List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

A small factor on Harley Reid’s potential flight risk discussed on the Tradies podcast. He has a strong relationship with Noah Long from the Bendigo Pioneers days. Wouldn’t mind seeing them both at WC for the next decade.

Not sure how Reid would feel about being only the second best player on our list behind his mate Noah

Strong do not want on Zac Fisher.
Why?

For me, he's the exact type of player a smart side would target. Talented, good number of games under the belt, but (IMO) largely used out of position and now underused in general. He'd come on the cheap and at the very worst add depth, but from what I've seen from his Perth days 'til now, he'd become a Best 22 player pretty quickly.

Absolute no brainer for me for the little he would cost.

Just watching the Gettable podcast today. They had Barrass’s agent on.

was asked dead straight whether there was anything in the talk about him heading East.

“All Tom’s interested in is getting back on the park and seeing the Eagles improve” was basically the answer.
Basically, he wants to know we’re actually going to do something about being all time shit was my take.

Or it was a nothing answer and he’ll send it after Mad Monday. Either way.

was asked dead straight whether there was anything in the talk about him heading East.

“All Tom’s interested in is getting back on the park and seeing the Eagles improve” was basically the answer.
Basically, he wants to know we’re actually going to do something about being all time s**t was my take.

Lots of words when "no" is the only one he needed to use. I smell smoke

Agree. It was a non - denial denial. After weeks of silence from both Barass, his manager and the club after the rumours first surfaced. I am starting to think there might be something to this.

Assuming the rumours are true and this is going on behind the scenes, and given he is contracted so we can shut this down quick smart if we want to, it is important to manage these situations well. We need to know what Sydney are prepared to put on the table for him at the start of this process. What we don't want is to allow Sydney to control the process, to get in his ear, give them tacit permission to talk to him or his manager, have them sweet talk him into wanting to go and then when it is time to talk turkey they hit us with a low ball offer and we get trapped between taking the low ball offer or keeping a disgruntled player on the list. If they aren't willing to put a reasonable ballpark offer in front of us at the start of this process then we should shut it down immediately and tell them to come back if and when they are ready to put an offer on the table for us before we allow them free reign to talk to Barass.

Why?

For me, he's the exact type of player a smart side would target. Talented, good number of games under the belt, but (IMO) largely used out of position and now underused in general. He'd come on the cheap and at the very worst add depth, but from what I've seen from his Perth days 'til now, he'd become a Best 22 player pretty quickly.

Absolute no brainer for me for the little he would cost.
Agree. Also fits the demographic we are lacking.

Mid 20's. 75-150 games.

He'd be our No. 1 HF option the minute he walked in the front doors.

Basically, he wants to know we’re actually going to do something about being all time s**t was my take.

Just had a listen

He also says "he's really happy and comfortable and WC and has 4 years to run"

Ha ha

Like it

I think though Longy has shown more potential in his own right than simply being the companion goat to the “racehorse“, but it is a delightful analogy.

Haha yeah agree whole heartedly with that.

Long can at least kick a snag from 50 out, which Harley struggled with last game. Far superior player.
Head knock hurt his kicking depth.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Agree. It was a non - denial denial. After weeks of silence from both Barass, his manager and the club after the rumours first surfaced. I am starting to think there might be something to this.

Assuming the rumours are true and this is going on behind the scenes, and given he is contracted so we can shut this down quick smart if we want to, it is important to manage these situations well. We need to know what Sydney are prepared to put on the table for him at the start of this process. What we don't want is to allow Sydney to control the process, to get in his ear, give them tacit permission to talk to him or his manager, have them sweet talk him into wanting to go and then when it is time to talk turkey they hit us with a low ball offer and we get trapped between taking the low ball offer or keeping a disgruntled player on the list. If they aren't willing to put a reasonable ballpark offer in front of us at the start of this process then we should shut it down immediately and tell them to come back if and when they are ready to put an offer on the table for us before we allow them free reign to talk to Barass.

1) We can’t stop Sydney from talking to either Barrass or his manager as there’s no anti-poaching rules in the AFL. They don’t need our permission

2) What we do have control over is any trade negotiations should things progress that far. Barrass signed a contract through to the end of 2027 and we are under no obligation to release him from it.

Barrass won’t be at Sydney, or any other club, unless we are totally satisfied with a trade offer

What is the knock on Fisher? Is he slow like Gaff? Does his field kicking lack venom and penetration?
My wife goes for Carlton, so I watch a bit of them. Not sure how anyone could be a Carlton supporter, so frustrating to watch - at least with us I know we're bad.

Fisher is an interesting one, I personally don't think he's really improved since being drafted by Carlton. One of those underdeveloped players that should be a decent player in the AFL right now but just isn't. In and out of the side, they way they play (bomb it inside 50) doesn't really play to his strengths.

One thing I don't like of his, is he can hold onto the ball too long some times and not give the first option.
Midfield time would be interesting, as he has good closing speed and evasiveness so could be good at centre bounces!

I wouldn't want to give up much for him.

1) We can’t stop Sydney from talking to either Barrass or his manager as there’s no anti-poaching rules in the AFL. They don’t need our permission

2) What we do have control over is any trade negotiations should things progress that far. Barrass signed a contract through to the end of 2027 and we are under no obligation to release him from it.

Barrass won’t be at Sydney, or any other club, unless we are totally satisfied with a trade offer
I think Eddie used to threaten to sue other clubs if they spoke to contracted Collingwood players, alleging they were inducing breach of contract. Seemed a long bow to draw but may have been just a bluff, and it seemed to have the desired effect.

Reckon SPS was showing a bit before the injury.

Best game for us IMO was that Giants game this year when he was able to showcase his great kicking skills to leading forwards.

Since then as more players around him dropped he's been exposed more and more.

Is a 'cream' player like a Jetta who can look great in a team that's doing well, but when the side's struggling he gets exposed.