List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2021 offseason edition

So the 2021 season is officially done and dusted.

It’s time now to fully turn our attention to the off season and what we can do through the trade period/draft to chase down Melbourne in 2022.

List and personnel changes have already been made and I’ll update this OP as and when any further changes are made.

As it stands these are our official list changes :

Out -
• Venables (R) - retired
• Vardy - retired
• Hutchings (R) - delisted
• Ah Chee (R) - delisted
• Ainsworth - delisted
• Johnson - delisted
• Collins (R) - delisted
• Brander - cluster****
• Cameron - retired/delisted not that it was officially acknowledged by the club
• Sheppard - retired

Inactive listed -
• Cole
• Chesser

In -
• Petrevski-Seton - traded for pick 52
• Chesser - Pick 14
• Hough - Pick 31
• Bazzo - Pick 37
• Williams (Jack) - Pick 57
• Clark - Pick 62
• Dixon - SSP
• Joyce - SSP
• Strnadica - SSP
• Naish - SSP

Players on main list - 37 (Including 2 inactive)
Players on rookie list - 7

Future trade picks :
In - Port Adelaide future 2nd
Out - Future 4th

Assistant Coaches :
• Out - Graham, Hickmott
• In - Schofield (Strategy and Stoppage), Knights (Midfield), Wiley (WAFL coach), Brennan (development)

Link to contract status of all players -

Agreed, Hawks considered him at 5 so would definitely take him if there and Cats are the kings of second round sliders. They won't let him past there pick, which would be a shame as he wouldn't get a game for 5 years.

I'm not sure on Chesser, my main issue is that by all reports we could have picked him up later in the draft, if that's who we wanted we should have more aggressively traded back. Could have ended up with another pick that might have picked u MJ now he's slid as well.

Twomey had him going to Geelong at 24, Knightmare had him at 19, Inner Sanctum at 18.

Add to that from our pick onwards there was a heap of surprises - very few had Aleer, Sheldrick or Lohmann going that high. Would have been tough to be confident he’d still be on the board if we traded further back.

Or Sorry honey i bought a isuzu 2wd ute that can tow a trailer but isn't rated to tow up to 3500kg which is needed for the boat.

I'm not sure on Chesser, my main issue is that by all reports we could have picked him up later in the draft, if that's who we wanted we should have more aggressively traded back. Could have ended up with another pick that might have picked u MJ now he's slid as well.

LOL. You should be a journalist the way you twisted what was said.

The Hilux we need to draft in the 2nd round tows the 3500kg boat. Roberts, Dittmar, Rogers or Clarke with 58.

The 1st round sexy fast AWD SUV gets us places fast and in style. Chesser.

None are 2WD Isuzu's.

Both are useful cars / players that are needed but for slightly different purposes.

Can anyone who watches a bit of WAFL give me a rundown of Rogers vs Clark? is there a reason why we seem to be more linked to Clark even though Rogers won the sandover and kicked twice as many goals, what other attributes does he bring?
Clarke more pure inside - slower and hard tackler who will go forward and kick goals.
Rogers has become a mid in the last 2 years - faster and more balanced having played inside and wing. Also hard at it and can play accountable mid role.

I reckon the new boat won't be bought since the car can't tow it.

(*New boat = new game plan)

:(

Hurn mentions the need for speed and to turbo boost our game plan.

So Chesser is exactly the type we need more of to play a faster game style isnt he?

Hurn ready to go for 17th season (westcoasteagles.com.au)

Hurn, the 2018 premiership captain, also expected some tinkering with West Coast’s gamestyle, with a focus on moving the ball faster.

“There probably will be (change) with a couple of the new assistant coaches, a couple of different ideas and being able to talk to ‘Simmo’ (coach Adam Simpson) … I think we will slightly change because last year it didn’t work unfortunately,” Hurn said.

“Everyone thinks we play a kick-mark type of game – and we probably do – that has its place in the game, but not as much as we played it.

“You need to get the ball going forward, bit of that randomness and get some pressure around the footy, so that will probably be a focus on us going forward.

“But, certainly, if you can get the ball playing a bit quicker and you can get it into your forward line through the midfield.

“That’s what you want to aim to do and that’s what we’ll probably look at doing.”

we could have picked him up later in the draft, if that's who we wanted we should have more aggressively traded back.
I think if there’s one thing we know about the recruitment team - once they decide on who they want, they will not **** around, they will do whatever is needed to ensure they get that player. Whether it’s trading or drafting.

A lot of you are buying new cars it seems
Good news with these new toys is immediate delivery unlike most new cars you can buy at the moment.

Bad news is that they will be on P plates for 2 years meaning they are not strong enough to tow a boat. But our old Landcruiser is - unfortunately it has 200,000 km on the clock and we will something for Karajini in 2022. Pity it spends so much time in the service department.

We might need to delay the Pilbara holiday by 2 years.

Good news with these new toys is immediate delivery unlike most new cars you can buy at the moment.

Bad news is that they will be on P plates for 2 years meaning they are not strong enough to tow a boat. But our old Landcruiser is - unfortunately it has 200,000 km on the clock and we will something for Karajini in 2022. Pity it spends so much time in the service department.

We might need to delay the Pilbara holiday by 2 years.

Are we now complaining that any kid we draft wont be any good for two years?

Geez, ROB cant win can he?

Like I keep saying Rogers or Clark with pick 58 thank you. Solid Hilux with 50,000 km on the clock coming into their prime.

Hurn mentions the need for speed and to turbo boost our game plan.

So Chesser is exactly the type we need more of to play a faster game style isnt he?

Hurn ready to go for 17th season (westcoasteagles.com.au)

Hurn, the 2018 premiership captain, also expected some tinkering with West Coast’s gamestyle, with a focus on moving the ball faster.

“There probably will be (change) with a couple of the new assistant coaches, a couple of different ideas and being able to talk to ‘Simmo’ (coach Adam Simpson) … I think we will slightly change because last year it didn’t work unfortunately,” Hurn said.

“Everyone thinks we play a kick-mark type of game – and we probably do – that has its place in the game, but not as much as we played it.

“You need to get the ball going forward, bit of that randomness and get some pressure around the footy, so that will probably be a focus on us going forward.

“But, certainly, if you can get the ball playing a bit quicker and you can get it into your forward line through the midfield.

“That’s what you want to aim to do and that’s what we’ll probably look at doing.”

I reckon our issue is we heavily drafted talls and good kicks based on the game style that got us the 2018 Premiership. But that game style is as dead as that bird in the Monty Python sketch which was clear before last season started (see the Essendon Thursday July game in 2018 to show a clear pointer of where the game was headed).

Unfortunately we are now struggling with that top heavy squad. Speed in itself isn't the panacea... it is the squad makeup and the game plan.

Zoning off, trying to pick off the bombed ball that isn't bombed any more as the man on the mark isn't able to put pressure on the kicker and our want to kick precisely & slowly when we have the ball.

We have point blank refused to change the game plan the last two seasons and our drafting tactics has not given us any sign that we intend on changing it.

I hope the picks today aren't talls & more half back flankers because that will scream to us that we intend on more of the same in 2022 & onwards.

I was just going off Knightmare who said that one of his strengths was finding targets by foot.
Knightmare also had chesser falling out of his power rankings entirely after not being impressed with him this year i believe so hopefully he's wrong on him

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk