List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:
He's a January birth, so will be 27 next year. He's 173cm and ~70kg.

He's a flanker who can support the midfield, but he's not a prime mover, or going to win you games off his own boot or grunt work.

Not to mention out of contract with an ordinary skill set. It's madness.

He'd want to be a better leader than Gough to justify pick 13 being included in any way.

And having just watched his speech at the BnF... that doesn't appear to be the case.

Not to mention out of contract with an ordinary skill set. It's madness.

He'd want to be a better leader than Gough to justify pick 13 being included in any way.

And having just watched his speech at the BnF... that doesn't appear to be the case.
He seems like a leader purely by his on field actions. He seems quite thick based on that video.

A guy called the rumour king has mentioned we have touched base with Brayden Pruess as a potential rookie pickup….

Will either miss the season injured , suspended or injure others at training

PREUSS IS BACK ON

I think with all the talk about us giving 13 for Baker, then Pyke feeling the need to douse the spot fires about "giving away the farm", I'm feeling pretty confident that we won't be dissatisfied with what we eventually do trade for him.

Why would we meet with Travaglia if we didn’t plan on having a pick around his mark?

Could just be due diligence which is fair enough, but we’re either splitting 3 or keeping 13 based on that info

Or we may see what he can bring to the team worthy of using pick 3?

Elite endurance and speed and ball use is rare and perhaps they think they can get a mid at pick 13 instead.

Who says no?

Why would that be in our interests. Baker maybe AFL standard but he is not a going to win games for you. Harley, perhaps Hewitt and this years 3rd and 13th pick might.
A Tiger supporter.
I understand your angst. I agree that Baker is not worth pick 13. I think if that’s the pick then something may come back the Eagles way. The problem for WC that I see is your club has committed to Baker and will get a deal done, because it would deter players/agents dealing with you in the future. Unfortunately you can not walk him to the PSD as Richmond has first pick and would just redraft him.
It’s an interesting situation.

One thing I’ll say about Baker: when the games on the line he may not be the match winner but he’ll stand up to the pressure when others can’t. Loves the contest.

Also the post that he has an ordinary skill level is garbage. He’s good by hand and foot.

A Tiger supporter.
I understand your angst. I agree that Baker is not worth pick 13. I think if that’s the pick then something may come back the Eagles way. The problem for WC that I see is your club has committed to Baker and will get a deal done, because it would deter players/agents dealing with you in the future. Unfortunately you can not walk him to the PSD as Richmond has first pick and would just redraft him.

One thing I’ll say about Baker: when the games on the line he may not be the match winner but he’ll stand up to the pressure when others can’t. Loves the contest.

Also the post that he has an ordinary skill level is garbage. He’s good by hand and foot.
Alternatively he's committed to leaving richmond now, and your club will take what they're given.. he's a second round pick if I've ever seen one.

Just a guess, I reckon Melbourne will want Oliver gone.

Don't know if they're doing a club review, but surely they can see there's a lot wrong with their club.

If I was a draftee, I would doing what NBA draftees have said for years, I don't want to be drafted to ... (insert team name, usually Sacramento).
I can tell you must have great insights into what makes a crap club - you support both Newcastle and 76’ers. Surely their fan board would benefit from your wonderful insights about Oliver and clubland excellence.

A Tiger supporter.

I love Baker’s spirit and we will benefit from his arrival along with Graham. Both seem like good characters.

That said, it feels like he has burned his bridge back to Punt Road judging from his B&F speech. He obviously loved his time and who wouldn’t with 3 Flags. He has smelt a rat in the club and the mass exodus has momentum. Out of contract means a lot and I expect a deal to go through that pisses both supporter groups off. The Taylor Adams trade of 33 feel right to me. That probably means 23 with a pick in the 30’s coming back.

Don’t forget, he took a month to decide on us or the Purples. If we had given a hard commitment, he would have come out after the exit interview and said make me an Eagle. Personally I would prefer a F2 with a 2024 R3 coming back. After all, who can name a position that he is first quartile in? Too small to be a starting inside mid, too slow to be an outside mid. Not quick by hand or foot to be a top small forward. Not elite by foot meaning he is not the quarterback distributor. What I have witnessed is a great team player who can fill in most places and a really useful utility. Kind of sounds like Liam Duggan and I would expect he is worth a mid second round. Players that can come in and play a role well.

Mark Duffield reporting that Freo want to keep 9 or 10 to get Bo Allan. Being at Peel gives them great insights and Twomey has him moving into 12th place in September (11th excluding Levi). I read into that Cal has been given insights

Tigers will want both 9 and 10 but I expect most can see that he is not worth 2 x top 10 picks. Likewise with Rioli - pick 6 feels about right (and maybe Tigers get the right to bid on pick 12 with decent points but not huge overs)

It will be a big watch as to whether the Tigers get on with decent deals or play the disruptive game a la Cats. Playing tough might win one deal but likely not optimise their total hand.

1727902592759.jpeg
Mate he’s shithouse by foot and has been for a long time. Baker’s main attribute is how clean he is below his knees. One touch player who rarely fumbles and always puts his head over the footy.

It's because all the clubs are in cahoots with each other to scratch each others backs so when academy and father/son bids come around they're not encourage to cuck one another in the bidding/draft process. Everyone's mates with each other...except when it comes to the Eagles, they'll reams us good and proper always.

Not all.

Richmond and Essendon play hard. Tigers often the first to bid on an academy kid.

Essendon are........Essendon.

A Tiger supporter.

No they wouldn't. No experienced player has ever been drafted in the PSD to a state they didn't want to go to.

****en lol on the last part. He's a clanger merchant. Ranked 12th in clangers per game (removing rucks who give away clangers in the form of free kicks), 11th in clangers per possession for mid, mid/fwds. His value is having a crack, not silky ball use.

Sam Edmond on trade radio has said Danny Daly isn’t coming to west coast.

Sam also saying we have appointed a head of football to sit above Gavin bell but no name floating around at this stage… he isn’t sure why it hasn’t been announced.

View attachment 2129744
Mate he’s shithouse by foot and has been for a long time. Baker’s main attribute is how clean he is below his knees. One touch player who rarely fumbles and always puts his head over the footy.

Cough :eyes:

Screenshot_20241003_061521_Chrome.jpg

Can't say I've ever heard Baker be described as a Smooth mover or that he "leads his team's midfield" like this bloke either, yet here we are.

And I bet he took the advice of the medical staff.

Don’t know for sure but sounds like Neale has severe plantar fasciiitis.

Did bloody well to play through this for most of the season and he would have done every single thing he could to get himself right for game day each week.

Obviously Lachie Neale won’t be coming over but but targeting consummate professional mature UFA bodies that can still put their head over the ball for a couple of years and hanging on to high picks would be a far better MO to build the list. Don’t think he’s a great player but I can at least see the logic in the Graham recruitment. Baker no.

Ward, Haynes even Duncan and Boak for a year would have been a better way to go about it.

Did bloody well to play through this for most of the season and he would have done every single thing he could to get himself right for game day each week.

Obviously Lachie Neale won’t be coming over but but targeting consummate professional mature UFA bodies that can still put their head over the ball for a couple of years and hanging on to high picks would be a far better MO to build the list. Don’t think he’s a great player but I can at least see the logic in the Graham recruitment. Baker no.

Ward, Haynes even Duncan and Boak for a year would have been a better way to go about it.

Disagree with the last sentence. We’re not in dire straights that requires experience for a single year. We need mature bodies in the 23 to 27 age bracket that can help with standards for 5 years

BUT

It doesn’t require including pick 13 for someone like Baker

F2 or he can go to Freo / stay at Richmond / take a chance in the PSD

Pressure plays and great tackler due to his low centre of gravity
Also 70kg ringing wet. Look forward to the first intraclub game when Harley throws him over the fence like a discus.

Cough :eyes:

View attachment 2129786

Can't say I've ever heard Baker be described as a Smooth mover or that he "leads his team's midfield" like this bloke either, yet here we are.
Kelly’s kicking is horrendously over rated too. Nails a bullet on the tit once or twice a game and everyone goes full mast. Then he burns Harley, turns the ball over and doesn’t run the other way.

Disagree with the last sentence. We’re not in dire straights that requires experience for a single year. We need mature bodies in the 23 to 27 age bracket that can help with standards for 5 years

BUT

It doesn’t require including pick 13 for someone like Baker

F2 or he can go to Freo / stay at Richmond / take a chance in the PSD
The post was more about professionalism whilst also adding another body but take your point.

If Baker cares that much about Richmond, sign a 1 + 4 year player option deal with them and we’ll get them band 1 next year for Baker and they can send back their 2R and 3R for Petruccelle and B Williams.