List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. 2021 Edition

Follow link below for contract status of all current players

I am just so annoyed at the concession factory that is GCS.
In 2019 they had 3 x top 10 picks, who all look absolute guns. Despite knowing that they had these guns that just needed a couple of years to mature and pick 1 in 2020, the AFL gifted them pick 2 as well. Another pair of guns. And again, with just a bit of time needed, the AFL then decided to give them a whole bunch of favoritism in how the Academy player picks are treated.

That's more top 10 picks than WC have had this century, and despite doing more to actually identify and work with remote kids, we get no favours regarding the NGA either.

I dont mind it cos it's Gold Coast - them and GWS doing well is good for the future of the comp all round.

Now ANY concession to a Vic club and I'll be Livid.

I dont mind it cos it's Gold Coast - them and GWS doing well is good for the future of the comp all round.

Now ANY concession to a Vic club and I'll be Livid.
Problem is that both clubs are incubators for the Vic clubs. The more early picks they get gifted the bigger the pool for the Vics to target.

The amount of talent on offer is surely pretty much the same as every other year, it's just clubs don't have the evidence to narrow down their choices. You could potentially pick up a genuine jet later in the draft, but you could equally bag a dud. It's risk and reward and most clubs seem to be opting for caution.
True... I guess I meant more of a chook lotto. I saw ages ago the chances of players in the top 20 having a decent career vs. next 20 vs next 20 etc. The amount of work that goes into drafting now has clearly skewed it in the draft's favour, so a year like this means it's more like 20 years ago than now. No exposed form makes it hard to clubs to accurately rate the draftee pool as they just haven't played.

Problem is that both clubs are incubators for the Vic clubs. The more early picks they get gifted the bigger the pool for the Vics to target.

So true.

The current AFL structures / systems in regards to equity are so skewed toward the VaFL.

I thought that Vlad was a corrupt manipulative fat prick but, sadly Gill is becoming just as bad, plus I cant stand Gill's deceitful lackey, that little turd Hocking with his constant changes and backflips.

True... I guess I meant more of a chook lotto. I saw ages ago the chances of players in the top 20 having a decent career vs. next 20 vs next 20 etc. The amount of work that goes into drafting now has clearly skewed it in the draft's favour, so a year like this means it's more like 20 years ago than now. No exposed form makes it hard to clubs to accurately rate the draftee pool as they just haven't played.

Whilst I do agree with the tenor of what you are saying.

I still reckon that if we had secured draft pick 27 from GC, if we couldn't have picked up a decent player, then our recruiters need rooting.

I could easily list 30 decent options that are AFL quality in this years draft.

The notion that next years draft will be stronger, I have no problem with, however that doesn't mean that this years draft is a potato farm.

I am happy enough to back the concept that strategically the Recruiting Department are full on into the draft 2021, but it does mean they need to nail next years draft big time.

Hocking is the AFL’s Incompetence Tsar

Hocking was fine and very capable football.

But as an administrator, he resembles the village idiot.

download-1.jpg

Looks like Geelong is going to trade Melbourne's future third for pick 27 from Gold Coast.

As it's a reasonable assumption that our sydney third rounder would be more valuable, this says that we weren't willing to give it up for pick 27. Which is pretty interesting.

I think the value of picks change as they move. Otherwise you could have a situation where the pick you are matching with, is worth more than the pick where the bid is made (before the discount).
Geelong will pick up Wilder with that pick .

Whilst I do agree with the tenor of what you are saying.

I still reckon that if we had secured draft pick 27 from GC, if we couldn't have picked up a decent player, then our recruiters need rooting.

I could easily list 30 decent options that are AFL quality in this years draft.

The notion that next years draft will be stronger, I have no problem with, however that doesn't mean that this years draft is a potato farm.

I am happy enough to back the concept that strategically the Recruiting Department are full on into the draft 2021, but it does mean they need to nail next years draft big time.

Players like Zane Trew, Caleb Poulter, Luke Edwards, Isiah Winder and Shannon Neale are potentially available at this pick. Like you I think with the amount of players on the list with one year contracts and looming retirements means they must be banking on a severe influx of talent in next years draft. Either that or a Full Blown rebuild.

Our playing list will be turned over substantially next year and we will have 4 picks within the top 40-45 in a very deep draft.

The club has made a strategic decision to get out of this draft and load up for next year due to the limited exposure of this years kids and the most likely depth next year will present due to the rollover of the undrafted prospects.

Draft night might be boring for us this year but it’s an intelligent move for the club to have made and one that could pay dividends for a decade to come if they nail a few next year.

I hope we snag a good player with our pick in the late 40’s or 50’s but I’m relieved we are holding tight to next years draft.

I agree. This year's top 10-15 look as good as any other seasons IMO. McDonald is an absolute weapon. I can't recall watching an 18 year old dominate WAFL as much as he did this season.
McDonald and Grainger-Barrass are guns, similar to when Oscar Allen and Naughton came through.
U18s never dominate senior footy, especially key position players!