List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:

Hawks have already pocketed an extra F2 from Carlton.

F1 hwk + f1 carl for barrass and f3

Hawks turn 14 + f1 into barrass + f2 Carlton + f3 wce
We should be asking for both Carlton picks and the Hawks F1.

That still only values TB at 14 and a F1. They shouldn’t get to win an extra pick out of being dickheads and trading 14.

Sorry for the intrusion jatz, with all sincerity, I'm seriously not trying to troll you guys but I agree completely with you.

In all honesty, you guys seriously need to be loading up with draft picks like Richmond are. I know you're not gunna like it, but I said the same thing last year that you should have sold pick 1 for as many first rounders as you could get to load up with developing superstars and smash out your rebuild.

There's gunna be some compromised drafts coming up with Tassie entering the comp in a couple of years and I'm not convinced Chads gunna be your difference maker long term as much as a group developing 1st rounders will be.

I know you're all gunna jump on me and tell me to pi55 off back to my own board, but I honestly reckon you're all better off taking your medicine and getting started on this rebuild as soon as possible rather than looking for that big name import that might be a bandaid fix but will probably be worth just a couple of extra bums on seats at Optus on a Sunday arvo.

And trust me, as a Fremantle supporter, I do speak from experience on that. Don't do what we've done for the past 30 years.

Good luck guys and gals.

You've had more last times than Johnny f*cken Farnham.

Hawks future 1st and x2 future second rounders for Barrass? Hawks keep Carlton future 1st rounder. We go to next draft with x2 firsts and x3 seconds.

Pretty bad look for the Hawks here to be courting a guy all year, giving him a contract, and then thinking they could get him for a bag of chips in a trade.

If he's as valuable to your premiership chances as you think he is then pay up.

7b8fa996-2dde-483a-b172-8bf66ffabb00_text.gif

Oh no's.... Hawk's were committedTm

Barrass on day 1 of pre-season at MRP:

b4541b36-9562-443c-810c-bc0a3fb8b12d_text.gif

but TB is obviously happy to go there with the contract they've offered. the hawks owe us nothing and are simply trying to get the best deal possible for their club. which is exactly what they should be doing.

The Hawks owe us fair compensation at a minimum for access to our contracted player. They don't owe us nothing. And given they have courted TB, as opposed to us pushing him out, the offer should be overs.

Their priority should be to get the deal done, not try to win the deal. If they have someone poach one of their contracted players, that's when they can try to win the deal.

I’m not potting you guys, but Richmond have more and better mid aged depth than you guys, to see them through their rebuild.

They’re going to lose Lynch and Prestia, and will need to draft some tall forwards, who will take 5 years to develop, but they will have a higher floor than WC in two years and a higher ceiling after this draft.

WC will lose McGovern, Sheed and Yeo soon, and won’t have the same number of high end draftees in to the club as Richmond will.

I don't pot you like some of the others on here as I think you can generally bring good takes on some things...

That said, this is your worst take I have ever read - Richmond just literally won the spoon.

So without even mentioning the fact they are losing a tonne of talent this trade period - pls explain how those who won the spoon are effectively going to 'see them through their rebuild'. That mid-aged depth are now either fleeing in a freo-dockers-esque type fashion and those remaining didn't exactly put their best foot forward this season, so realistically how do you expect them to fare now that the talent has left.

It is epic they have all these draft picks and if I was a Richmond supporter I would be salivating this draft period - BUT because our cliff came so suddenly we are already ahead of them in our rebuild.
As painful as the last few years have been we should be thankful we only spent 1 season in the middle (2021) and that we just outright plummeted.
We have a lot of problems - but those Vic media types that simply just don't follow us and blindly state that "the cupboard is bare", that was the case 3 seasons ago, it's not the case now...

Jury is out on Richmond's approach... North Melbourne spring to mind.

The Hawks owe us fair compensation at a minimum for access to our contracted player. They don't owe us nothing. And given they have courted TB, as opposed to us pushing him out, the offer should be overs.

Their priority should be to get the deal done, not try to win the deal. If they have someone poach one of their contracted players, that's when they can try to win the deal.

Any other club yes, but we have a reputation for caving and are desparate for draft picks after the baker deal, they know it.

We should be asking for both Carlton picks and the Hawks F1.

That still only values TB at 14 and a F1. They shouldn’t get to win an extra pick out of being dickheads and trading 14.
Agreed. Take the original value combined with the Hawks' request - Barrass + F3 for F1 + F2 + F2.