List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Nah, I'm the like post king.

I'm not that lazy lol :D After all I put in the time and effort into liking every posts.

Yep.
Just on that post...I agree with nearly everything you said. Apart from below mate;

- H.Edwards: Depth for the team however he lacks pace and would have to go especially of Buss comes.

* I'd like to keep him for one more year and play him a bit more. Think he's just starting to come good.

Busslinger: or trade B.Williams and a third rounder ideally for me especially if Lobb leaves may get it done but expect a second rounder and Big Bailey to get it done.

* No to trading BW, especially with extras. I want Buss for sure but think we can do this other ways.

Baker: Yes for me. Would be a great pickup to help guide the younger players and is a solid player. He's no star but his experience will be crucial along with Yeo to help the younger players. He's pretty quick as well and is experienced so he can be a part of the team's fast contested ball gameplan. If we use our second rounder on Buss then we would have to trade a player for him. I think Petch and Big Bailey (if Buss's value goes down more due to not playing) may get the job done and they send us back their third rounder.

* No to trading BW, especially with extras. I like Baker but wouldn't pay too much. Wish he was 2yrs younger.

Warner: Do not want. As much of a superstar he is, he would cost way too much in terms of draft currency which the club really needs for it's rebuild. I have a feeling this maybe Tim Kelly 2.0 again should we do it but this time we WILL actually miss out on a gun in the draft since the club is bottoming out at this stage unlike with Kelly when the club was still contending. I would personally keep our 2024 and 2025 first rounders thanks. Only way we get him is via FA and that's still a long way away.

* I'd use Bailey as part of the package to get Warner. I'd happily give away one of our 1sts but not both. The best player out of either draft would be lucky to be as good as Warner. (He'll go very close to winning the Brownlow)

What's the **** Tobie travaglia is 187 cm. The dude taking a bunch of intercepts is only 187cm.

Seriously I thought he was 192cm plus taking intercept marks as a tall defender.

That was his selling point marking and kickig. The short dude isn't going to translate to AFL as an elite Backman by basing his game around intercept marking.

My want for him has tanked. A 187cm defender with his game being at excelling marking and kicking is no way worth it.
Think you may be confused on what type of role he will be drafted to play.

Just on that post...I agree with nearly everything you said. Apart from below mate;

- H.Edwards: Depth for the team however he lacks pace and would have to go especially of Buss comes.

* I'd like to keep him for one more year and play him a bit more. Think he's just starting to come good.

Busslinger: or trade B.Williams and a third rounder ideally for me especially if Lobb leaves may get it done but expect a second rounder and Big Bailey to get it done.

* No to trading BW, especially with extras. I want Buss for sure but think we can do this other ways.

Baker: Yes for me. Would be a great pickup to help guide the younger players and is a solid player. He's no star but his experience will be crucial along with Yeo to help the younger players. He's pretty quick as well and is experienced so he can be a part of the team's fast contested ball gameplan. If we use our second rounder on Buss then we would have to trade a player for him. I think Petch and Big Bailey (if Buss's value goes down more due to not playing) may get the job done and they send us back their third rounder.

* No to trading BW, especially with extras. I like Baker but wouldn't pay too much. Wish he was 2yrs younger.

Warner: Do not want. As much of a superstar he is, he would cost way too much in terms of draft currency which the club really needs for it's rebuild. I have a feeling this maybe Tim Kelly 2.0 again should we do it but this time we WILL actually miss out on a gun in the draft since the club is bottoming out at this stage unlike with Kelly when the club was still contending. I would personally keep our 2024 and 2025 first rounders thanks. Only way we get him is via FA and that's still a long way away.

* I'd use Bailey as part of the package to get Warner. I'd happily give away one of our 1sts but not both. The best player out of either draft would be lucky to be as good as Warner. (He'll go very close to winning the Brownlow)
If the Eagles want to bring in any or all of Baker, Busslinger, Garcia and Sheldrick, some tough decisions will need to be made on cuts or some trades generated. There's some obvious cuts but after that, it starts to get a little tricky, potentially cutting guys like Witherden (having a decent season), HEdwards (KPD back-up), Rotham etc.

What's the **** Tobie travaglia is 187 cm. The dude taking a bunch of intercepts is only 187cm.

Seriously I thought he was 192cm plus taking intercept marks as a tall defender.

That was his selling point marking and kickig. The short dude isn't going to translate to AFL as an elite Backman by basing his game around intercept marking.

My want for him has tanked. A 187cm defender with his game being at excelling marking and kicking is no way worth it.

You wouldnt want another Brad Sheppard quality type on halfback?

He could transition into a Will Day midfielder or wing.

A definate position of need. Same height as Harley and Hewett. Just slighter.

Geez, interesting thought on Travaglia!
His rebounding game is class, and that's why we'd draft him. His work in congestion to beat his opponent, get hands on the footy then use elite hands to get it to outside. He's a guy who can beat his defender one on one and then provide rebound.
The intercept marking is just cream really!

Plus, he'd be playing on midsized forwards and if the balls coming in one on one he can still intercept mark. Just not the pack stuff, but never for a second have I thought of him for that role.

Not just directed at you but I think we all need to take a breath sometimes. Not every single thing the club does needs to domino effect into Reid staying.

If he wants to stay he’ll stay. If he wants to go it will be because he wants to go back home to his family and network.

We should retain Yeo because he’s a superstar (when fit). Not because it may be a contributing factor to Reid signing a contract in 3 years time.
Handy by-product that they do seem to genuinely bounce off eachother big time though.

Cannot factor into the contract decision like you’ve said, but there’s enough reason to sign him that it shouldn’t either.

You wouldnt want another Brad Sheppard type on halfback?

He could transition into a Will Day midfielder or wing.

A definate position of need. Same height as Harley and Hewett. Just slighter.
Most of us consider Shep a reach at pick 7. I'd say he would still be a reach up until pick 15 (I still personally think reach until pick 17).

Also he was pick 7 drafted as an intended midfielder

If yeo and barass stay and we want another first rounder without splitting our pic 3 I think gc are the best option. They have pics 8,10, 20, 26, 30 and 54. They could keep 8 and 54 for themselves and use 26,30(1358points) to bid on lombard currently pic 10 via power ranking. Would our f1 be enough for 10 and 20 or would it need to be our f1 and 23 for 10 and 20. Sun's would be keen, they seem to target their academy kids first and secure futures second. Obv I'd prefer their 8 instead of 10 but they'd need it for rioli

Possible pics as current power rankings (including academies & excluding free agent compensation obv).
Pic 3 turns into 4- jagga (prefer draper)
Pic 10 turns into 13- O'Farrel (prefer travaglia)
Pic 20 turns into 24- harry oliver
Pic 44 (bris)+59 malakai bidding

I wonder if we could get pic44 off Brisbane as an agreement not to bid on their 2 academy/FS boys ashcroft and Marshall. Not bidding on ashcroft at 3 saves Brisbane a few hundred points I think seems reasonable to me

GC:
Lombard
F1 tied to wce

Wce:
44 tied to bris

Lachie Whitfield a Sicily are 185-187cm depending on what you read. Reckon they’d be a handy addition for us? Travaglia has far more strings to his bow than just marking, his role is not the 3rd tall, he just happens to be excellent overhead. He’s a running defender and distributor. Elite tank, fast, excellent reader of the play, good decision maker, wonderful kick, impacts contests, versatility to play further up the ground, standard setter and leader. He’s an outstanding prospect and should be one of our top priorities. Give me a thumbs down if you agree.
Couldn't believe it when I found out Sicily was only that tall.

Luke Ryan goes all right too at that height.

Ryan, Sicily and Whitfield all elite kicks as well, if Toby can play like them he'll be pretty bloody good.

Couldn't believe it when I found out Sicily was only that tall.

Luke Ryan goes all right too at that height.

Ryan, Sicily and Whitfield all elite kicks as well, if Toby can play like them he'll be pretty bloody good.
Travaglia is a bit of a mixture of Sicily and Whitfield but more like Whitfield IMO. Tank and kicking aren’t quite as good as Whitfield but far better overhead, in the contest, by hand, decision making and looks to have a faster top speed too. Off the field it isn’t even a contest, Bendigo captain, Vic country captain, hard trainer vs Whitfield and his sleepovers/extra curricular activities.

Gee it's a crying sham that Luke Ryan is only 186 cm, otherwise he might have been a half decent defender that could actually play as a KPD, and then blitz and burn with his ground ball coverage and his run and carry.

Oh ............ wait ......... maybe he is a very good KPD even though he is 186 cm..... funny about that.

Geez, interesting thought on Travaglia!
His rebounding game is class, and that's why we'd draft him. His work in congestion to beat his opponent, get hands on the footy then use elite hands to get it to outside. He's a guy who can beat his defender one on one and then provide rebound.
The intercept marking is just cream really! :whitecheck:

Plus, he'd be playing on midsized forwards and if the balls coming in one on one he can still intercept mark. Just not the pack stuff, but never for a second have I thought of him for that role.

He has only recently been played as a defender, previously he has been an attacking wingman and thats exactly the role I would hope we would be drafting him for.

The fact that he has a second string to his bow and is an outstanding intercept marking defender, is just a bonus.

I have a mid to " late ish " first round grade on him.

Would be absolutely thrilled to have him in an Eagles jumper next year.

Kid is a seriously good footballer, who's skill set is one that we are desperately lacking.

Most of us consider Shep a reach at pick 7. I'd say he would still be a reach up until pick 15 (I still personally think reach until pick 17).

Also he was pick 7 drafted as an intended midfielder

True about Shep. But the 2nd prize output wasnt a bust was it? And pick 7 not relevent really.

Travaglia is rated at pick 15 to 22ish ATM. Not pick 7. And could end up better than Shep.

Awesome! We'll know by then if he's going to make it. I think he will, but maybe not as a ruck (KPD?)
Some ruckman was talking to a bunch of kids(can't remember who?) They all wanted to be full forwards, and mids. He said be a ruckman, if you're a midfielder you get 2 or 3 years to prove you can make it
If you're a ruck you get 7 years to prove you can't make it.. it's do true

On SM-S921B using BigFooty.com mobile app