crazy to not go the best available in this year's MSD for a positional need in our situation.
Will Collin’s wasn’t plugging positional hole either haha. It was just a poor pick with poor talent identification.

There’s no point picking best available in the mid season draft. At talent levels this low it’s purely a lottery. Like I’ve said it’s like picking best available in the 40s in the normal draft. AFL clubs just don’t do that.

There is no evidence that clubs can accurately predict talent in the mid season drafts.

We are missing out on years of developing outside mids and half back flankers and adding to positions we have plenty of coverage.

Will Collin’s wasn’t plugging positional hole either haha. It was just a poor pick with poor talent identification.

There’s no point picking best available in the mid season draft. At talent levels this low it’s purely a lottery. Like I’ve said it’s like picking best available in the 40s in the normal draft. AFL clubs just don’t do that.

There is no evidence that clubs can accurately predict talent in the mid season drafts.

We are missing out on years of developing outside mids and half back flankers and adding to positions we have plenty of coverage.
What an odd take, surely the talent pool being low increases the need for going best available.