Autopsy Crack Open Each Other's Heads And Feast On The Goo Inside: Autopsy vs Lions

Simpkin hacks it forward as much as anyone these days.

This is where we are missing Cunners precision release handball.
When Simpkin hacks it forward he usually has no options to kick or handball to and is under extreme pressure (ie has someone right on his arse.)

The first clearance they won - Xerri to JHF handball to Jy, great step into space and a long kick over Goldy's lead to Larkey. Only Goldy stopped leading to create the space cos he thought he could mark it. This caused a traffic jam of sorts and the ball didn't get to Larkey. So obviously when its on its on Jy is a great kick.

Tbh should offer pick 1 next year for Jiath from Hawthorn, would fix a lot of issues in our team

Terrible call, Heppell has won B&Fs, rising star and AAs. Ziebell literally has achieved zilch
Heppell is a cat.

CJ would be good tho.

NOBEL.. not the answer. We always find these snake oil sales people as coaches.

Simpkin hacks it forward as much as anyone these days.

This is where we are missing Cunners precision release handball.
As good as Cunners is we need more than him. Saying that Sheesh it would be a big starting point.

Like others have said hacking it forward has been in our DNA for ages and just don't seem to be addressed.

Lowering eyes and turning and burning are as foreign as bacon at an Islamic convention.

As good as Cunners is we need more than him. Saying that Sheesh it would be a big starting point.

Like others have said hacking it forward has been in our DNA for ages and just don't seem to be addressed.

Lowering eyes and turning and burning are as foreign as bacon at an Islamic convention.
To my eye it was noticeable what an impact a clearly out of form Stephenson had when put in the middle, his nature is to work his way through traffic and it stood out massively. IMHO there is a place for hack / bomb it long, the issue is in being too predictable with your clearances - when teams know that is our go to 9/10 times it is easy to setup and pick them off. Even changing it up to 50/50 forces teams to be more conservative with their setups. It requires a mix of types in the middle that we haven't got right at the moment, it doesn't mean there isn't a place for forcing it long and fast from the clearance.

Tarryn and LDU are both players who try to work their way thru traffic. Missing them is a problem on that level.

Who do you trust with ball in hand, my list:

Larkey
TT
Cunnington
LDU
Goldy
Stephenson (for the most part he uses it ok)
And the two young blokes are Phillips and JHF (powell has been off this year).

That makes about 75% of the list I don't trust to make a good decision or have the ability to execute.

I went to the game, this is how I saw it.

The lions had a clear game plan, sitting in the stands you could see it unfold on a regular basis, you knew what they were going to do yet our players on the field were helpless. We on the other hand might have had a game plan however I didn’t see one. We were all over the place, Noble said in the presser that we are not playing as we are in training, so I’m just hoping that the players are not implementing the game plan properly otherwise we are in for a long year.

Xerri: i thought he competed well in the ruck against bigger opponents, not sure if O was injured but Xerri got the better of him. Still clueless when he gets the ball though, I also think our players fail to utilize him as an outlet option often enough.

Bmac: Decent game from him, was up against a tricky opponent and more than held his own before he went down.

Corr: I like what he brings, ideally, he plays third tall, certainly played a decent game in defence and stopped plenty of attacks.

Lmac: Poor by his standard, was led to the ball too often, but the mids were not doing much to help.

Jz: Well, he was terrible, he's a decent sized player yet was getting pushed around by blokes half his size consistently, is not a defender and shouldn’t be played as one, his only option is forward and that might mean switching him with someone like CZ for the time being. He offered next to nothing in defence and constantly blasted blindly.

Hall: He was flaky, was trying stuff yet none of it wasn’t working. His kicking was mostly poor, eventually looked to have given up, but at least tried to make things happen for 3 quarters, which is more than many others in the team.

Simpkin: Looking at the stats it would appear he had a nice game, however watching him live he was average at best, turning the ball over, putting teammates under the pump not applying pressure, not dropping back to help out in defence. Simpkin gets a lot of love on here, talks of being the next captain, however I hope we consider other options, he is a decent player, but his kicking is poor, his decision making is questionable and doesn't influence games enough due to the inability to take a contested mark one on one or provide an option forward. If we are serious about going places Jy needs to be the 5th or 6th best mid in the side. Which is possible with the likes of LDU, JHF, Thomas, and hopefully WP, coming through.

Larkey: Speaking of captains, I hope we at least consider him as an option moving forward.
He was constantly working his butt off, and while he didn't get much of it, he was still the only likely source for us to score. Worked hard but no one could kick it to him properly.

Powell: Wasn’t great, probably needs a stint in the VFL for a few weeks to get himself going.

Goldy: He isn’t a forward and it shows, he can play resting forward, but this 50-60% stuff isn’t working, nor does the kicking to him though.

CZ: Was poor, maybe swing him into D50 to get him going.

Polec: No words, did nothing.

Greenwood: was OK, worked well in close, but doesn’t look to be moving well.

JHF: Yeah nice game will be a star, knew what to do with the ball when he got it, great tackling and excellent in the contest.

Stevo: An improvement still did some strange stuff, but keeps his spot.

Turner: Did a tagging job and was somewhat effective, however offered nothing offensively and rarely does.

Young: Was average, is a depth player for now.

Taylor: Probably one of his better games.

Mahony: Didn’t have much influence did some nice things though. Has a footy brain, just lacks the skill at the moment.

Ford: Didn’t have much of it, but looked like he was the only one able to grab a contested mark, should have been given a run in the middle, couldnt have been any worse that what was served up in there.

Walker: Nothing special, was average.

Scott: Was poor, needs a stint in the twos.

All in all it was hard to watch from the stands, we looked lost out there, players were stagnant and when we got the ball we turned it over far too often, kicking blindly or dishing off to players about the be tackled.

Hopefully that’s our worst performance of the year.
Agree with most of that except you’ve clearly got your blinkers on in regards to Young. Had an excellent game, went in hard and was probably one of our only shining lights on a very dark night. There’s a future there.

Thanks Merlin. He is passionate so I am hopeful but we live in Brisbane and he does not know any other North fans.

As we walked away from the Gabba last night, with me hugging him & wiping his tears, I promised him it will get better. I told him there will come a time when we are at the Gabba belting out our victory song at the final siren having just handed the Lions a thrashing.
You must still believe in Santa to

I am old fashioned, when the opposition team is scoring easily you need to adjust tactics to stop the momentum. In this situation I believe that every player should stick closely to their opponent and make them earn every posession. So many times when a Brisbane player had the ball he would look up and see 3 or 4 of his team mates completely on their own. This resulted Brisbane having an easy path to goal.

Back in the 70's I remember Ron Barassi saying that if the oppostiton scores 2 goals in a row you need to man up and stop the momentum. Seems to me that this is still relevant today.

What kills us are turnovers plain and simple , as these improve so to will everything else. We run down the ground , everyone moves forward and then we inexplicably make ,quite often , a very basic turnover. By the time everyone reacts it’s too late and the opposition have free players everywhere and get simple scores.

I haven't read through all of the 20+ pages. I can imagine the first half would be about burning the place down.

I think that the most frustrating thing was seeing:
  • mutiple incidents of two to three players go for the tackle on the same lion's player and not trusting and instead going on the spread.
  • everyone going up for the spoil, no one at ground level so an easy goal out the back
-as a result of the above, we have no spread when we get it and send a 2 metre handpass to the nearest players.

Team needs to trust that their team mate has a role and they can deliver.

I reckon we'll be ok once we get that confidence back.

Autopsy Crack Open Each Other's Heads And Feast On The Goo Inside: Autopsy vs Lions