List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

As GWS attempt a hard reset on the salary cap, they are likely to lose players. I can see GWS having up to 4 first round picks - their own plus R1 picks included for Taranto, Hopper and Bruhn (there may be other aspects to the trade)

Likewise Suns may possibly have 3 first round selections with their own, the Crows for Rankin and enough points to make Lions trade their R1 pick change hands.

Add to it that Sydney already have their own and Melbourne's R1, it could be that the 4 clubs in the northern states get the best player in the draft plus 9 of the next 18 selections. Me thinks the AFL need to address the balance of power at the next EBA.

IF Norf land Clarkson, he previously was active in the trading and drafting at Hawthorn hence the trade period will be extremely interesting. Norf sit with a 1st rounder and 2 x 4th rounders (plus whatever priority package the AFL deliver).

Meanwhile the AFL need to plug the hole in the system that allowed the Tarrant trade. Surely an UFA cannot be traded. Any token trade has to be taken away by the AFL when calculating the compensation. Possible changes that could push our 2 x 2nd rounders are Heppell, Amon and McStay as UFA and Franklin and de Goey as RFA.
You'd think if GWS have a few mid first round picks they'll want to trade up for Sheezel, needing forward talent

I agree, we will be giving up a second round pick for him. I don't mind it though because our reputation as fair traders has a lot of benefits. If we get him, that's 4 players we've acquired from Brissie since Yeo and I doubt those would have happened if we were D heads like Essendon. It also means clubs will trust us with handshake agreements, like not bidding on Ashcroft.
Yea but what's the point of being trusted to not bid on an Ashcroft if the benefit of this is.........that we pay second round for Robertson. !?!? Doesn't add up.

Good to see 2 West Coast Academy players in the u16 All Australian team in Malakai Champion and Anthony Hansen. Both small forwards who could join the club when Rioli and Langdon are on their last legs.

At BBQ last night with a few footy locals. The word is Willie has a better contract offer from the Bombers and they are keen.

Not surprising. So yep, he's mulling over the lower offer from the Eagles.

Brisbane probably know that a bid for Ashcroft will come at 1 or 2 and the way it’s looking, Fletcher will get a bid early in the second round.

McStay leaving probably helps them with points meaning they will likely have a late first and 2 seconds to cash in. Reality is they could do with a late second or early third to gather enough points.

If Buddy leaves for more money, I am not expecting them to roll over with a late pick as they rarely gain free agents.

Come off it you have been putting the boot into darling all year

Only when it comes to his empty skull.

He's probably been our best player in the second half of the year or second behind Barrass and from Monday onwards will lead our forward line, so there's no way in hell I want to lose him.

At BBQ last night with a few footy locals. The word is Willie has a better contract offer from the Bombers and they are keen.

Will be seriously pissed if he leaves despite the club standing by him through all his shit.

Of course his offer should be lower than what he's worth - we paid him to not play for 2 years. Had sympathy for him throughout the saga but it's time for him to repay us.

Will be seriously pissed if he leaves despite the club standing by him through all his s**t.

Of course his offer should be lower than what he's worth - we paid him to not play for 2 years. Had sympathy for him throughout the saga but it's time for him to repay us.

Maybe this was our plan.

Retain him and then move him on and get something for him.

If we cut him we all know Richmond or Essendon would just pick him up for free.

At least we retained control, did the right thing and may get something if he leaves.

Will be seriously pissed if he leaves despite the club standing by him through all his s**t.

It'd be a massive shame to lose him because when he's on and fit he's a great player to watch, but at the same time I think it's highly unlikely he's around for our next premiership. If he does want to leave to play closer to some of his family members and we can leverage a decent pick out of a trade (looks like he's not a free agent so would have to be traded) it wouldn't be the worst thing.

Were we paying him during that time?

Says alot about illie, if he is seriously thinking about the Bombers - di

This is the silly season so all is taken with a grain of salt.

However, if Willie is seriously condsidering the Bombers it says a lot about him as a pereson - I would dump him if this is so and trade hard with any takers

I'm almost certain West Coast were supporting Willie financially. Simmo or Nizzy mentioned it I reckon. Unlikely it would've been his full whack, but enough to support him, and so he could support his family.
Yep

Not sure what the details were, but Simmo did say the club were looking after Willie emotionally and financially.

Were we paying him during that time?

Yeah like others on here have said there was definitely some forms of support - though I definitely don't presume to know whether it was a portion of his existing contract within the salary cap or whether it was more like his contract was void but the club supported him through other channels/means.

Am actually quite proud of how the club handled a lot of that situation and stuck by a player who was an idiot sure but didn't harm anyone else. Would have just hoped that Willie then took that support into consideration when deciding how much the club owed him over his next contract.

Obviously it's a 90% chance this is all just rumours, one of Dodoro's weird games or Willie's manager hunting a higher price so worth reserving judgement but if true it annoys me.

It'd be a massive shame to lose him because when he's on and fit he's a great player to watch, but at the same time I think it's highly unlikely he's around for our next premiership. If he does want to leave to play closer to some of his family members and we can leverage a decent pick out of a trade (looks like he's not a free agent so would have to be traded) it wouldn't be the worst thing.

Definitely better to get something in a trade than to have lost him for nothing. However I'd be worried we wouldn't get a fair deal regarding how much we value him on here. Think we (certainly I) see a player who makes things happen, who was pre-suspension (and maybe still is) a player capable of pushing for AA given a great run at it, someone who cracks in hard on-field and came into the AFL late so may have more years left in him than someone who debuted at 18.

However the opposite line of thinking (and certainly how Dodoro would push the case) is a player who'll be 28 next year, with injury and behavioural histories, who on output hasn't delivered nearly as much as you'd expect. We don't exactly have a history of playing hardball and with our list management team stretched thin as it is this year would be worried we'd end up with something like what we paid for Witherden or Langdon instead of what we know he's worth.

While I agree he may not be part of our next premiership we also need to be staggering retirements across the next few years to avoid North Melbourning it and becoming a basketcase whilst consistently refreshing our list with (ideally) first and second rounders. Talent (like Willie himself) can be found later obviously but worse case is we replace Willie with the late pick we get for him who turns out to be a Nelson type, who also won't be in the side for our next premiership but won't short term win us games/be exciting to watch and help maintain a semi-winning culture.

Willie owes us big time, I hate the bombers more than any other club. He better not go there.

Would rather deal with the Suns and if Rankin goes that may come into play.

Suggestion from the Suns board. Willie plus our 2023 3rd for the Suns 2022 2nd (26) plus the Pies 2022 3rd (50ish) they also hold.

Would give us three 2nds and two 3rds this year to use or upgrade further. I'd take that.

Suggestion from the Suns board. Willie plus our 2023 3rd for the Suns 2022 2nd plus the Pies 2022 3rd they also hold.

Would give us three 2nds and two 3rds this year to use or upgrade further. I'd take that.
We would be in the box seat to trade for Brisbane’s pick 14. So effectively go in with 2 firsts, an early second (might depend on where Lions finish meaning we use ours and not Ports second) and an early third or something thereabouts

Suggestion from the Suns board. Willie plus our 2023 3rd for the Suns 2022 2nd (26) plus the Pies 2022 3rd (50ish) they also hold.

Will ain't going to QLD

We would be in the box seat to trade for Brisbane’s pick 14. So effectively go in with 2 firsts, an early second (might depend on where Lions finish meaning we use ours and not Ports second) and an early third or something thereabouts
If Gold Coasts offer nets us 500 more points than your offer, then we take Gold Coasts offer.