List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

What exactly are you on about? Its been literally impossible not to pick a player who’s available for about a month.
Really?
So the week of the Sydney game when the likes of an underdone Yeo and Shuey were slipped back into the team after the younger guys got the job done over Collingwood doesn't reek to you?

Perhaps he signed a contract?

Therein lies the problem.

After spending the best part of 3 years on Brisbane's injury list, we give a forever injured player a crack ahead of someone else, he plays 1 pre season game and gets signed up. Absolutely impeccable timing on his part, let's be honest.

The following week has a long term ankle injury and finds himself sitting on an injury list once again, this time at a different club.

It was such bold idea from O'Brien to think he could stay on the park. Especially with what is arguably the worst S&C/Medico team in the AFL.

I just think we use him wrong. Imagine a decent coach getting him to run off HB.

The guy is as quick as Petch going by the gf sprint. But we have never seen it in game.
In his u18 year he was all out attack from defence. It's literally been coached out of him.
On the weekend someone kicked it sideways (I know massive surprise) to him. Couldn't see an opponent on screen and he just stopped and looked at options... Was sad to see, as earlier years he would've taken off with a bounce and kicked inside 50.

Where would Culley go in the ND this year if the MSD didn't exist? Is he a second rounder?
Tough one, as he's an overager so should be better than younger competition. But he's got some traits that really stack up:
-movement to find space in tight
-pressure in the contest (use of body, tackling)
-ability to win the ball in the contest and use it well, especially by hand.
-moves really well for his size, not slow at all
-his long kicking is elite

On talent I'd go top 10, if he was a year younger I think he'd be discussed for top 3.

Tough one, as he's an overager so should be better than younger competition. But he's got some traits that really stack up:

On talent I'd go top 10, if he was a year younger I think he'd be discussed for top 3.

Surely we take him then, and surely we make sure we get the first pick to make sure we do. That is the kind of free hit we need, not another middle age footballer (especially since we have taken West and Clark).

One touch player? Footy smarts?

Also, what is your opinion of Derksen mate?

One touch player? Footy smarts?

Also, what is your opinion of Derksen mate?
His movement in tight makes me think yeah he's got footy smarts. Wouldn't say one touch, but very clean.

I haven't seen Derksen play, so can't comment on him. I'll try catch a game soon.
Finishing the Young Guns vs Vic Country now. Jhye Clark had a cracking game early.

If he is that good, and we dont pick him up....

I am all for going full trump and turn June 1st into Jan 6 Mineral Resource Oval Insurrection....

Make Eagles Great Again!!!

Culley is suddenly the talk of the town when I reckon few people in here would have heard of him before last week.
What's your opinion on where he would go if in the main draft? Maybe pretend he was at this level for last year's draft (as I appreciate its too early to know the talent for this year).

I'm trying to figure out if he's good or it's just another hype-up by our board.

Dixon as Kennedy replacement? Recruited as a kpf and has shown a fair bit of promise as a secondary ruckman with stints in the forward line but hasn’t really been given a good go as a forward with JK and Darling there. I think he has shown enough to deserve an extended run as a forward.
At the risk of being tarred, feathered and run out of town - Dixon just isn't that good.

There's a reason he was cut from Freo, and a reason why his WAFL exploits have been okay at best.

Jack Williams will be a much better player, and sooner than people think.

Culley is suddenly the talk of the town when I reckon few people in here would have heard of him before last week.

Whilst I will put my hand up as one who only very recently knew who he was.

I would wager a quid that most across the scouting community would not have heard of him prior to a month ago.

This cohort is going to be a touch similar, as in many ways it's the hidden draft group.

No Under 16 Champs.
No under 18 Champs to play as an under age player.
Only three games last year in the Nab League.

There will be some kids who come from seemingly know where, to be taken in the top 45 of this draft .

So the " who the hell is this kid Culley " ... line may well apply to several names touted a month before this years draft.

Derksen has outshone Treacy and Amiss for Peel, averaging over 2 goals a game while also chopping out in the ruck. Just turned 20, first year in the wafl coming across from the NT league. He’s hit the ground running at 197cm, apparently has grown 12cm over the last couple of years and as such moved into a kpp role. Very good contested mark and set shot. I’ve watched a couple of games and he seems a smart footballer too, a natural forward who is still very agile for his size.

I don’t follow these kids closely, but I do follow the guys on here that do, plus a few other experts and just regurgitate some of the more consensus opinions.

If we were looking to invest in a key forward Derksen would be a very good prospect. But Culley would have to be our first choice on face value.

Surely we take him then, and surely we make sure we get the first pick to make sure we do. That is the kind of free hit we need, not another middle age footballer (especially since we have taken West and Clark).
I’ve bet on a big dees win (over 100) this weekend against north. If ever north could tank a believable game to try and drop below us in percentage this is it.

Therein lies the problem.

After spending the best part of 3 years on Brisbane's injury list, we give a forever injured player a crack ahead of someone else, he plays 1 pre season game and gets signed up. Absolutely impeccable timing on his part, let's be honest.

The following week has a long term ankle injury and finds himself sitting on an injury list once again, this time at a different club.

It was such bold idea from O'Brien to think he could stay on the park. Especially with what is arguably the worst S&C/Medico team in the AFL.
Not only is he at the club with probably the worst S&C/Medico team in the comp, he spent 3 years on the injury list at the club with probably the best (with Sydney) S&C/Medico team going around. If they couldn't get him right...

Dixon as Kennedy replacement? Recruited as a kpf and has shown a fair bit of promise as a secondary ruckman with stints in the forward line but hasn’t really been given a good go as a forward with JK and Darling there. I think he has shown enough to deserve an extended run as a forward.
Dixon played F/Fwd at the U18 Championship for Tassie in his draft year ,looked alright leading out and marking . He kicked some goals ifircc ..

What's your opinion on where he would go if in the main draft? Maybe pretend he was at this level for last year's draft (as I appreciate its too early to know the talent for this year).

I'm trying to figure out if he's good or it's just another hype-up by our board.

I honestly haven’t seen him play - my point was more so that a few others in the same boat are ready to flame the club for overlooking him before the draft has even happened. Seems the right profile for a player we should look to pick up though. Hopefully we get two picks.