List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. 2021 Edition

Follow link below for contract status of all current players

Whilst I do agree with the tenor of what you are saying.

I still reckon that if we had secured draft pick 27 from GC, if we couldn't have picked up a decent player, then our recruiters need rooting.

I could easily list 30 decent options that are AFL quality in this years draft.

The notion that next years draft will be stronger, I have no problem with, however that doesn't mean that this years draft is a potato farm.

I am happy enough to back the concept that strategically the Recruiting Department are full on into the draft 2021, but it does mean they need to nail next years draft big time.
Agree with that also. Recruiters who are half decent at their job should be able to still identify talent. I don't think this year's draft is a potato farm either, it's just that recruiters have enough trouble hitting a pick in the 30's in an ordinary year so the chances of hitting it this year are even slimmer.

With the June draft as well, recruiters have extra time to assess the late bloomers rather than take a stab in the dark right now.

Problem is that both clubs are incubators for the Vic clubs. The more early picks they get gifted the bigger the pool for the Vics to target.

I think we're well able to get in on that ourselves.
I recall a certain pick-swap banditry that took place on our part.

I mean even freo managed to swipe pick 2 from them for an average Lachie Weller.

Hey I have a phantom draft with West Coast possibly available if anyone is interested.

Link below;

GoSaints12 2nd draft board

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/index.php?threads/GoSaints12-2nd-draft-board-.1252134/

Draft starts at 8am tomorrow.
Very unlikely anyone good will be left for you to select, you really got the short straw getting us in the mock draft as it will be a long wait. If it starts at 8am tomorrow, you'll be waiting 2 to 3 days.

We have a cracking starting midfield Shuey, Gaff, Yeo, Kelly, Sheed, Redden but after that the depth and particularly young developing mids we're we don't bat deep. So I'd go for midfielders to fill the chasm, saying that at our pick not many midfield options will be left.
The other need is small fwd that can push into midfield with the loss of Willie Rioli and Venables who were so good for us through 2018 in that position.

Any of the following should still be available;

- Sam Fisher (won the Sandover medal for Swan Districts). Looks like a good midfield prospect and still only 22.
- James Rowe, Woodville West-Torrens small fwd who can push into the midfield. Great disposal and doesn't seem to miss.
- Tyler Brockman (Subiaco), half fwd who really impressed in the WAFL colts granny and then WA All star matches. Speed, and generally good user.

Have fun.

I mean even freo managed to swipe pick 2 from them for an average Lachie Weller.
Weller has been great for them last 18 months. I reckon GC did better there than if they had have gone someone like Brayshaw or Cerra, who probably wouldn't have stayed with them for long enough to make an impact. The rest of the first round of that year's draft shows that they made a good call in hindsight, I reckon.

Might have been mentioned already here but thought I'd ask. Any chance we would offer Elijah Taylor a lifeline? Could quite possibly be more trouble than he is worth with all the recent offences (domestic violence, breaching covid protocols etc) however was a top 30ish pick and is a local boy. Had read he is keen to head to Vic (probably to get away from things here) to play in vfl in hopes of resurrecting his career but thought maybe he could be a cheeky way of picking up a top 30 odd player this year when we don't have a high pick. Maybe he isn't eligible to be picked up as Sydney has only just cut him? Also with all the court stuff finishing yesterday he knows and we know what's following on from that/finalised. Again not sure if we want that kind of person on our list based on character thus far but maybe it will all be a bit of a wake up call for him and worth us taking a punt?

On SM-N950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Might have been mentioned already here but thought I'd ask. Any chance we would offer Elijah Taylor a lifeline? Could quite possibly be more trouble than he is worth with all the recent offences (domestic violence, breaching covid protocols etc) however was a top 30ish pick and is a local boy. Had read he is keen to head to Vic (probably to get away from things here) to play in vfl in hopes of resurrecting his career but thought maybe he could be a cheeky way of picking up a top 30 odd player this year when we don't have a high pick. Maybe he isn't eligible to be picked up as Sydney has only just cut him? Also with all the court stuff finishing yesterday he knows and we know what's following on from that/finalised. Again not sure if we want that kind of person on our list based on character thus far but maybe it will all be a bit of a wake up call for him and worth us taking a punt?

Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeellllll no

Not sure it's really that cut & dry. No excuse for his behaviour, & i'd be giving him at least a year out of the game before he came back into consideration, but if he's genuinely contrite & this represents a turning point for him, he could be worth/deserves a shot at a second chance.

We like to go on about the fact we've been a team of choir boys since the heady days of 05/06, but we had Murray Newman on our list while he spent a year in jail & supported Ryan through a number of incidents that allegedly were not overly dissimilar to the Taylor incidents (domestic disputes).

The above being said, disgusting behaviour from Taylor & unless he's sincerely apologetic & has had introspective adjustment to his character/behaviour then he deserves to be cactus.

No AFL team would consider him this season. Maybe mid-season if he goes to the VFL and turns it on. It's bad business picking up a women basher.

supported Ryan through a number of incidents that allegedly were not overly dissimilar to the Taylor incidents (domestic disputes).
A domestic disturbance charge is a ****ing long way off aggravated assault occasioning bodily harm charge.

Its a big no from me too, I would not want to see the prick in blue and gold.

Not sure it's really that cut & dry. No excuse for his behaviour, & i'd be giving him at least a year out of the game before he came back into consideration, but if he's genuinely contrite & this represents a turning point for him, he could be worth/deserves a shot at a second chance.

We like to go on about the fact we've been a team of choir boys since the heady days of 05/06, but we had Murray Newman on our list while he spent a year in jail & supported Ryan through a number of incidents that allegedly were not overly dissimilar to the Taylor incidents (domestic disputes).

The above being said, disgusting behaviour from Taylor & unless he's sincerely apologetic & has had introspective adjustment to his character/behaviour then he deserves to be cactus.
There would be so many internal and external stakeholders, investors, board members, committees, sponsors that operate in a space that contradicts Taylor's actions. Violence against women foundations etc.

The club could, and should (if available) help educate and reform him.But i just don't think they rate him that highly as a player. And he seems like a general dick head.

No thanks,doesnt have what it takes to be a professional

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

I don't think Taylor would be an option for ANY AFL club at the moment, even the WAFL team that takes him on will cop some flak.

If he puts together a body of work and shows remorse and a genuinely tries to rectify his reputation on and off field, it might be an option in a few years.

Similar to Pickett turning his life around after getting out of prison. Showed he's changed and how he's learned from the experience.

A club picking up Taylor who literally gave his missus the ol :handfist::sleepsymbol: only a few months ago just isn't going to happen. Nor should it. Not even worth discussing.

There was a report that said Sydney offered him up as part of the Hickey trade. Why would they say no then and take him later anyway? He should consider himself lucky he isn't watching his back in the prison showers

He might find himself watching his back out on the ammo footy field. Spells trouble if his ex has brothers who play footy.

I don't think Taylor would be an option for ANY AFL club at the moment, even the WAFL team that takes him on will cop some flak.

If he puts together a body of work and shows remorse and a genuinely tries to rectify his reputation on and off field, it might be an option in a few years.

Similar to Pickett turning his life around after getting out of prison. Showed he's changed and how he's learned from the experience.

A club picking up Taylor who literally gave his missus the ol :handfist::sleepsymbol: only a few months ago just isn't going to happen. Nor should it. Not even worth discussing.
Why not give him a go -
His girlfriend wanted the charges dropped;
The court gave him a spent conviction so it's like it never happened; and
Have you seen that goal he kicked for Sydney?

I'm sure he will rectumfry his ways.